We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out and yet no effort to maintain it”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Visited the hotel a few years back and was highly impressed with the standard, service, design etc. However, on a recent trip, I was rather disappointed.

Upon entering the room for the first time, it seemed as if someone had just taken a nap on the bed - linen was untidy. The carpet had a few stains all over it giving the entire room a dirty feel. Reception did, however, change our room immediately after complaining.

My overall view is that this hotel is very old and in need of an urgent refurbishment. Its the second time I had a room with a dirty carpet and it seems as if there is no real effort in maintaining the hotel to a good Hilton standard. The furniture and fittings are extremely outdated and need to be changed.

On a good note, the service is still great and staff are friendly. Executive lounge is lovely with a delicious continental breakfast.

Will I return? Once a refurbishment has been done that restores the hotel to its former glory, yes I most certainly will.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view. Request these, they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thehotelhopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the appearance of our hotel. Our hotel has recently undergone a soft refurbishment, of whereby we had new serenity beds and new TV installed in our rooms. We have also upgraded our gym with new innovative gym equipment.

I am glad the service and staff were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,391 - 1,397 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at hotel 29 to 31stOct 2011.Fantastic staff ! Fantastic service ! Fantastic hotel ! Stayed there for years before I retired and it was always a fantastic place to stay.Unfortunately, now that I am retired, I can only stay there once a year.Already saving for next year ! We will be back....................! The ONLY hotel to stay in Durban.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermann21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Mr Hermann

Thank you so much for your kind words, and I am glad we were able to give you a true Hilton Moment. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.


Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I spent the weekend with my wife and 2 kids at the weekend. This was not my first visit as I had attended conferences and stayed over at the Hilton in the past. My wife and kids were overwhelmed with both the decor and layout out the hotel, coupled with the fantastic service that we received. There was a minor issue, pertaining to the delay in the cleaning of the rooms, but the follow up by the Front Office Manager, William made up for the initial disappointment. They even went to the extent of offering us a wonderful snack basket to make up for the anomaly.My wife is already planning the next visit to this excellent hotel and as a local Durbanite, I am incredibly proud of what Durban can offer through places like the Hilton Hotel.

Room Tip: The sea- views are breathtaking and also provides a fantastic view of the Sahara Cricket Stadium as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sealan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Mr Sealan

Thank you for your response. I am glad you and your family had a wonderful stay at Hilton Durban. I am sorry there was a delay in the cleaning of your room and please be advised that it has been followed through with our Executive Housekeeper. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hilton Durban in the near future,

Many Thanks

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at the Hilton as they had a special offer on for the period we were there. It was the only hotel we stayed at during out tour of South Africa, the rest were guest lodges/b&b's. So, its a Hilton so we know what to expect, very smart well kept and tidy. It predominantly a business hotel though being situated close to the Convention Centre, can get a little anoying with all the suits especially if your on your hols!......the breakfast makes up for this though....AWESOME!!! The evening dinner all you can eat buffet is also well worth it with a great selection especially given the limited restaurants in the immediate area!
Comfy large rooms, all you need for a leisure stay and easy access to parking. The only downsize we thought was the cost of the WiFi.
Top hotel, in not the perfect of locations but a good central base to commute from.

Room Tip: Higher the better for a good view of Durban.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Bignath

Thank you for your great feedback and we glad you had an awesome time. I am sorry that the downsize was the WIFI, however currently the Hilton properties have a standard of charging for internet. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you to Hilton Durban and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels Worldwide in the bear future,

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in the Hilton for three nights and it was really nice. The hotel is located right next to the convention centre. The beach is not too far away from the hotel, although you shouldn't walk it late at night. The rooms were nice and big and always clean. The internet in the hotel is fast, but not very cheap (170 Rand a day). We had the breakfast included and it was really good. The choice was great, there was a continental breakfast, warm stuff and freshly cooked omelettes. There's also a well equiped gym and an outside pool. Unfortunately the pool is not heated, so it was still very cold in the pool in october. We can very much recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamburg_girl_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your response. I am glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. I would like to inform you, at present all Hilton properties have a standard of charging for internet, however it has been earmarked and currently under discussion. With regards to the pool due to the warm climate in South Africa, there has not been a need for a heated pool, Thank you once again for your response and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

If you are one of the international Comrades participants, there is no better place than the Hilton. It is ideally located for the run and everything connected to it. Nice rooms, good service - and in the morning of the run, they really take good care of us runners. And, of course, many of the other internationals are staying there, too. As long as we come back for Comrades, we will be choosing the Hilton.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sigjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Valued Comrades Participant.

Thank you for giving us feedback whilst you stayed with us during the comrades marathon. Yes, the hotel is conveniently located and makes it easily accessible for the runners. We do believe in ensuring our guests that stays with us during this period, have a nice healthy breakfast before their marathon. We thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Durban Comrades 2012.

Many thanks

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I have stayed here several times. This is the nicest hotel that I have stayed in in Durban (the other hotels in this area are not very nice, so little competition for the Hilton). The location is convenient (easy to access from the airport, close distance to the beach), and the rooms are nice.

Internet service is fast, but not free (~ ZAR 170 per day). Continental breakfast is ZAR 85, but by default they assume that you want the full breakfast at ZAR 120.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLKorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear NL Korp

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that whenever you stay at Durban your preferred hotel is Durban Hilton.

We look forward to continually welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassaor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#12 of 44 in Durban
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 44 in Durban
660 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 44 in Durban
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £77 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate elegance, the Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering newly renovated guestrooms in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. Voted South Africa’s Leading Business Hotel at the World Travel Awards from 2012 to 2017. All 328 guest rooms offer gorgeous views of the city or coastline. Expect the highest standard of service, impressive facilities and dishes to suit any taste. With meeting rooms and grand ballroom space for up to 400 guests, Hilton Durban is one of the most established conference hotels in Durban. Stay connected with Wi-Fi access and work efficiently in the business center. Executive guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast and refreshments in the stylish Business Lounge. The outdoor swimming pool and our fitness center also offer an ideal place to unwind after a busy day. Refuel at any of our 3 stylish outlets, Vasco's restaurant, the Big Easy Winebar & Grill Durban by Ernie Els and the Coral Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing