We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Rooms Need Upgrading”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Rooms Need Upgrading”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed here in January for our honeymoon for three days. When we were greeted we were suprised that there is no valet service for a hilton hotel!! We were quitely told by the concierge that this for security purposes. Parking was reasonable at only 50 rands per day which is much cheaper than other big cities around the world.

Our room was a superior room and was dated somewhat, the rooms looked very 90's american including the bathrooms, the rooms were big but the quality is not that of a five star hotel and not of the standard of other five star hotels we stayed in South Africa.

The buffet breakfasts are fantastic and with met a wonderful gentlemen Tiny who gave us ideas on what to do on our honeymoon in Durban (if you get a chance visit Ushaka Marine World).

Apart from the rooms which do need a renovation this a great safe place to stay in Durban.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdnanMir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Adnamir

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am sorry we were not able to fully meet your expectations, however it is great to hear that you enjoyed the buffet, and our team at the restaurant was able to give you recommendations on places to visit whilst in Durban.

Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you back at Hilton Durban soon.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    433
    226
    94
    82
See reviews for
221
278
77
642
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here in late January with my mum, we stayed for five days and from the beginning we felt like royalty. From the friendly staff to the fantastic comfortable rooms and even better beds (What a good night sleep). The buffet breakfasts are fantastic with a choice from fruit and cereals to cheese, salmon, pastries, hot breakfast and many more. Do yourself a favour if you are there and try the buffet in the evenings or even the Saturday night "curry buffet, a must if in Durban even if you are not staying in the hotel as they welcome outside guests for meals. The rooms are comfortable and amenities are outstanding, my mum loved the creams by Crabtree and Evelyn. The turndown service is a kind gesture with a lindor chocolate for each. We stayed on the fifth floor due to hotel been quite full but the views are still amazing from the room. I will definitely stay here again if I ever get the chance again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefsam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Chefsam77

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted to hear you and your mum had a fantastic stay at our hotel, and you were able to take back good memories of your stay with us. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Durban Hilton soon.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortsel, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated near the conference center. Unfortuantly we were there just before the COP 17 which ment it got difficult to get to and from the hotel. Otherwise a good hotel with everything a businesstraveller needs.

Room Tip: try to get as high as possible to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwjlaane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieNolan13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send in a review. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is always good to receive constructive feedback and I thank you, on behalf of my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I normally stay at Umhlanga but as I had business in and around Durbs I thought about trying the Hilton. To be honest I did not have high expectations with it being in town and a conference type hotel.
I was wrong! Really good check in, excellent staff at front desk, good porter.
Rooms were spacious, clean, well equipped and quiet. Web access was good but a bit pricey.
The sleep quality was excellent with good beds, unobtrusive aircon and thick curtains.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and fresh ingredients. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the concierge managed to assist with some difficult requests.
Check out was painless and the staff seemed genuinely interested about the quality of the stay.
The pool and gym area were clean and well kept and quite spacious.
Parking is a bit expensive and a bit of a mission to find the way in and out, but it is in the city so that is understandable.
It will be my hotel of choice from now on.

Room Tip: The higher the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieNolan13, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send in your review. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is always good to receive feedback and we would like to thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Well located near the Durban beachs. Big rooms with all the amenities needed. Excellent service at reception and concierge. Gym and pool are quite good for a business hotel. One of the things that the hotel has to change is their fridges. They make a terrible noise at night, and to sleep we had to switch it off.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and you received excellent service. This will definitely be passed onto our Front Office Staff.

I will definitely pass on your comments with regards to the fridge to our Chief Engineer whom would deal with the fridges further. Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you soon at Durban Hilton.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo'
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here on our wedding night in September 2010 and the staff really went out of their way to prepare a special romantic atmosphere in our room!

The room was spacious and luxurious and had a good view of Durban.. The next morning for breakfast they presented us with a personalized cake congratulating us on our marriage. Really made us feel special!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saiyuri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Sai6

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad we were able to make your wedding night a memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Durban Hilton in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Jounrey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

What an excellent and spacious Hotel, If you are looking for space and beautiful finishings this is the place to be.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoliswat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Yosiswat

Thank you so much for your wonderful words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Durban Hilton.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#14 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing