We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Prices very good and value for money.more coffee and tea required in rooms.Smoking rooms to be available.Parking must be reserved with booking.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank RUDI V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    223
    148
    65
    62
See reviews for
142
152
37
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed here week end 19 to 21 October 2012. Location superb. Very convenient and stunning view from sea facing rooms. Good value for money. Problems however with parking arrangements where bays were double booked and I was moved around four times, quite noisy cleaning staff early in the morning on 14th floor and long wait for breakfast seating. Good variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Logan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had a lovely stay here. We booked from Monday to Thursday with the full buffet breakfast included. The rooms are functional and the bathroom is beautiful. Breakfast was wonderful each morning with a big variety to chose from. We ordered room service almost every night and the food was superb. It is close to most facilities and we enjoyed every moment. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandiAndLovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here on 22 september 2012 for 2 nights. First stay at blue waters and last. The renovated deluxe rooms are average compared to other hotels on the beachfront.I fear at the thought of what the non deluxe rooms are like. The hot water stopped while my wife had shampoo in her hair. Lifts go out of order. Asked if they had a baked cheese cake, ordered it, received a fridge cheese cake. When I complained I was told by room service that they never heard of a "baked" cheese cake. Residents only lounge is old and the tables were absolutely filthy...I took the time to examine them. The rooms have zero noise insulation and we heard people screaming in the passage late at night and in the morning. At breakfast the tables are not cleaned very well. Delay in replacing empty dishes. Eggs and ham omlettes fried on the same grill. That's contamination for guests who do not eat ham. The staff generally are quiet friendly especially the lady who makes the toast at breakfast. The views are very good. Unfortunately the negatives far outweigh the good and for that reason I would not return to this hotel nor recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Denfield, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

yeah, what to say... we stayed here with a group of 7 for business, but wouldn't do it again. I had a fair room with a great shower. If there was hot water.... stayed here for 6 nights and 3 nights no hot water is a no-go. they normally provide paid internet, though I never understood why I have to pay for internet when television is free... Room odours are a nuisance, but might be unavoidable with sea-side that close. Sea view is nice
Then internet was down due to "telkom" issues. Down for 4 days? have a back up please.... Certainly for such a big hotel.
Breakfast though was a pleasure. Great choice of food and fabulous staff.
Value for money? don't think so. take a B&B out of town and you're better off.

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view and a new shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions simply because of its location and value for money.
It is situated across the road from a lovely,and clean beach that attracts,surfers,wind surfers and para gliders,but is never too crowded even at the weekend when the life savers practise or have competitions.
It is also a family orientated beach where families with young children feel safe to sunbathe and play in the sea,the beach area was upgraded for the World Cup in South Africa and it a very pleasant place to go.
Blue Waters Hotel is an older type of establishment and has a certain amount of charm about it,on saying that it does not mean the management and staff are not world class,they are in the process of upgrading and maintaining the hotel to the highest standards,have installed new lifts and upgrading all the rooms.
If you want to have a good experience in Durban stay here ..............

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Property: Blue Waters Hotel
Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing