We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired - just doesn't meet the standard”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired - just doesn't meet the standard”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel 9 times over the past year. Whilst the renovated reception and lobby creates a great first impression, the stark reality is that the accommodation does not meet 4 star standards. Bedrooms old and desperately in need of a renovation. Air conditioning isn't up to scratch and therefore compromises the sleeping experience. Room just doesn't feel clean or sanitized and evidence of stains etc. in the fabrics and carpets. There are far better establishments if one is prepared to drive to Umhlanga and in all fairness, the hotel doesn't meet the standards if a discerning business traveller.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms and air conditioners. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience and would like to happily inform you that now that phase 1 of our refurb is completed (lobby/reception), phase 2 will be the refurbishment of our guestrooms which we are extremely excited about. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    454
    234
    94
    86
See reviews for
235
294
83
689
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Landskrona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 11 nights in July and had a very nice stay. The staff is very welcoming and friendly, especially in the rainbow restaurant and in the rivets bar they felt like old friends when greeting us and asking about our day. The location is good with walking distance to both beach and city. However not recommended to walk in the area during evenings so no walking distance to restaurants. A bit disappointing that they charged a fee for wifi and that the free wifi in the lobby was unbelievably slow.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Landskroniten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and sending in your Tripadvisor review. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban location and staff in our restaurant and bar to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed at Hilton Durban due to its great location for a business traveller like me. But at my previous stay i experianced the most unhygenic situation whereby i found Blood on one of the Towels which is a scary situation at this day in age aids and other blood related issues. but managements response to this was a simple SORRY and for them case closed. This experiaced has made me so caution that i carry my own towels to hotels these days all because of Durban Hilton. Other than that generally a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank for taking the time out to send in your TripAdvisor review and again would like to apologise for the experience and service you received in your last few stays with us. I trust you have received my correspondence via email and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban to soon.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Everything was just right. No complaints. Great staff and efficient check in procedure. Made to feel very welcome upon arrival and departure. Highly recommended to any traveller. Decor has been upgraded

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sidney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and for sending in our survey and this great Tripadvisor review. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban staff, check-in and experience to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A clean comfortable hotel with exceptional staff. We were staying on the top floor and the scenic views out of each window was beautiful. The staff were exceptionally helpful helping me map out routes, getting transportation or getting food items not in dining room. I stayed here 4 nights and every evening the chef would make me a special meal to order. I am a vegan and had problems finding suitable entrees for dinner on the menu. So every night he asked what I felt like and made vegan curries and vegetable stews to suit my palate. When I wanted a soy latte in the front lobby coffee shop, they ran up to the kitchen to get soy milk for me. I cannot say enough about this hotel and their helpfulness!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are always more pleasant, the higher the floor more scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban to your liking and will certainly pass on your comments to our Executive Chef to ensure his team member gets recognition for his service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Polite and informed employees. Uniforms for restaurant workers need to look much smarter than what i saw. Rooms look decent and cleaned and not much of a choice of organic drinks to choose from. I would certainly recommend to friends and business associates

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charles Fon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your TripAdvisor review . I sincerely appreciate your feedback and would like to inform you that we are currently looking into new uniforms for all our Food & Beverage teams. Thank you also for your email with your suggestions on the organic wines which I have received.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capetown
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My first time visit to the Hilton in Durban was my best 5 star hotel experience in South Africa. Noma treated me like a King from the moment I arrived. She even took me on a quick tour and told me about executive floor which automatically appealed to me and I upgraded. She organised everything for me even enrolled me to the rewards program. She is just Amazing.

Room Tip: High Floors , Better Views , 16th Floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban to your liking and will surely pass on your comments to the team and Noma. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
459 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing