We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good rest before returning home”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We needed to rest after our holiday and travels to Kosi Bay. We only had room service which we thoroughly enjoyed!! They bring a trolley with a small oven underneath to keep the food warm. When they fold out the trolley, it feels as if we are royalty! All the food we ordered and received was very yummy... the chakalaka is the only thing that could have been milder with the pap.
Very comfortable stay indeed. My son and I loved spending the pool, especially if it became to hot to go to the beach.

Room Tip: I have nothing to fault... just wish we could have been closer to the sea... we did have a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corlia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Corlia V- Thank you for your great review. I am really happy to hear that you and your son enjoyed your room service and that the team was able to make you feel like royalty. The next time you visit, do let us know so we can ensure all your requirements are met. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind regards

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,484 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Staying at Hilton Durban during a family vacation was a great experience. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is good. The hotel is close to the beach and to the marine park which makes it convenient for guests. The spa experience at the hotel was not as good though. The spa is too small and with very limited facilities. This is one area the hotel should consider improving.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your constructive feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your family holiday whilst at Hilton Durban.

Your comments with regards to the spa have been noted. Thank you once again, and let me now when you visit the hotel again so I can ensure all your requirements are met.

Kind Regards

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel as an overnight option before embarking on a boat trip the next morning. We were very impressed with what the hotel had to offer. It is a clean and very well run hotel. The breakfast the next morning was really excellent! We had one small problem and that was waiting for an extra bed in our room, but the rest made up for this wait. I recommend this hotel as an excellent option for staying over in Durban.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvanEmmenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

MyanEmmenes, thank you for the great review. We are glad that you enjoyed the night you spent at the hotel. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at the Durban Hilton as a family to attend the Chess championships at the ICC. The hotel is very conveniently located next to the ICC. The staff were very friendly and professional from the concierge, front of house staff and restaurant personnel. The rooms are very comfortable with good amenities. The breakfast and dinner buffet is extensive with a large variety and some very good curries. The room service food was surprisingly good and served on mobile tables with a warming tray.
The pool area seems a bit neglected with no pool service and few loungers but as this is not really a resort it is to be expected. The parking in the basement is very convenient but the ticket system was constantly broken. Wifi was available for free in reception but we had to pay for wifi in the room with for a five star business hotel is unusual. Overall it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Clive H - Thank you for your constructive feedback. The hotel has an excellent location next to the Durban ICC and Durban Beaches. It is always good to receive feedback on the staff and I will definately pass on the comments to the team members. Do let us know the next time you visit the hotel, so we can ensure all your requirements are met. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My experience at Durban Hilton is the best. I've visited other Hilton Hotels in SA and US. Durban cleanliness and service is the BEST. Even the refreshments in the executive lonunge are excellent. One is able to arrive and rest without even leaving the executive floor because all needs and wants are right there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Phindiwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Phindiwe S, thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review of Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed the executive lounge facilities. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Kind regards

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very good service/friendly staff.
Some of the breakfast abit cold but overall breakfast will have you sorted for the rest of the day. Wouldn't mind coming back again - I'd recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mp09soll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Mp09soll, thank you for your great comments and recommendations. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I only spent a night at this hotel, but my husband and son were here for a week for the Chess Championships which was held at the ICC, which is right next door, so very convenient. My experience was of a nicely decorated hotel with comfortable beds and lovely Thomas Roth toiletries. The latch on our bedroom window was broken so we were subjected to the noise of the fun fair and prayer festival going on outside until they ended at midnight. Poor service at breakfast. Couldn't find anyone to serve tea. People were also queueing when we left the dining room which shouldn't happen at a 4 star hotel. My son complained that most of the food at the hotel was too spicey for him. The location of the hotel does not lend itself to a family holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InspiredParenting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

InspiredParenting, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I sincerely apologise that you expectations were not met on this occasion. Your comments have been passed onto our Operations Manager and Food and Beverage Manager. Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £77 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing