We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

After a long day leaving Portz Eliizabeth and arriving to Durban at night we took a taxi because hotel didn't offer airport service (we wanted to pay but still not available)

We arrived to the hotel at 23:00 and the front desk did not help us at all, he dont find our booking, there is computer waiting and more terrible issues. After more than an hour he asked for creditcard because he cannot find the reservation.

Than we received rooms - at the 5th floor witch is not renovated and looks like hell. than we can really upset again and he gave us after 90 minutes at 12:30 good rooms at the 9th floow with view.

The hotel is okay, but the service was sooo bad that I really do not recomand anyone to visit this hotel!

Room Tip: 9th floor is already renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ניר ש
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    213
    136
    58
    59
See reviews for
133
143
34
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed 5 nights, booked via Expedia.

We had a corner room, great view, but no wifi, even after paying for the very expensive and very slow wifi. Constant hang ups and disconnects and having to retry all the time chewed up our allowance, having to repurchase time and time again. Moden travel relies on WWW so this was a very very frustrating hurdle to jump just to manage our travels.

Bathrooms have windows that face hallway allowing all the passing foot traffic and lift waiting area noise into the room 24/7.

Our room had the adjoining room access doors. Could hear EVERYTHING the neighbours were doing. Not very private and very noisy.

The indoor pool was TERRIBLE. Pretty much an old non-heated (FREEZING) dirty pool, full of dirst/sand on the bottom located in a disused ballroom. We couldn't here any pumps or filters working, so only dipped our feet. No deckchairs and we had to find the light switch for the room ourself just to see where we were.

Buffet breakfast was pretty good in the grand old world dining room/restaurant with nice views over the esplanade to the beach. The service here was fine.

Room was ok, except aircon units are very old and noisy, so had to turn them off to sleep resulting in stifling humidity discomfort. Bathroom worn and has plenty of black mould in grout lines in shower recess.

No fridge in room. UNBELIEVABLE. What hotel has no fridges, especially in a warm/humid location????!!!!

Pizzas in the bar area and courtyard on the ground floor were cheap, as were the drinks along with pretty good service.

Used the laundry/ironing service and was cheap and cheerful and quick. Worthy of a good tip those ladies!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that wifi actually reaches and away from lifts. Front corner rooms for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed 7 nights and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this establishment. Especially the food offering was of high quality - from room service to breakfast and the great value pizzas in the bar. For the excellent rate, I can recommend it time and again and will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at the Blue Waters hotel the past 3 days. The location is perfect, the view is fantastic!
The newly upgraded beachfront and promenade( courtesy of 2010 Soccer Worldcup) makes Durban a great holiday destination.The Blue Waters is just across the street from the beach and promenade.
The reservation was done through Agoda (yes, there was a glitch), but we resolved that before arrival.
Reception was helpful and friendly, the breakfast is buffet style with a good variety.
But...we stayed in a newly renovated De-Luxe room and although the fixtures and fittings were new, as were the floortiles and bathroom.Unfortunately the age still shows with paint peeling as a result of damp / mould and the wooden doors needed attention.The bedding was crisp and nice, but the curtains were stained.
However, we still had a great time at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have stayed at the blue water many times and my last experience was one of a total disaster. They were in the process of renovating but my issue has nothing to do with the renovations. After a stunning cruise out into the Indian ocean we arrived at the blue waters hotel to check in. we were sent to our room on the 15th floor and upon entering the carpets smelt disgusting and i ordered room service to sort out the smell and the state the room was in. I requested o be moved but they were unable to do so as the hotel was full. I sent a letter to the Manager Andre and to date have had no reply to my letter. I am a very understanding guest and will always allow a place to rectify issues as we are all human and problems do arise however if you send in a written complaint the least i would expect is a reply. needless to say i will not be staying at the blue waters hotel ever again and will recommend all my friends and family to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: book floor 17 and above as these room are all renovated but i would advice to look elsewhere before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Umtentweni
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

The location of this hotel is very good. Across the road from the beach and the lovely promenade that goes along the whole Durban beachfront.
The room was ok - not bad, but not exceptional. It was clean with good toiletries, a Lindt chocolate on the bed and tea/coffee making facilities. We were on the 12th floor so the view was beautiful.
It was very noisy - from other guests. I think it is due to the older style of the hotel and it doesn't have any sort of noise insulation at all.
The breakfast was very good and the service in the bar was very good. The dinner buffet was very nice however they ran out of food - simple things like veggies and the roast meat. I would have thought they would always make sure there is enough food on the buffet at all times.
The hotel is old and one can see that they are trying to upgraded all the time and this kind of thing does take time to do. The carpets in the main areas are threadbare and need to be replaced and the hotel also smells old.
For a one or two night stay in a good location - it isn't a bad choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors so you get a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I don't normally write reviews, but felt compelled to in this case to warn people against staying at this hotel. I made the mistake of leaving my phone charging in my room and came back to find both the charger and phone gone. I then went down every morning and night to speak to many different duty managers about their progress of finding out when anyone had accessed the room but each time was told "I'm so sorry to hear about that" and nothing happened. Eventually spoke to an actual manager who repeated the "sorry to hear that" but offered nothing as compensation, not even a free drink at the bar, literally nothing. I was left disgusted by this experience and cannot recommend NOT staying at this hotel more - STAY AWAY

Room Tip: stay in a room with a strong lock and safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Property: Blue Waters Hotel
Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing