We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gooderson Beach Hotel
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Prime Location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Situated on the Durban beachfront with sunny sea facing rooms. Restaurants and Pubs all in easy walking distance as is the Kingsmead cricket stadium for sports lovers. Spacious rooms. Also have self catering rooms available. Competitively priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea. This also overlooks part of the amusement park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank des h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    37
    31
    20
    20
See reviews for
30
24
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I got dropped off from the vessel I was working on and put in this hotel. Looking at it from the outside it didn't look like much. But once we where booked in it was great just what you need after so long at sea. Rooms where great nice and big nice bath and shower area. The only down side was you didn't have wifi in the room you had to keep going down stairs ground or first floor for the wiffi.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I paid $67 for a "guaranteed triple," which meant two double beds for three people. That's what i wanted. What I got was a large room with two double beds and a separate room down a little hall with a single bed. The extra room had its own window and door--perfect! The window in the main room offered a view of the Indian Ocean if we turned a little bit. The space was great and beyond what I expected. It was clean and had no smells.
The desk staff was friendly and helpful and had good English.
The breakfast buffet was generous and varied and delicious.
Now for the negatives. The room had been retrofitted with an air conditioner mounted up on the wall. It ran just fine and cooled the room quickly. However, it drained onto the carpet.
The noise from outside was inescapable. We could hear the music from the beach, noise from the hotel's outdoor restaurant, and traffic--both motor and pedestrian--far into the night. Also, we heard the traffic bright and early before dawn the next morning.
The elevator was problematic. It stopped directly on our floor only once of the several times we used it. When it stopped on the first floor, we had to push the door open.
Would we stay again? Even for this price for this much space, probably not.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Long Lake, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Property is older, but location is perfect. Staff very helpful. Clean and windows open on to the ocean. Lovely sunrise spot. Breakfast dining room very nice, buffet breakfast. Underground secure parking. Liked the hotel very much.

Room Tip: choose upper floors for larger view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Recently check out of the Beach Hotel and the stay was amazing. Rooms are spacious with two "double beds", flat screen tv, split aircondition and room service for 14hrs. The stair cases are very clean,with neat new carpet -should you decide not to use the lift.

Breakfast is very good compared to the known (narrow choice) South African environment.

Most of the rooms are Beach facing and the view is spectecular. The road next to the hotel has light traffic which makes the rooms soundless. Under cover parking is R60 per night but next to the hotel *streetwise* is free with 24 hour security personell who also help with parking. The car can not be any safer - I park by the street just like all my South African trips.

Shops and other amenities are near by. One does not need transport to stay here. The Rea-via or people mover bus or whatever it is called has a route arround the hotel at R10 full day pass

I did not visit the Pier 7 although it sounded vibey.Its the only part which is" Child restrictive". I will visit it in future with my grown up nauthy friends.

The Hotel screams renovations from outside but hey - inside is good. There are signs that renovations are done in phases.

If you need accommodation in a 3 star hotel by the beach - this is the place. If you have a child or coming with family, this is the place.

NB: The Higher your room is the better the view. Was at the 5th floor.

K.Magagula

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingSuthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokopane, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Had a nice stay but are not sure if I will go back again. .. The lifts didn't work, no fridge in room...realy need some renovation. ..especially the bathrooms.The breakfast is fit for a king but the scrambeld eggs had water in and the sausages had no taste. Wi-fi is free but was unstable. .. Enough of the negative. ..The location is great. ..and so is the view from the room. The aircorn is very comfortable, and the cleaning ladies do good work. The rates are very reasonable! Will recommend it for groups!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bosveldboytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing the problems to our attention. We will look into this matter and rectify the problem immediately. The lift has been fixed by Kone. We look forward welcoming you back very soon at the Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDYNIA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The rooms were clean ,but desperately in need of renovation as soon as possible,especially bathroom.
In the room air condition was working well.There were tea and coffee facilities ,but no fridge ,no mini bar.Hotel is described as being near the beach,but you've to cross two busy streets to get to the beach to find the sign that swimming is forbidden, because of the sharks(there are no safety nets at sea )You've to pay for internet access 6 $ per hr and the connection is very weak.The neighborhood is not save ,especially at night time.You should avoid going out in the evening.On the Hotel website,the breakfast buffet looks quite nice,in reality you get one type of cheese,two kinds of meat, some fried sausages and scrambled or boiled eggs.If you've have to stay in this hotel be warned that the lift is often out of order,so it's better to choose ground floor room :). To get to the communal swimming pool you have to cross couple busy streets ,because this is no swimming pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIT_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Valued guest.

We wish to thank you for bringing to our attention the problems experienced by you on your recent visit to the Beach Hotel. We take all criticism, albeit negative, very seriously in our constant endeavour to improve standards and make our guests experience all the more pleasurable.

We do not charge our guests for wifi as it is part of our service.

We apologise once again for any invoncenience caused and hope to welcome you back in the future and that Beach Hotel will be your hotel of choice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Beach Hotel

Property: Gooderson Beach Hotel
Address: 107 OR Parade, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gooderson Beach Hotel is located right on the city's beachfront promenade, within walking distance of Durban's city centre. The hotel is also close to Durban's main tourist attractions, business district, shopping centres, restaurants and entertainment venues which makes it the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gooderson Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing