We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for a cheap price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gooderson Beach Hotel
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I enjoyed the location, the size of the apartment. If you are planning a trip to Durban, where you will be only sleeping in the hotel, and you need limited to no amenities; Then, this is the place to you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GuilhermeML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

Better than prior reviews. Maybe they took advice and updated. Certainly I found the Beach Hotel clean, spacious and comfortable and the staff helpful with some non-hotel related problems. The breakfast buffet was varied, generous and delicious; basic tea/coffee service in room. Maybe not a five star hotel but excellent value for the money. Location and views same as higher priced hotels and it had all that I needed for a weeks stay for a conference plus a couple extra days for tours..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 599Linda599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

If you are in Durban on business and looking for something basic then the Beach Hotel is your place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas_Genade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel does not have good first impressions. Standing from the outside, it looks like it is about to fall down and is in need of a full clean. This impression does not improve as you walk inside. The best looking part of the hotel is the lift! Cockroaches were walking everywhere, showers are located right next to hallways so there is little privacy as the windows are so thin. The inner courtyard section is hidden, thankfully, by a netting but parts of the windows are cracked. The rooms were decent sizes and comfortable but the air conditioning did not work and when we asked for it to be fixed they failed to. At night, if you are by the main road it is terrible! Noise leaks through to your room and you cannot sleep. On the first night 10 police cars ended up on the nearby road! The hotel's staff are friendly and nice and the restaruant is decent. Breakfast is buffet style and is the past part of this restaurant. However, overall it is not nice and will not be returning. The vaulue is decent and location right on the beach but move a few hundred yards up the road and you will find much better hotels!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveller10000_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We have just moved to Johannesburg for a year and took advantage of a long weekend by driving down to Durban. We checked into the Durban Beach hotel, which on first impressions was not that great. However, the staff in the hotel couldn't do enough to help us, the food was good, the room was clean although very basic. It is certainly a value for money hotel, right opposite the beach, close to UShaka world. The only downside to this hotel was the basement carpark, we paid for 3 nights parking but could only park there one night as the smell was unbearable. There is plenty of car parking outside the hotel and the car guards are only too willing to earn an extra 50bucks looking after your car through the night. We would certainly stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan71Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I'm a bit surprised of some reviews. For sure, it's not a luxury hotel, but I've seen worse in Europe and America.

Room was clean and spacious, bathroom would benefit from a makeover but were still ok. The front is certainly not very appealing and a facelift wouldn't hurt.

All in all, it really depends what you are looking for. If you want to stay one or two days to benefit from the beach activities (uShaka, casino, etc) and central Durban (whatever you may find appealing there...), this is a good, not too expensive place to stay. It seems to be popular amongst locals. Beach front is safer since World Cup but the area is still dodgy at night. Do not wander south (Point District) and west (Central Business District) by yourself, these are very dangerous areas at night, especially if you're not a local. Nightlife activities have move to Berea district so there isn't much to do around the hotel at night anyway.

If you travel with family (wife, kids), I wouldn't recommend, as I wouldn't recommend any place in the area, upscale or not. In that case, you may be better served north of the Umgeni river or even farther (Umhlanga Rocks, Ballito).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Beach Hotel is in dire need of refurbishing. But the location is good and the food is quite ok. The staff could be a bit more attentive though. We stayed one week to run the Comrades Marathon and got a very competitive room rate. Considering that the stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Comradesrunner2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodersons, Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2010

Thank you for your comments. We have recently upgraded the Beach Hotel and continually strive to improve our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#23 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
2.3 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#75 of 258 in Durban
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Beach Hotel

Address: 107 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: £54 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gooderson Beach Hotel is located right on the city's beachfront promenade, within walking distance of Durban's city centre. The hotel is also close to Durban's main tourist attractions, business district, shopping centres, restaurants and entertainment venues which makes it the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gooderson Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing