We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you're looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gooderson Beach Hotel
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I'm a bit surprised of some reviews. For sure, it's not a luxury hotel, but I've seen worse in Europe and America.

Room was clean and spacious, bathroom would benefit from a makeover but were still ok. The front is certainly not very appealing and a facelift wouldn't hurt.

All in all, it really depends what you are looking for. If you want to stay one or two days to benefit from the beach activities (uShaka, casino, etc) and central Durban (whatever you may find appealing there...), this is a good, not too expensive place to stay. It seems to be popular amongst locals. Beach front is safer since World Cup but the area is still dodgy at night. Do not wander south (Point District) and west (Central Business District) by yourself, these are very dangerous areas at night, especially if you're not a local. Nightlife activities have move to Berea district so there isn't much to do around the hotel at night anyway.

If you travel with family (wife, kids), I wouldn't recommend, as I wouldn't recommend any place in the area, upscale or not. In that case, you may be better served north of the Umgeni river or even farther (Umhlanga Rocks, Ballito).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Beach Hotel is in dire need of refurbishing. But the location is good and the food is quite ok. The staff could be a bit more attentive though. We stayed one week to run the Comrades Marathon and got a very competitive room rate. Considering that the stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Comradesrunner2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodersons, Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2010

Thank you for your comments. We have recently upgraded the Beach Hotel and continually strive to improve our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

What a disgrace? The Beach Hotel should be demolished"
Roaches running around in the cupboards, No bathroom curtains, so shower in the dark unless off course you want the people in the streets to have a birds eye view? You can't bath the drain is blocked.....? The room stinks, the TV does'nt work....?
Breakfast, well to be honest when i saw the state of the so called Dinning Room, I refused to eat, it's fulthy, the staff look as though they are dead, all they need to do is fall-over.
Im demanding a refund, R1800.00 for two days for that horrific place.....NO! NO! the website should be upgraded, it's false?

Arlene & Paul Cape Town

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArleneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed at the Beach hotel in Feb 2010 as part of a large school group. We would advise not staying above the ground floor as the lifts were crap. A group of 12 pupils were stuck in the lift for two hours during our stay. The hotel staff were hopeless in dealing with the situation. The emergency services were only called at the last minute and at the request of school staff. It was a traumatic experience for the pupils trapped inside and we received no apologies or compensation from the hotel management. We were blamed for having too many pupils in the lift yet the sign inside said a maximum of 13 people. It was not until a few days later after the lift got stuck again that the lifts were deemed out of order. The lifts in the hotel got stuck a total of 4 times during our stay. As we were on the 8th floor it was very tiring.

The bar also closed before 10 o'clock every night - even on a saturday night! The rooms and the bathroom also needed updating.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lwatson_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Probably the worst hotel on the seafront.Big enough room but window rattled when the wind got up.Door to room did not seem very secure at the best of times.Bathroom very dated tiles about to come off the wall in some places. The shower cubicle wasnt big enough and the shower curtain was dirty.Safe deposit boxs in reception seemed very flimsy.The lift never seemed to work above the sixth floor.On the plus side the staff were very helpful.The hotel could do with a complete refit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stickleyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 11 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I would advice all not to even think about this hotel, just returned 2 days back from Durban and the hotel was a disaster.

We entered the hotel lobby, which was smelling bad.We were asked to pay for parking as well. The hotel guys were messy and tacky.

During checking in met this Australian guy who told us that 2 weeks back all his luggage,clothes, toiltetries, passport, money, credit cards and laptop were stolen from the room. No electronic locks.

At this point my wife and i panciked and DID NOT check in to this hotel.

We lost all 4200 rupees for the booking we had made(about 80 US dollars/700 Rand) and we finally checked into another hotel.

Would suggest all not to make a mistake, trust me guys i dont exxagerate and am not lying. Just a very bad and scary experience.I think the website thru which we booked (www.cleartrip.com) needs to verify their hotels on the site and not spoil there image.

I make all my bookings thru them and alsp booked all flight to SA on this website, i dont think will do it again. They have lost me as a customer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taurus2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
2.3 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#70 of 256 in Durban
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Beach Hotel

Address: 107 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: £57 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gooderson Beach Hotel is located right on the city's beachfront promenade, within walking distance of Durban's city centre. The hotel is also close to Durban's main tourist attractions, business district, shopping centres, restaurants and entertainment venues which makes it the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gooderson Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing