We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Business and Conferencing in the Durban ICC”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Pretoria
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel for Business and Conferencing in the Durban ICC”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

If you are attending a conference in Durban's International Convention Centre (ICC) - this is the best place. It is next door to the ICC and makes for a convenient business trip. The hotel is in need of some refurbishment and repairs and we understand this will happen soon (now postponed to after the March 2013 BRICS Summit). It is also within easy walking distance to the beach (approx 10 minutes). A great hotel for longer stays. Very helpful staff and great buffet dinners. The swimming pool does not allow for much privacy (restaurant on-looking), but worth a swim. Rooms are spacious and still well-kept.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up and views towards the beach (in the distance). Avoid rooms close to the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beejay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieNolan13, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Beejay, thank you for your comments. Yes the hotel is next to the Durban International Convention Centre ( ICC), which makes it very convenient for guests attending a conference at the ICC. Thank you for your comments with regards to the hotels refurbishment and repairs. The hotel is easy assessable to the beaches and city centre. I am glad to hear that you found the staff very helpful and the dinner buffet great. Thank you once again for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.
Kind regards
Moe Hamza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    441
    229
    94
    84
See reviews for
225
283
77
656
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Don't get me wrong, the place looks impressive from the outside and when you enter the lobby. But then the little things start to nag...the lift from the garage did not work for the four days we stayed in the Hilton. Once in our room, we found there was no water (after a three hour drive, we needed a shower). Fittings hung off the wall, as did the numbers pad of the hotel safe. A lamp didn't work and when we didn't get our toiletries replaced the next day, I mentioned it to front desk staff (did I forget to mention that the telephone line to the operator didn't work...), four hours later I had to mention it again; and when I finally had to go downstairs for the third time I was pretty peeved. Fortunately, the Duty Manager had just arrived and within less than half an hour all problems were resolved and we were put in a much better room to compensate us for the forst two days of inconveniences. I would like to thank her profoundly for saving our long weekend in Durban. Breakfast was good but we dined one evening in the restaurant and I was less than impressed by a "tough as shoe leather" mutton curry, The place has some very professional and dedicated staff, so I really hope it will finally reach its potential. The beds and linen were of usually high Hilton standard, yet the pool was a sad excuse for a hotel mini lido, it didn't look clean, there was no attendant and fresh towels were nowhere to be seen ( I mentioned it to the staff in the adjoining Business Centre).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieNolan13, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Londonkraut, thank you for your constructive feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel and I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Please note I have personally addressed your comments with our Maintenance Manager, Executive Housekeeper and Head Chef for remedial action. I am glad you have found our staff professional and I do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel as some point in the future.

Kind regards

Moe Hamza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I had the privilege to stay for one evening without breakfast - a special! Good idea for these fancy hotels to give some ordinary people like me the opportunity to experience it. I had a great stay - rooms really well equipped and the bed was super super soft and comfy. I had quite a lot of luggage to schlepp around and the lift was out of order...but a very friendly front-of-house dude assisted me. Great stay - just too short!

I also agree that it is a pity that there are no vibe outside of the hotel - no where to lunch or take a walk on the beach...but that is probably not something they can do anything about...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Lulu B, thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. The beach is a 15 minute’s walk from the hotel, with restaurants and cafes along the promenade should you want to explore on your next visit. Thank you once again for your comments, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.
Warm Regards
Moe Hamza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I loved my stay here, nice rooms, a good restaurant and friendly smiles all over the place.
It's just a pity that there's no real shops, restaurants, bars around. It feels quite "isolated" in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Goya B, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It is always great to hear good comments about the staff and service . I will definately pass on your comments to the team. Florida Road, Ushaka Marine World and Sun Coast Casino and Entertainment World is a 5 minutes drive away for evening entertainment. Thank you once again for your comments

Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Spent several nights at this hotel in the spring of 2012. We were made to feel most welcome by the friendly staff in both the bar and restaurant that we frequented during our stay. Our time at the hotel was interrupted by an overnight excursion to the battlefields but the staff were happy to look after our excess luggage whilst we were absent and returned us to the same room, as requested, upon our return.
There was a small swimming pool where we were able to relax after our second, very long, one day excursion to the Drakensburg Mountains and Sani pass. Certainly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiktheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Rikthe Walker, thank you for your positive comments.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests. Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Spent a night at this hotel. It is pretty neat and convenient, I feel it's been a great hotel for years but a make over would go a long way to regain its glory! The rooms are nice but the carpeting in the corridors needs some attention. However the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Kafula M, thank you for your review.

You comments have been noted. Hope you enjoy the remainder of the Afcon 2013. Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Got to the Hilton with really high hopes and was badly disappointed. The room was aged, the pool isn't '5 star' and the service was totally horrid. Definitely will not be staying here again! Even tried checking out to move to a different hotel. Very unsatisfied. They need to improve seriously.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNiniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Miss NiniB, thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website.

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel and I would like to apologise. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations.

Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention, and it will be addressed.

I hope that, despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#14 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing