We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money hotel, excellent & friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gooderson Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gooderson Beach Hotel
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel, excellent & friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We have just moved to Johannesburg for a year and took advantage of a long weekend by driving down to Durban. We checked into the Durban Beach hotel, which on first impressions was not that great. However, the staff in the hotel couldn't do enough to help us, the food was good, the room was clean although very basic. It is certainly a value for money hotel, right opposite the beach, close to UShaka world. The only downside to this hotel was the basement carpark, we paid for 3 nights parking but could only park there one night as the smell was unbearable. There is plenty of car parking outside the hotel and the car guards are only too willing to earn an extra 50bucks looking after your car through the night. We would certainly stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan71Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    36
    30
    19
    18
See reviews for
29
24
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

I'm a bit surprised of some reviews. For sure, it's not a luxury hotel, but I've seen worse in Europe and America.

Room was clean and spacious, bathroom would benefit from a makeover but were still ok. The front is certainly not very appealing and a facelift wouldn't hurt.

All in all, it really depends what you are looking for. If you want to stay one or two days to benefit from the beach activities (uShaka, casino, etc) and central Durban (whatever you may find appealing there...), this is a good, not too expensive place to stay. It seems to be popular amongst locals. Beach front is safer since World Cup but the area is still dodgy at night. Do not wander south (Point District) and west (Central Business District) by yourself, these are very dangerous areas at night, especially if you're not a local. Nightlife activities have move to Berea district so there isn't much to do around the hotel at night anyway.

If you travel with family (wife, kids), I wouldn't recommend, as I wouldn't recommend any place in the area, upscale or not. In that case, you may be better served north of the Umgeni river or even farther (Umhlanga Rocks, Ballito).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Beach Hotel is in dire need of refurbishing. But the location is good and the food is quite ok. The staff could be a bit more attentive though. We stayed one week to run the Comrades Marathon and got a very competitive room rate. Considering that the stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comradesrunner2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodersons, Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Thank you for your comments. We have recently upgraded the Beach Hotel and continually strive to improve our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

What a disgrace? The Beach Hotel should be demolished"
Roaches running around in the cupboards, No bathroom curtains, so shower in the dark unless off course you want the people in the streets to have a birds eye view? You can't bath the drain is blocked.....? The room stinks, the TV does'nt work....?
Breakfast, well to be honest when i saw the state of the so called Dinning Room, I refused to eat, it's fulthy, the staff look as though they are dead, all they need to do is fall-over.
Im demanding a refund, R1800.00 for two days for that horrific place.....NO! NO! the website should be upgraded, it's false?

Arlene & Paul Cape Town

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArleneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed at the Beach hotel in Feb 2010 as part of a large school group. We would advise not staying above the ground floor as the lifts were crap. A group of 12 pupils were stuck in the lift for two hours during our stay. The hotel staff were hopeless in dealing with the situation. The emergency services were only called at the last minute and at the request of school staff. It was a traumatic experience for the pupils trapped inside and we received no apologies or compensation from the hotel management. We were blamed for having too many pupils in the lift yet the sign inside said a maximum of 13 people. It was not until a few days later after the lift got stuck again that the lifts were deemed out of order. The lifts in the hotel got stuck a total of 4 times during our stay. As we were on the 8th floor it was very tiring.

The bar also closed before 10 o'clock every night - even on a saturday night! The rooms and the bathroom also needed updating.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwatson_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gornal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Probably the worst hotel on the seafront.Big enough room but window rattled when the wind got up.Door to room did not seem very secure at the best of times.Bathroom very dated tiles about to come off the wall in some places. The shower cubicle wasnt big enough and the shower curtain was dirty.Safe deposit boxs in reception seemed very flimsy.The lift never seemed to work above the sixth floor.On the plus side the staff were very helpful.The hotel could do with a complete refit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stickleyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Beach Hotel

Property: Gooderson Beach Hotel
Address: 107 OR Parade, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gooderson Beach Hotel is located right on the city's beachfront promenade, within walking distance of Durban's city centre. The hotel is also close to Durban's main tourist attractions, business district, shopping centres, restaurants and entertainment venues which makes it the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gooderson Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing