We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gooderson Beach Hotel
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Durban
1 review
“Had an awesome stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our self catering unit was stunning and perfect for a family holiday. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing and pleasant stay. The staff were incredibly friendly and efficient on top of it all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. Its lovely to hear that we met with your expectations. We will pass this onto our team so they can be recognized for their great service. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Beach Hotel and become your hotel of choice when traveling to Durban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    37
    31
    20
    20
See reviews for
30
24
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

please try to separate smoking and non smoking, i have sinus ,the place was filled with smoke ,people were smoking everywhere,i suffered a headache and my sinuses got worse from then up to today.I really like your hotel, just do corrections. The receptionist ,the Indian Guy,please try to be nice to people,smile,welcome us,that is not a funeral palour.
I will sure recommend the hotel and will come back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Winnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. Its really lovely to hear that you enjoy our hotel.

We do apologise that you experience sinus problems due to smoking. We will do our upmost best to control guest who smoke where they are not allowed. We have addressed the issue with our staff member regards friendliness.

We look forward welcoming you back to the Beach hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Thank you 4 everthng. This is a nice place theirs rooms are so big. There is a lot of space. And they good tooo. Ya and the other thing the outside of the buildng on top is not soo good. So please work on that than everthing is perfectoooo. Good. Just work on that soo that more people can consider your place. Great intro more people. Anyway service and rooms are sooo good

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nambonani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. Its lovely to hear that we met with your expectations. We will pass this onto our team so they can be recognized for their great service.

We are currently busy with renovations on our building.

Thank you for your loyal support, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is a decent three star hotel. It was clean, breakfast was fresh, but did not serve halaal food. Customer service at the hotel is what you would expect from a five-star hotel (I am a frequent traveller and was impressed!). The hallways and staircase need some refurbishment since the decor seemed very 1990s! The rooms are better in terms of decor, but do not expect anything glamorous. The location of the hotel is on the beach-front, close to the Garden Court Hotel on South Beach and adjacent to the Balmoral Hotel. The hotel provides secure parking in its garage at a price of 55 Rands a day.

Room Tip: The windows in the room really need to be washed. It is a pity that a hotel with such lovely sea-vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank . .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. Its lovely to hear that you had a great stay in Durban and that you were impress with our service. We will pass this onto our team so they can be recognized for their great service.

We do apologise that we did not meet your expectations regards the halaal food and windows. We are currently busy with renovations on the outside of the building, but will rectify this issue.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Beach Hotel and become your hotel of choice when traveling to Durban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

hostile receptionists..no smile. there was a terrible stench in the lobby. the room was clean and spacious but the noise from the nearby tarverns..drug addicts and prostitutes partying all night! my son was robbed of his cellphone in broad daylight just a few metres away from the hotel. the so-called buffet is very limited and you have to show them your room no. which is attached to the key everytime you enter their shabby dinning area! we stayed there for 6 nights but on the 5th night, the Indian male receptionist demanded to see my room no. and of course I told him to follow me or go straight to hell! the staff is generally hostile!
surprisingly, their room service is up-to-scratch and the restaurant downstairs serves great food!

Room Tip: side-facing rooms are the noisiest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smarties S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We wish to thank you for bringing to our attention the problems experienced by you on your recent visit to the Beach Hotel. We take all criticism, albeit negative, very seriously in our constant endeavour to improve standards and make our guests experience all the more pleasurable. We have discussed in detail the concerns raised by you with the relevant staff, and rectified these issues.

For security reasons we do request your room nr and card at the dining room. We are also sorry for your sons loss of his cell phone. We have send the police this update on crime.

We apologise once again for any invoncenience caused and hope to welcome you back in the future and that Beach Hotel will be your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the Beach Hotel, but we ate there often enough after spending some time on the beach. The waiters are very friendly but professional and serve you quickly, even though the place was packed every time we ate. The beef bunnies are delicious and my SA friend says they are the best in Durban. They are cheap too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for the great feedback and we are so glad that we exceeded your expectations. We will pass this onto our team so they can be recognized for their great service. We hope to become your hotel of choice when traveling to Durban and look forward to welcome you and the family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christmas Island, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I am at the tail end of a 2 year world trip and very much enjoyed my stay at the Beach Hotel...I had reservations about staying but after my first night (no scratching in bed) I decided that this was the place for me. Yes it's old and I'm not fussed on carpeted floors, the linen isn't as white as other places but seriously I think the housekeepers did a great job. I was given a good price and the R55 for secure parking per day was nothing. Breakfast was great, staff were fantastic and the 'unsafe' area was a joy to discover. Obviously everyone has different expectations but for me location, price and a comfy, clean bed/room were what kept me here for 5 days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulau61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay at our Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you found the Hotel facilities enjoyable.

We know you have many choices when it comes to selecting accommodation, and we do hope that you will continue to make use of the Beach Hotel for your travel needs.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Beach Hotel

Property: Gooderson Beach Hotel
Address: 107 OR Parade, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gooderson Beach Hotel is located right on the city's beachfront promenade, within walking distance of Durban's city centre. The hotel is also close to Durban's main tourist attractions, business district, shopping centres, restaurants and entertainment venues which makes it the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gooderson Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing