We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average Hilton - looks and feels quite dated”
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very average Hilton - looks and feels quite dated”
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I was only here for 1 evening.

The service was very good and as a Hilton Diamond member I was invited to check in on the exec level. All was very swift and I was in my room very quickly. The room was fine, a little tired but it looks like a reasonably old hotel.

I had room service and the food was excellent and it was delivered reasonably quickly.

The pool is pretty cold and there were no towels available or delivered despite my requests.

On a different note, Durban Airport is excellent. Security is very quick and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4workandplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    454
    234
    94
    86
See reviews for
235
294
83
689
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The hotel is 15 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes to town
breakfast is monotonous if you are there for more than 3 days, but the meals are generally great.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Ideal venue to visit the souk in december. Best value. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timeshareexchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgirlwould
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Ideally situated for the beach and the city centre. Very nice hotel and services although staff a little robotic for me. Prices were very reasonable, it was a safe and comfortable location. 10 min walk to the fabulous coast and 10 mins walk to the city centre. Didn't venture out at night but it was also close to a decent little shopping centre. Used the internet in the lounge bar and it was rather slow - not sure if the business centre was . Room was well equipped.

A cab to the airport cost 350 SA£ = £35 roughly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgirlwould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Very good rooms, service and food (both breakfast and dinner buffets) However location good only if you are attending the nearby conference center. Otherwise area is not very safe. Would recommend staying up in Umhlanga instead

Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Swedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We were there for a Convention, every room was probably booked......the hotel staff was phenomenal! Even with the ironing boards and irons, being scarce (must be an overseas thing) they were always helpful and respectful in requesting the board and iron back. I got some laundry done there, they did a great job. The food was so-so, but there are many places near by that are pretty good. You have to take a cab to get there, I tried a Thai place and an Italian place, dont recall the names but they are on the same block, awesome food! In addition the rooms were pretty clean, which is a must when choosing a hotel! Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maihoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I was at the Hilton for four nights as I was at an exhibition at the ICC, literally next door and attached to the Hilton effectively. So there is no better hotel choice if you want to be near the ICC or adjacent exhibition centre. Hence five stars for location only if you're at the ICC. If you're not at the centre then this hotel is a decent base for day trips, etc, but then the location is not ideal as it's fairly isolated and not a good idea to go wandering apparently. It's very near the city centre which is interesting but best seen with a tour guide. Usual South African city advice of not wandering at night applies. I find that advice unnerving coming from the UK but South Africans just live with it and use taxis. Apparently the suburbs are a nicer bet if you're holidaying in Durban. I also recommend Valley of 1000 Hills as a near Durban trip.

Back to the hotel: staff are very helpful and friendly, some of the best I've witnessed. Hotel food is lovely and well priced. Breakfast nice too.

Room was well decorated and had all amendities needed. Large safe that takes a laptop too. Tv a little annoying as reception bit fuzzy. Air con was also quite weak so took a while to cool the room down, but meant it was very quiet. A pay off?

Black mark for charging for internet - 170rand (£17) for 24hrs. I think it's terrible when 5 star hotels charge extra for internet.

Gym room is full of weights and a few cv machines. Pool is tiny, as usual never as good as the hotel website photos.

So overall I was very happy with the Hilton and recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragingragnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#17 of 43 in Durban
606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
457 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing