We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restuarant”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

VIP executive launge should have food same as the restuarant, ordering food especially in the morning take time. the bar is limited to two wiskhy rather than having all preffered wiskhy even if i had to buy. the set up of the area is not sharable with other.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send in your review. Firstly I would like to sincerely apologise that your recent stay with us on the did not meet your expectations. I have noted your comments regarding the Executive Lounge food & beverage quality and I have addressed this with our Executive Chef and our Food & Beverage Operations Manager. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention – it is greatly appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed there in February 2014 when some building works were going on. The hotel seemed quite empty and short of staff who seemed to be not fully trained. Checked in about 1 pm , Had a coffee on the terrace where there were no chairs ! and none could be brought out. The hotel is next to the main congress centre and nowhere else so unless you are going to a congress there, its best to stay somewhere close to the waterfront. Rooms are a little dated but clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohammadh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. I greatly appreciate any comments made by you and firstly I would like to sincerely apologise that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. I have noted your comments and I have addressed this with our Food & Beverage Operations Manager and would also like to take this opportunity to inform that we have indeed started our refurbishment project and are very excited to see the new, improved, sleek design of the Hilton Durban.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The room was comfortable, breakfast was good, and the staff were very helpful. Nothing was in walking distance. There are nice hotels on the beach a few miles away. The Hotel was remodeling the lobby.


Stayed: January 2014
Thank eieionan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for sending in your review and for your great comments regarding our helpful staff, breakfast and rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were warmly greeted upon our arrival to Hilton Hotel, Durban, South Africa. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and courteous to my husband and myself at all times. Our room was absolutely beautiful and quite large with a gorgeous view of the Indian Ocean. The food was bountiful and diverse to meet our individual needs, and the restaurant staff were attentive to our every request. The Club Lounge was marvelous and offered delicious food and beverages for our enjoyment. Our visit to Durban was fabulous, and I hope to visit this wonderful city again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to complete your review. I greatly appreciate any comments made by you as it is always good to receive constructive feedback as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of service.

Thank for your wonderful comments regarding our team, service and rooms and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We are enjoying the hospitality and kindness of the staff at Hilton Hotel, Durban South Africa.
Amazing staff, beautiful smiles and amazing facilities, from Afternoon Tea to dinner in the restaurant.

Nothing has been too much trouble on our first if what we hope are more vacations to South Africa and our new friends here.

Thanks to you all from the WEBB party!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send in your great review. I will surely pass your comments onto the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Even during winter we had enjoyed sunny South Africa during our stay in Duran(Little India). The location of the hotel was fantastic and ideal. Club Lounge facilities were very good. Hospitality and service was excellent.

Room Tip: Sea View room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peddiravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send in your review and for your lovely comments regarding our excellent service and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Hilton Hotel, is at the centre of Durban and near to town, North coast, neighbouring businesses and holiday destinations . The rooms are clean and furnished with quality finishes. The breakfast is lovely, just what the Doctor ordered.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kelebogile Port... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban, Durban's landmark hotel and for taking the time to complete your wonderful guest review. Will surely pass on your comments to the entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 44 in Durban
654 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#21 of 44 in Durban
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £70 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. Our stylish, comfortable and convenient 327 rooms provide a place to unwind or catch up on work. Spacious Suites feature a separate living room and upgraded amenities. Upgrade to an Executive room for free breakfast and refreshments throughout the day in the exclusive Business Lounge. Book a room or suite on the Hilton website for our best rates. Enjoy a different culinary experience at every meal when you stay at Hilton Durban. Savor a hearty breakfast at the new Vasco's Restaurant and innovative dishes from the chef's table at Big Easy Winebar & Grill Durban by Ernie Els. Relax with a coffee and light meal at the Coral Lounge. Daily 24-hour room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing