We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet in Restaurant”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Buffet had very poor selection and choice and quality of food did not look very inviting. A little bit more cognizance could have been given to cater for all cultures. However, the a la cart menu was excellent and the meal very tasty and well presented.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to complete your Tripadvisor review and our guest survey. It is always good to receive constructive feedback and I thank you, on behalf of my Team.

I have noted your great comments regarding our staff in the Executive Lounge and will surely pass this on to them, as well as the variety of food options on our buffet and have addressed this with our Executive Chef.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice big rooms with good bathrooms and decent size TV's. The restaurant was good but the bar food was very average at best with poor 'Hilton' chosen music that the staff could not change.

The rooms were however poorly lit and we were not pleased that they wanted to levy a significant WiFi charge for use in your room, but public areas a code could be obtained from the staff. When paying for a decent hotel this always riles me as the charge is always disproportionate.

The staff were great, though one told us packed breakfasts were not available when we later found they were, but we had taken what we wanted the previous day anyway, which was less wasteful anyway.

Room Tip: The end of corridor rooms are larger [and more expensive] but both are decent size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert_B_London61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. I have addressed your comments with our Executive Chef and Front Office Manager and would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that now that we are nearing completion of phase 1 of our hotel lobby rejuvenation, phase 2 will be to refurbishment of our guestrooms. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It looks and feels like an old hotel, definitively not up to par with similar hotels I visited while in South Africa. I spent a couple of nights there and was not impressed by it at all. It was empty, gloomy and sad. Rooms are tiny and make you feel claustrophobic. Personnel, especially at the reception, seemed overworked and unenthusiastic. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Washingtoniangourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. I have addressed the Front Office Manager regarding staff attitude and remedial action will be taken. I also would like to happily inform you that phase 2 of our hotel refurbishment will be the upgrade of our guestrooms.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here only to find that this hotel does not offer free wifi, which in today's age is ludicrous. Further our company has a global agreement that allows our employees to get wifi free of charge at this hotel chain. Turns out our agent neglected to inform the hotel, so the manager told me to charge the wifi to my room and they would credit it at check out.... very accommodating. On check out I paid my bill and informed the assistant that the Internet must be reversed. I was told not to worry as it was not on the bill. The surprise came later that afternoon when my credit card gets slapped with additional charges without them even informing me. When I phoned the assistant recalled me checking out and said she would phone me back to confirm the reversal..... still heard nothing. I really don't have time for this kind of rubbish and will not stay here again. Umhlanga has better hotels and you can go walking around at night in a safe environment.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank larkanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. I apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We do offer free Wi-Fi in our public areas and would also like to inform you that I have addressed your comments regarding your billing to our Front of House Manager and remedial action has been taken. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our family of 5 stayed 2 nights in Durban, whilst waiting for a flight. The hotel is very very accommodating. It was our daughters birthday and I requested on arrival balloons and a cake. The happily did it and made our daughter feel very special whilst in transit. The hotel rooms our rather old and could do with an update. The bathrooms are dates and the bath tub was not inviting. We had the buffet breakfast one morning , which was fine and then the next morning we requested a breakfast pack to go. It was great that they have got that available but the food we received was ordinary. We ended up top wasting the food by placing it in the bin. I would only stay again if I got a big $ discount. The beds were comfortable and the sheets lovely and crisp. The bath towels looked very old and grey. Thank you Hilton for kindly doing balloons and a cake.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bluemu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms, bathrooms and breakfast packs. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience and I have addressed our Executive Housekeeper and Executive Chef. I would also like to happily inform you that now that phase 1 of our hotel refurb is nearing completion our phase 2 refurb will be the upgrade of our guestrooms. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 9 times over the past year. Whilst the renovated reception and lobby creates a great first impression, the stark reality is that the accommodation does not meet 4 star standards. Bedrooms old and desperately in need of a renovation. Air conditioning isn't up to scratch and therefore compromises the sleeping experience. Room just doesn't feel clean or sanitized and evidence of stains etc. in the fabrics and carpets. There are far better establishments if one is prepared to drive to Umhlanga and in all fairness, the hotel doesn't meet the standards if a discerning business traveller.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms and air conditioners. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience and would like to happily inform you that now that phase 1 of our refurb is completed (lobby/reception), phase 2 will be the refurbishment of our guestrooms which we are extremely excited about. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for 11 nights in July and had a very nice stay. The staff is very welcoming and friendly, especially in the rainbow restaurant and in the rivets bar they felt like old friends when greeting us and asking about our day. The location is good with walking distance to both beach and city. However not recommended to walk in the area during evenings so no walking distance to restaurants. A bit disappointing that they charged a fee for wifi and that the free wifi in the lobby was unbelievably slow.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Landskroniten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and sending in your Tripadvisor review. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban location and staff in our restaurant and bar to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#12 of 44 in Durban
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 44 in Durban
660 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 44 in Durban
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £76 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate elegance, the Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering newly renovated guestrooms in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. Voted South Africa’s Leading Business Hotel at the World Travel Awards from 2012 to 2017. All 328 guest rooms offer gorgeous views of the city or coastline. Expect the highest standard of service, impressive facilities and dishes to suit any taste. With meeting rooms and grand ballroom space for up to 400 guests, Hilton Durban is one of the most established conference hotels in Durban. Stay connected with Wi-Fi access and work efficiently in the business center. Executive guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast and refreshments in the stylish Business Lounge. The outdoor swimming pool and our fitness center also offer an ideal place to unwind after a busy day. Refuel at any of our 3 stylish outlets, Vasco's restaurant, the Big Easy Winebar & Grill Durban by Ernie Els and the Coral Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing