We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great services, decent size room, shower cleanness not so great”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great services, decent size room, shower cleanness not so great”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed on business. The Hotel has a great location due to proximity to the Conference Center (steps away) and it is also 10 min walk from the beach. They do advise you not go out on your own after dark. I used the Business Center a few times and the staff was absolutely amazing, they stayed after 7 pm, which is the closing time, to make sure I got everything I needed.
The gym is also decently equipped and open until 11 pm if I recall. The pool is outside therefore could not use it as it was winter time.
The reception staff was very friendly and in good disposition, the concierge though not the most speedy person managed to find a solution with my luggage wrapping though it is not a standard service.
The room had a see and stadium view, is of decent size ( similar to North American standards), high quality bedding, very comfortable beds, the one thing that was disappointing for me: the shower walls were not very clean . I did not get the chance to talk to reception about that as I had a hectic schedule, which is the norm for a business traveller. When on vacation you have time to check things, to take it easy, to report if something is not right. On business there is no time for that.
The breakfast was absolutely amazing, I have not seen so much variety in along time, from continental breakfast classics (eggs, beacon, various assortments of breads, hash browns, sausages, amazing sauteed mushrooms, grilled tomatoes etc) to indian food, salads, fruits, pastries, yogurts, cereals, nuts etc.

All in all it is a good hotel and overall you will have a good experience, mention when booking the shower cleanness and I am sure they will listen.

Room Tip: Read the reviews and I think you should mention prior to booking things that are important to you, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loana2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Loana2005, thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you found the staff at reception and business centre friendly and helpful. Yes, the hotel is at a great location, and in walking distance to the ICC and beach. The gym is 24 hours.
I have passed on your comments with regards to the shower walls to our Executive Houskeeper.
I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the variety we have in our breakfast.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write to us, and looking forward to welcoming you to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    447
    229
    94
    84
See reviews for
228
287
81
668
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Global
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had a chance to visit Durban and stayed at this property. Hospitality and service - excellent. Food Very good. Rooms very well appointed and taken care of.
Real shame I sprained my ankle, cannot blame the hotel for that.
A bit of a trek to the beach.

Room Tip: I lucked out and was upgraded to a suite, ocean front and higher floor would be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Eng256, thank you for your wonderful comments that you posted on Tripadvisor.

It is so great to hear that you had an excellent stay, and you found the food good.

I am sorry to hear that you have sprained your ankle. Thank you once again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.


Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

arrived off a long haul and was hoping to have a early check-in...was not disappointed.
great reception staff who expediated entire process with friendliest disposition. staff outstanding thro'out; rooms more than adequate if being used as a base (wouldnt have minded more time lying in....bedding was superior as were the bath ameneties. breakfast was a treat with some local flavours adding some spice and interest. overall, a comfortable stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wandereringon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Its so great to hear that we were able to exceed your expectation after a long haul flight, and our team were able to give you a true Hilton Experience.

When you return to Hilton Durban, do let me know so I can personally ensure all your requirements are taken care off.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Staff at check in were great. Good parkin underground. Room was average to good for this part of the world. Very disappointing dinner - ordered chicken off the menu that was raw in the middle. Maitre'd was attentive, directed me to the buffet ' so my colleague would not have to wait for me to finish eating'. Only problem was that buffet was basically finished. Not a great business dinner frankly and left a bad taste......

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beacon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Beacon 94, Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I am sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your standards on this occasions. I have pasted on your comments with regards to your dining experience to our Food and Beverage Manager and Chef.

When you return to our hotel, please do ask for me at check in, so I can ensure all your requirements are met.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Perfect location as it is next to the Durban ICC. Stayed there during Ramadhan and they even had a Ramadhan menu, which unfortunately wasn't great. Friendly staff.

Its not suitable for holiday accommodation as its not on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Explorer 786, thank you for your constructive feedback. Yes the hotel is close to the Durban ICC.

I will pass on your comments to the chef with regards to the Ramadhan menu.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

If you want a hotel that will make you feel right at home, then the Hilton Durban is it. It is centrally located and conveniently situated next to the Durban ICC. The staff are welcoming, very helpful and willing to accommodate your special requests. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean and kitted out with everything you need. I had such a great night's sleep that I even enquired about the make of the bed. The restaurant serves great food and seems to be a popular choice with the locals as well. The banqueting facilities are top class and run by a professional team. Overall, this hotel is about Durban hospitality at its best and I look forward to returning there soon.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, ask for a sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquidSandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
SquidSandton, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor, and on behalf of the Team I would like to thank you.

Its also great to hear when the staff together with the hotel are able to live up to your expectations.

Thank you once again for your comments, and do let me know when you return to our hotel, so I can unsure all your expectations are met.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Hilton Durban does many things right. The hotel restaurants have really good food. The breakfast buffet is the best part of the hotel. Many offerings, well prepared. Restaurant service is excellent. The lobby restaurant serves tasty snacks and meals, including fish and chips and local favorite "Bunny Chow", curried meats served in hollowed out loaves of bread. Unfortunately the hotel lacks in other important areas. The rooms are getting a bit run down. The internet is expensive, even for regular Hilton guests. Toiletries were more sparse than expected in the room. The weather was cool in Durban when I was there, and my room was cold. I hunted about in the room for the thermostat, and when I found it, realized that it was set up for cooling (Durban gets hot in their summer) but not to also heat. This is a great big hotel in an otherwise globally respected brand, but really, no heat? Are you kidding me? Reception sent me up an extra comforter. I wore a sweater in the room. If I ever returned to Durban I would choose another hotel.

The hotel is located next to a convention center, which is handy for business meetings and conventions.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with a view of the ocean....and bring a sweater for the room in the winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahnreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Bahnreise, it’s always good to receive constructive feedback and I thank you on behalf of the team.

It is good to hear that you found the restaurant food really good, especially the breakfast, and the service in the restaurant excellent.

Please note I have passed on your comments with regards to the heating to our Maintenance Manager to action.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
592 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
2.0 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing