We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be renamed Beach HoVel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gooderson Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Should be renamed Beach HoVel”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Please don't even consider staying here! The SMELL was horrifying. Grime can hide from the eyes but not from the nose!!!

The area is dodgy and rundown. Not safe to walk around at all. The pavements outside were crawling with crowds of howling people.

The hotel is badly run down and needs a major overhaul. In fact to get rid of that smell it would probably need to be completely gutted.

Once we were in our room we managed to make alternative accommodation plans and THANKFULLY got out of there within fifteen minuets!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Zingaradurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    37
    31
    20
    19
See reviews for
29
24
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Nice position on the seafront, good breakfast with quite an ample choice, friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms, very affordable. The down side is that the rooms are very basic, would need quite a lot of maintenance and most important, not very clean. The towels and sheets we were given were dirty, bed cover also had seen better days....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Charlie7_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hotel staff was unfriendly especially the porters. The area is very unsafe, very dodge characters around- you couldn't just walk accross the road to the beach.
The bathroom was in a terrible state! White shower curtains were turning cream and had stains on it. The bedroom had a strong damp smell and bedding had a lot of fluffs which irritated my skin. Overall experience was just BAD!! I would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AyshaZoutenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Makhado,South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I arrive on thi Hotel during the Tourism Indaba 2012,checked in which took me 30 minutes of waiting just because the receptionist could not allocate my b oking which was booked and fully paid in advance by Tour operator.
What followed is that was taken to a room which was as if it has never slept one before,smelling of carpet,chipped mirror in the bathroom,the bath has got pink colour markings,that i was even afraid to use it,thanks God there was also a shower.
No remote for Tv,which I called the reception to assist me,the guy told me the Manager is going to have remotes ready on the following day which never happens,the Aircon remote was there,but guess what..... the aircon does not work.
This was our busy times that one expect to have good bath after a long day,a cool room,but at this Hotel this is a dream.
I don't see myself or either me referring someone to stay there.
But the staff was friendly and helpfull,thanks to Sis Dorothy....she was a wonderful woman and knows what she is doing there..

I think they should close that Hotel and refurbish everthing.

Room Tip: Maybe its better to see a room before you go in and choose the one which looks better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hlunngwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the doorman and friendly receptionists, who speedily checked us in and got us to our room. We did experience a couple of problems in our room (air con broke through the night and the tv had no reception), but when asked about this the staff were happy enough to move us to a different room. From then on we had no problems about the room itself. Although the street was noisy(what else is expected from a tourist based beach front) wasn't a bother to us as we had do so much throughout the days that we were able to sleep through anything.
The restaurant advertised that served the buffet meals was not open the whole time we stayed, although we were told it would be before we left. Also the hotel's bar and other restaurant was open and served good food, but we were overlooked with service because we were the only English people there, we were always last to be served even if we came in first.
The internet prices were ridiculous and the reception wasn't great, but to be fair we didn't use it alot as there was much more to do outside of the hotel.
I never experienced the hotel to be dirty, there were cleaners around all the time and the house keepers did a really good job.
The beach front itself is safe to walk down as there are lights everywhere and more police than tourists, the only problems are down the side streets but more fool you if you want to venture down there.
There's loads to do in KwaZulu-Natal and Durban is a great place to stay, this hotel is good for people who prefer to be out and about on holiday rather than cooped up in the room, but I wouldn't say it was as bad as other reviews have said. This is one of those hotels where you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The rooms looking out over the beach are noisy but have a fantastic view, so would always choose tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony6297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were charged more than quote, but we had to pay as we are from Cape Town and didn't have other accomodation. We had to pay extra for parking; was so bad you can hardly reverse in the parking area (in the basement). When we arrived back the evening, our paid, allocated parking bay was taken. When we queried this, we were told to look for other parking (which was not available). Breakfast : we'd had to wait 2hrs to be seated, so we had breakfast else. Beddding was filthy, my kids had to sleep on our bed as their beds reaked of urine. The carpets were dirty, aircon out of order, as well as the elevator..we couldn't wait to leave. I can't believe how this organisation was passed to operate as a hotel - filthy, delapitated...

Room Tip: Hotel is dirty, staff unfriendly and not helpful at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gietzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The hotel is very, very old and unclean. Breakfast not very good, internet ridiculously expensive. Close to the beach but the neighborhood is dangerous, ugly and there are people yelling in the streets at all hours of the night and early morning. Rooms for more than one person are very large, which is nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andreawwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 43 in Durban
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gooderson Tropicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Beach Hotel

Property: Gooderson Beach Hotel
Address: 107 OR Parade, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gooderson Beach Hotel is located right on the city's beachfront promenade, within walking distance of Durban's city centre. The hotel is also close to Durban's main tourist attractions, business district, shopping centres, restaurants and entertainment venues which makes it the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gooderson Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing