We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Quality Hotel”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Business hotel but as tourists we didn't feel out of place. Sayed on the 13th Executive floor which also gave us access to the executive lounge on the 14th floor. We used this for breakfasts and afternoon tea which are all complementary, indeed I went in to watch a premiership match on one of the 2 flat screens and after 6.00 alcohol os complementary aswell. The loung had a lovely relaxed atmosphere making one feel special so I'd say it's weel worth upgradeing to the Executive floor. Car parking under the hotel is abour R60 / night. We learned the best rooms are the corner deluxe ones.

Room Tip: For a sea view a room with an even number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor.

We are glad that you experienced the executive floor, and all that it has to offer. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

I had a pleasant stay at the Hilton. the roorms where clean and well furnished. The only problem i experienced that we had to wait for lady at resturant to finish her conversation before we were seated. Other than that I loved my experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Yvette Isobel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Yvette, thank you for your constructive feedback. We glad to hear that your stay at Hilton Durban was pleasant.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Hotel management cares primarily about profit at the expense of hospitality. Definitely not worth staying given the many hotels around with closer proximity to the beach, City center and restaurants. Further, the food quality of poor with little healthy options and quite expensive. And please do not get hurt on the property, as you will find little empathy and concern from management...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kimlin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Kimlin A, Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this stay. The next time you visit Durban, please inform me so I can ensure all your requirements are met. Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Have stayed for 15 days over the past two months. Good stuff: Great service ethic, nothing too much trouble for all staff. In room dining very good - food is tasty and freshly prepared and delivery is prompt. Location great if you have business in the CBD and you are close to all amenities.
Rooms comfortable - in particular the bed and pillows and there is a decent TV bouquet.
Not go good: Public areas (in particular the Bar and Restaurant) need a serious makeover. Bar only opens at 5pm which is odd for a 4 star establishment and draft beer is frequently unavailable - no atmosphere! Rooms, whilst comfortable, are starting to show their age and overall maintenance is underwhelming. Room safes, air conditioners and lights are constant issues - all my colleagues had similar issues. Buffet is also ok - food tends to dry out and no great shakes (with the exception of room service) which again, for the brand and the fact that this is a 4 star establishment. That said, it is the best option in the Durban area although you would have a better experience if you chose a hotel further north.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

John G, thank you for your constructive feedback, We are glad to hear that you found our staff helpful and the service good. I will definitely pass on your comments to our team members. The hotel is close to the ICC and beaches. Your comments with regards to the Bar and Restaurant have been passed onto our Operations Manager and Food and Beverage Manager.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed for 6 nights at this hotel while attending a cancer conference at the nearby convention center. The rooms are typical Hilton style--large, comfortable beds and an adequate bathroom. Minibar prices were reasonable, but at nearly $17 for a 24 hour period the internet charges were pretty outrageous. I had one meal in the restaurant and it was adequate although not memorable. I was surprised that there was no ATM in the hotel given that it is a relatively large hotel and serves mianly foreign visitors. Yes, there is an ATM at the nearby convention center, but it is not safe to walk outside after dark (even though the convention center is only a minute's walk away) and I did not feel comfortable walking there via the parking garage (which is what I was told to do the first evening I arrived and had no cash). Visitors should be aware that it is not safe to walk around the area, especially at night. This said, however, there was a mugging of a fellow convention attendee at the conference during the day as he walked from the hotel to the convention center. Quite surprising as the area appeared safe, but he is now out an Ipad... The hotel is the most convenient place to stay if you are attending a conference at the convention center since you need to take cabs to any other hotels. I also found the hotel staff all quite helpful, so would recommend it from that standpoint as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view, although it is a fair distance away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Fridaysmom, thank you for your constructive feedback.

Yes our rooms do have large comfortable beds. We do have complimentary Wifi for our residents in our public areas. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.



Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very nice hotel. Well placed right beside the conference centre and only 10 minutes from the beach. Very pleasant staff and good amenities. Good selection of foods for breakfast. Breakfast room is a bit noisy, but nice outside terrace available.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Evelyn B, thank you so much for your constructive feedback. We are glad you found the staff pleasant and the amenities good.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban.

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The stay at the Hilton was very good. I cannot wrong the service, the room or the food. The gym facility is also very nice. The hotel gets my approval but would be great if they could offer free internet in the rooms like other holtels (i.e. Elangeni)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Terence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Terence F, Thank you so much for your constructive feedback.

I have passed on your comments to our Operations Manager and IT Manager, however we do offer complimentary free Wifi to our in house guests in public areas.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £75 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing