We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star Hotel”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2012

What an excellent and spacious Hotel, If you are looking for space and beautiful finishings this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoliswat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Yosiswat

Thank you so much for your wonderful words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Durban Hilton.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

Hello,
Air conditioning didn't work, strange odor in the room .... And if you want internet, you will have to pay ...
The location is not very nice for a family trip, the beaches and the town were very dirty, perhaps due to the new year celebration (??)
I will not go there anymore.

Thx

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThierryIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience at our hotel and in the area. The air conditioning at the hotel is fully functional, however we do have our maintenance department on call to assist with any equipment that does not work. The city was quite busy over the festive period.

Thank you once again for your response.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed quite a few times at the Hilton Durban, and must say it's definitely not my best memory.
Amongst all "happenings": my room has been double booked, so one night while I was laying on my bed I received visits straight into my room (of course they had a valid key!) and sorry: but security being an issue in SA...it wasn't reassuring.
Another day I come back to my room and: I was locked outside!!! Not that my key wouldn't work: but somehow the inside lock was put on (of course, again I had he doubt someone might be in my room but apparently not). Last..."detail": there was a small gift at my arrival, which I was very happy about, but seems that it was due to another room, so after 2 nights they simply took it away (while I had been putting it in my bag already).
So well: potentially good Hilton, but the service should seriously be trained...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.
I sincerely apologise that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us.

Please note that the issues with regards to another guest entering your room and your welcome amenity being removed from your room will be addressed with the respective head of departments as this is certainly not our standard. We hope to see you in the near future so you can experience a true Hilton Experience.

Thank you once again for your response.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Overall a comfortable stay in Durban. Safe, secure and the food fairly good, although typical hotel fare. It is also quite central although not located on the beach. Given experiences with other hotels in Durban, I would say that this is probably your best bet and is worth paying extra for.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAOI82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback. The hotel is in a safe and secure location. It is conveniently located next to the ICC, with The City Hall and Beaches close by. Our restaurant serves as an international cruise, with local cruises always being present on the buffet.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This hotel is the best option if you are in Durban for a conference at the International Conference Centre (ICC) which hosts some of the most prominent conferences in the world. A great hotel with excellent and spacious rooms and friendly staff. Buffet served at night is good, especially if you like local cuisine (curries and other typical Indian food). Also within walking distance of a lovely part of the Durban beachfront.

Room Tip: Executive floors are on levels 14 and 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beejay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. The Durban Hilton is next to the ICC which has hosted many big international events like the IOC Meeting and COP17.

Our buffet at Rainbow Terrace serves a wide selection of cuisines.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I thoroughly enjoy my stays at the Durban Hilton. The staff are efficient and the room service is always a must for the kids. We spent severalstays here since 2009 and was most amazed that staff members remembered my childrens' names every time. The warm reception and immaculate rooms only entices me to book here every time we visit Durban. The branded complimentary toiletries is a real attraction and the breakfasts caters for various options. My family my just be its number one fan. We have stayed at the Hilton Sandton, but this hotel is saluted for its five stars.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoziJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you and your family always enjoy your stay with us, and we are always able to meet and maintain your expectations.

The chef would be happy to hear the room service menu is a must by your kids. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forwarding to welcoming you back to your second home.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed here towards the end of the UN Climate Change Conference in December 2011. All I can say is that I considered my stay to be excellent, outstanding and flawless. The wonderful hospitality from all the staff exceeded my expectations, my room was large, clean, comfortable and had a good view. The restaurant provided an excellent / wide ranging dinner buffet and excellent breakfast. Particular mention needs to go to Wellington (concierge) what an excellent asset to the hotel.

Overall I had a really fantastic stay, thoroughly enjoyed and commend a highly professional, very motivated and caring team. Most of all I thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor balcony on the 14th floor executive lounge.

Definitely the best place to stay in Durban. Truly a 5 star experience (unlike the Cape Town "Hilton" - which merely deserves two stars at best).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joemalone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Dear Mr Joemalone

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay at our hotel. It’s always good to hear when our team exceeds our guests expectations.

We will definitely pass onto Wellington and the rest of the team that they contributed to your wonderful experience.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the New Year.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £68 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing