We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We are enjoying the hospitality and kindness of the staff at Hilton Hotel, Durban South Africa.
Amazing staff, beautiful smiles and amazing facilities, from Afternoon Tea to dinner in the restaurant.

Nothing has been too much trouble on our first if what we hope are more vacations to South Africa and our new friends here.

Thanks to you all from the WEBB party!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send in your great review. I will surely pass your comments onto the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    447
    229
    94
    84
See reviews for
230
287
81
667
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Even during winter we had enjoyed sunny South Africa during our stay in Duran(Little India). The location of the hotel was fantastic and ideal. Club Lounge facilities were very good. Hospitality and service was excellent.

Room Tip: Sea View room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peddiravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send in your review and for your lovely comments regarding our excellent service and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunninghill, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Hilton Hotel, is at the centre of Durban and near to town, North coast, neighbouring businesses and holiday destinations . The rooms are clean and furnished with quality finishes. The breakfast is lovely, just what the Doctor ordered.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelebogile Port... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban, Durban's landmark hotel and for taking the time to complete your wonderful guest review. Will surely pass on your comments to the entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Wonderful way to distress and spend quiet time. Good break away from normal routine. Staff willing assisted with all requests to make the stay magical. Hotel peaceful and relaxed. Excellent service. Hilton Hotel certainly has never disappointed us with the service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kuben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your amazing review and choosing to stay at Hilton Durban. It is always good to receive feedback as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermarizburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel was clean and decent. However it did not show signs of any difference to other established with a lower rating. I also found it to be quiet a boring place with not real entertainment to tickle my curiosity. For a Saturday night it was quiet dull and boring so i went to my room to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Collin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send in your review.
I would like to apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations and would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have started the rejuvenation of our hotel entrance, reception and lobby, which is scheduled to last until April 2014 and then moving onto our restaurants and all new bar...

Would love to welcome you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empangeni, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton in Durban and It was really a great experiance.Helpfull staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, secure parking and great food.It is located close to the beach and the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for sending in your great review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I booked in for the night (15 feb) at the Hilton in Durban. I phoned in two days before requesting early check-in as I was attending a wedding at 3pm and their regular check in time would be too late. The lady at the front desk was helpful and said she had noted it on the system but I should also phone through the moment I land, which I did. They said they were preparing the room and when I arrived at 45 min later it will be ready. It wasn't. I was kept a further 30 min and told it was cause they had only just informed house keeping. If I hadn't gone to remind her that I was still waiting she would have continued to check-out all the guests before turning her attention to me. She acknowledged she had forgotten.

I wanted to cool off with a quick swim in the pool. I was so disappointed with its size. Servicing 12 floors of rooms there were only a few deck chairs. No pool towels to be found only two rather drunk and loud men with their 3/4 finished bottle of patrone. One of the staff that I approached about this had the attitude that this is not my problem and come back later when they are gone.

The room was advertised with breakfast but I was surprised on arrival at the restaurant that it wasn't. The hostess was rude, she ushered me to my table and told me the systems were slow and would come back in 2minutes to confirm if breakfast was included or not. She failed to come tell me. I don't mind having to pay if it wasn't included but all I demand is service. Let me know what the story is. Don't leave me waiting. It seems to be a trend with hilton employees to just forget to come back to you.Obvious lack of understanding of what good service means. Poor!

The hilton is located close to the ICC which means a lot of foreigners walk throughout their doors. Not proudly South African

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to complete your review. I greatly appreciate any comments made by you as it is always good to receive constructive feedback as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of service.

Firstly I would like to sincerely apologise that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. I have noted your comments regarding the service provided by our Front Desk and Restaurant team and I have addressed this with our Front Office Manager and the Food & Beverage Operations Manager and remedial action has since been taken. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention – it is greatly appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
449 reviews
2.0 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Nozio Netplan srl, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing