We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hilton stayed at globally” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Durban

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
244 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Worst Hilton stayed at globally”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

The area is close to the convention centre and great if you are there for a convention . At night the area is very quite and nowhere to eat or go within safe walking distance . If you are wanting the beach it is too far to walk . The hotel has a nice refurbished lobby which also has free wifi . Now let's move to what we pay money for the room. In this case room 920 .
The aircon did not work and no amount of technicians could fix it . No offer was made to change the room and when asked was told no they can't move us so two nights in a hot stuffy room . Toilet fixtures broken and not fixed for duration of stay . One pair of slippers, one robe for two people ? One bottle of water instead of two ? Then after a hard day working return after 15.00 to find room has not been cleaned . Again have to ask to have it cleaned wait in coffee shop drink expensive coffee till room is cleaned , no apology even offered . Overall this hotel is not up to Hilton standards at all and this issue has been taken up with Hilton international . I would avoid at all costs till rooms have been refurbished as they are old things don't work and the staff don't seem to care much either .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnFinchPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry you were unhappy with the condition and working order of your room, room amenities and housekeeping and I apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I would like to inform you that I have addressed the Chief Engineer, Front Office Manager and our Executive Housekeeper and remedial action has been taken.

Again I sincerely apologise that we were unable to resolve your issues whilst you were here. I appreciate that it is impossible to rectify your unpleasant experience, but if you could send me a direct email on social.durban@hilton.com, I would love to make it right on your next visit and I do hope that this will go some way in rebuilding your trust in Hilton Durban’s hospitality.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    433
    221
    92
    81
See reviews for
212
272
77
633
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I'll start with the good. Easy access to the icc, good breakfast and friendly staff.
The bad. The first time I've been to a 5 star hotel that didn't provide water. Only 1 person at check in and check out. I waited 20 minutes to Check out.
A distance from the beach which isn't ideal

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank suhail1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. I apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I have addressed the Front Desk Manager regarding your check-in/out and arrival amenity.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again


Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Get Hilton quality hotel with nice rooms and executive lounge. Service and help was great however some how got stuck with a $200 laundry bill for 2 pairs of pants and 3 shirts... Oh well! Breakfast is great and delicious and did not disappotin.

Also note this property IS NOT ON THE BEACH!!! If you're a foreigner/tourist DO NOT WALK FROM THE HOTEL TO THE BEACH!!! BAD IDEA!!! Almost got mugged a block away from the hotel by the police station in the middle of the afternoon... However the hotel was great in ensuring car service for us for there on out that was billed directly to the room and fairly priced. They have BMW 5 series also if you prefer to ride in style.

Convenient location to the convention center which has its own travel clinic so medical care is in reach if you get sick

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite!!! Bathrooms are more spacious and views are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. II also have addressed the Executive Housekeeper and Front Desk Manager regarding your comments.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

There is a need to have small tap of water other than the bathroom. there is no use to put a kettle for tea while expecting people to fetch water from the bathroom. its unhygienic, people bath, urinate and relieve themselves in there. when you flush the toilet all the bacteria travels all over the bathroom, particularly after a shower where steam travels around, you can imagine what people are drinking..... overall, the service was superb

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Vusumuzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with no other taps being supplied besides the bathroom one. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I would have given it one star if it weren't for the lobby being so nice and the doormen being so friendly. I was otherwise very disappointed with Hilton. Wifi was not free. Parking was not free. Then, we called the front desk from our room and asked to place a local call. They put us through and never informed us that we would be charged 54 rand for the 1 minute call! Also, we called the front desk to ask where a good place to have dinner would be.. they recommended a spot and offered to make us reservations. We accepted and then went to the restaurant. The restaurant said no one called from the hotel to make reservations for us. If they were unable to make the reservations or something, the front desk should have called us back to let us know. THEN- we were woken up to banging on our hotel door at 8am to someone asking to check the minibar! WHAT?! They must check it at 8am? We told them we were sleeping and they can come back later. VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED. Poor customer service. I would never go back and actually have a bad taste in my mouth about all Hiltons now. There are many other great hotels actually close to the ocean (this one is not) with better customer service and free amenities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests, as it is always good to receive constructive feedback.

Firstly I sincerely apologise that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Without a doubt, the experience you have had at the Hilton Durban is not acceptable and is certainly not the norm. Rest assured that the issues you raised regarding your restaurant booking and lack of communication regarding our chargeable facilities has been investigated and remedial actions have been done and I have addressed this with our Font Office Manager. Thank you for bringing this to my attention - it is greatly appreciated.

Again apologise that we were unable to resolve your issues whilst you were here and would love to make it right. I appreciate that it is impossible to rectify your unpleasant experience, but if possible if you could email us on social.durban@hilton.com so I can make it right and I do hope that this will go some way in rebuilding your trust in Hilton Durban’s hospitality.

I look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights recently. The foyer is large and impressive but that is where it ends. Firstly there was no one at the front to guide us as to where to park the car or enquire if we had any luggage. The lady at the front desk was completely incompetent. Firstly she could not find our booking which was done through skyscanner and we waited almost 20 minutes before the booking was confirmed. We asked about parking and all she said was R70 rand a day and we can pay at checkout. She failed to inform us about validating the card at reception and also that the lift from the parking basement to Lobby was not working. So we had to carry our bags up to the lobby. The room was large and I think it needs to be refurbished as it looked worn. Breakfast was ok. Nothing to rave about. At checkout we were told that the room had not been paid although we had paid in advance. This is quite embarrassing as there were many people checking out at the same time. My husband made a fuss and the front desk manager a Ms Sadia Hoosein helped sort out the problem in a very professional way. She was very helpful and apologized profusely. I think as a 5 Star hotel the Hilton needs to get their act together.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Safiya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to complete your review. We greatly appreciate any comments and it is always good to receive constructive feedback.

Firstly I sincerely apologise that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Without a doubt, the experience you have had at the Hilton Durban is not acceptable and is certainly not the norm. Rest assured that the issues you raised regarding your reservation, check-in experience, lack of information regarding parking and no porter available, has been investigated and remedial actions have been done and also has been addressed with our Font Office Manager. Thank you for bringing this to my attention - it is greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Staying at the hotel was memorable. The staff was very friendly. the facilities are excellent. security was also good. The food was very good and the variety was rich in content. I was not happy with the fact that free wifi was only available at the public areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban staff friendly and facilities excellent. Our Executive Team is reviewing your feedback regarding no free Wi-Fi access in our rooms to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Southall Travel so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing