We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gooderson Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gooderson Beach Hotel
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Mokopane, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Had a nice stay but are not sure if I will go back again. .. The lifts didn't work, no fridge in room...realy need some renovation. ..especially the bathrooms.The breakfast is fit for a king but the scrambeld eggs had water in and the sausages had no taste. Wi-fi is free but was unstable. .. Enough of the negative. ..The location is great. ..and so is the view from the room. The aircorn is very comfortable, and the cleaning ladies do good work. The rates are very reasonable! Will recommend it for groups!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bosveldboytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing the problems to our attention. We will look into this matter and rectify the problem immediately. The lift has been fixed by Kone. We look forward welcoming you back very soon at the Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    36
    30
    19
    18
See reviews for
29
24
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GDYNIA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The rooms were clean ,but desperately in need of renovation as soon as possible,especially bathroom.
In the room air condition was working well.There were tea and coffee facilities ,but no fridge ,no mini bar.Hotel is described as being near the beach,but you've to cross two busy streets to get to the beach to find the sign that swimming is forbidden, because of the sharks(there are no safety nets at sea )You've to pay for internet access 6 $ per hr and the connection is very weak.The neighborhood is not save ,especially at night time.You should avoid going out in the evening.On the Hotel website,the breakfast buffet looks quite nice,in reality you get one type of cheese,two kinds of meat, some fried sausages and scrambled or boiled eggs.If you've have to stay in this hotel be warned that the lift is often out of order,so it's better to choose ground floor room :). To get to the communal swimming pool you have to cross couple busy streets ,because this is no swimming pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HIT_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Valued guest.

We wish to thank you for bringing to our attention the problems experienced by you on your recent visit to the Beach Hotel. We take all criticism, albeit negative, very seriously in our constant endeavour to improve standards and make our guests experience all the more pleasurable.

We do not charge our guests for wifi as it is part of our service.

We apologise once again for any invoncenience caused and hope to welcome you back in the future and that Beach Hotel will be your hotel of choice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Wow Beach Hotel is a lovely place on the Durban Golden Mile. The rooms are so perfectly clean, the dstv bouquet not bad at all. Good for family. There is ironing room. Hair dryers. The buffet breakfast mmmmmmmmmmm mouthwatering.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makana544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased to hear that we met your expectations. We are looking forward welcoming you back very soon and become your hote of choice when visiting Durban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

WoW, I am so happy that my family came and went away happy too, my bad though...(the Plasmas only came in the day I left....LMAO!). Over All, Beach Hotel KE YONA!

Although my family was on Holiday, me I had to wake up and go to work for those 5 days, I never enjoyed well with them... May Beach Hotel Management please maintain their Elevator well since it kept passing floor 4 even though I pressed the button several times, and the mats on passage ways really not AYOBA in this decade, perhaps a good looking tile instead!!!

Room Tip: Never Stay ON TOP FLOORS, Lift passes other floors without stopping even if you pressed your floor n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ISHMIZZAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing the problems to our attention. We will look into this matter and rectify the problem immediately. We look forward welcoming you back very soon at the Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eMalahleni, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel need seriously renovation , the location is good , housekeeping need to be more hands on on the rooms , reception staff was really helpful , reception area need face lift , breakfast was okay ,

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing room when making the booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Thulang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We wish to thank you for bringing to our attention the problems experienced by you on your recent visit to the Beach Hotel. We take all criticism, albeit negative, very seriously in our constant endeavour to improve standards and make our guests experience all the more pleasurable. We have discussed in detail the concerns raised by you with the relevant staff, and rectified these issues. We are currently busy with renovations on our building and hope to be completed soon. We are looking forward welcoming you back very soon and become your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I had a great experience staying at the Beach Hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient, they asked all the right questions like, Do you require parking, Do you need assistence with your luggage. When in the room I was in need of a two pin adaptor for the printer and all it took was a call to reception and 3 minutes later it was there. There info booklet in the rooms are very helpful. I would definetly recomend Beach Hotel to any travellers heading down south. I'LL BE BACK

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased to hear that we met your expectations and will defnitely pass this onto our staff so they can be recognized for their great service. We are looking forward welcoming you back very soon and become your hote of choice when visiting Durban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A morning visit to the beach directly from Gauteng, ended up being a spontaneous, relaxing and exciting evening and night - thanks to beach hotel. They were able to accommodate us on short notice and great rates compared to all other accommodation available on the beach front on that day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nirusha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. Its lovely to hear that we met your expectations. We will pass this onto our team so they can be recognized for their great service. We are looking forward welcoming you back to the Beach Hotel and become your hotel of choice when traveling to Durban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Beach Hotel

Property: Gooderson Beach Hotel
Address: 107 OR Parade, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gooderson Beach Hotel is located right on the city's beachfront promenade, within walking distance of Durban's city centre. The hotel is also close to Durban's main tourist attractions, business district, shopping centres, restaurants and entertainment venues which makes it the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gooderson Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing