We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Balmoral Hotel, Durban”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Durban
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 22 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 155 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 9 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 10 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 6 July 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 February 2009

First thing when we got to Durban after a long 6hour drive from Johannesburg was access to the main beach front and get to the hotel. The turnings to the beach lane where closed and had to drive about half a mile to turn then drive back to get to the hotel and find parking. Hotel staff were very friendly and gave you a warm welcome.

Our room was a non smoking room but as soon as you walked in, your invited by a strong smell of smoke that has remained on the carpet and fabric. non smoking rooms cannot be guaranteed when you book for them and i'm guessing it's because they don't have any.
We paid extra money to have a seaview room to which you should not choose if you want a quite night in, as the music from the fun world or the flee market across the street was soo loud and goes on till late at night.
Overall the hotel room was clean. Views were spectacular in the early morning when the sun rise.

We had only one problem with the resturant, I ordered a chocolate pudding which came brown and tasted like toffee, We refused to pay for it and the manager assured us that's what chocolate taste like in south africa, "it's toffee with cocoa powder in it". The fact that he said other foreign guest have compliant about this before had me going,certainly not foreign to chocolate altogether. This was a big let down as the rest of the staff there were brilliant to us.

The area was fantastic, it was nice and hot. The crafts market right on your door step and great if your the person to mingle with the locals.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

The Balmoral is 100 years old this year and well kept. The breakfasts are great and the staff friendly. However, it is in the city of Durban on the beach front and much of Durban's city center is now particularly dangerous. I don't recommend it for tourists. It doesn't look like the situation will change so unfortunately the fine old beach hotels will deteriorate like the city.
North Durban and the City Lodge are clean and safe while not on the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mcbmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

My partner and I stayed at The Balmoral Hotel this weekend and we were disgusted by the poor quality of the hotel. For a hotel which claims to be 4 star, we had a shocking stay. For the duration of the weekend the lift was not working which meant we had to use the stairs to our 3rd floor room.

I had booked a double bed room and we were given a twin bed room but I insisted that they change us to a double bed room which was done. Our room was in dire need of having the carpet replaced and the bathroom tiles cleaned properly.

We ordered room service on Friday night and the next morning at 06h30 a staff member phoned us to find out some detail of the room service. I cannot believe that the staff are so incompetent that they wake up guests at 06h30 on a Saturday morning!

On Saturday, after being out the whole day we returned to our room at 16h45 only to find that Housekeeping had not yet serviced the room. We then had to go downstairs and wait until this had been done.

The breakfast was disgusting with old fishfingers being served and juice which was completely unpalatable. There was no salt and pepper on the breakfast table and any request was received by the staff as if they really would be elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atreides77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.4 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Gooderson Tropicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#24 of 43 in Durban
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: 125 Marine Parade, Beach Road, Durban, 4001, Durban 4000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £49 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing