We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“right facing the beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Mauritius
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“right facing the beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

quite an old hotel with renovation works going on at the moment with lots of noise and dust. otherwise rooms are spacious and breakfast is good. hotel is almost on the beach and less than 1km to the suncoast casino and some food court and some 10 minutes drive to the Ushaka marine park. however wifi is not to the standard with router being placed far from rooms where sometimes you lose connectivity.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    213
    136
    58
    59
See reviews for
133
143
34
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

though there were some issues with being picked from the airport the stay was very good. the full buffets were amazing with excellent deserts, but on the days it was a half buffet, or English buffet, the variety was a little lacking.
as a vegetarian I would have liked more variety in the salad dressings offered.
aside from these issues, it was definitely worth every penny! the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were awesome, the reception was warm.
I would definitely go back there if I go to Durban again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

A very comfortable hotel...It meets all the basic need..
Its right on the beachfront which makes it a plus...with all the renovations it has improved vastly...Staff extremely friendly and most helpful....
Breakfast offered a variety of treats..it was very good...
The rooms were large and beds comfortable.

Will definately stay there again..

Room Tip: Ask for a front sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We got married at this Hotel 17 years ago and still using it every time we go to Durban. During their renovations it was a bit hectic, but it seems normal again. Tip - book early during school breaks and check in early to get Hotel parking. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johannes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked at the Blue Waters holtel in Durban, stayed there may times before, this time the experience was diffirent.

We called to ask for a early check in as driving all morning from Johannesburg, we were so tired, just needed to freshen up, unfortunately we were not allowed to check -in before 2.00pm.
The lifts were out of order, and they didnt even organised a porter to take our bags to our room.

The place is in a mess because of the renovation that is currently taking place there.
The noise is really bad all day , the room that was given to us is a corner unit where we could hear all the noise from the other rooms all day and noght long, eg: the showers going on and the kids running up and down.
the service is going down,

Building rubble all over the stairs cases really not a pleasant place to stay if you want a peace and quiet .
Breakfast is a such a mission, you can find a place to sit because it was packed , nobody bothers to seave you coffee, got to keep asking, the minuted you get up from your table to dish up your food , your table is taken by other guest.,

We were also moved around telling us those tables were booked for some other people.

On making a reservation i requested a full facing room that was given to me was a partial sea view, and instead we looging into the dump area.
There front desk or reception women are not helpful and very unfriendly.

I dont think i would go back there again.

Room Tip: They have a indoor pool that nobody uses because it ice cold. You are not even told about the sona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reddygirl312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was my first stay-over to The Blue Waters Hotel and I can recommend and honestly confirm what a memorable and pleasurable stay I had.
All the staff at the Blue Waters Hotel was very friendly and professional at all times. I will definitely be visiting soon and this time, bringing my family along :) With the ocean and the places so close and the people mover bus on route to take you where-ever you need to go, I could not have chose a better place :) Well Done BWH :)

Room Tip: Definitely, the 17th floor - and without a doubt - sea view facing , of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Raymond Ndou and Phophi Mudau we are couples from Gauteng we stayed for 4 days the hotel is next to Moses Mabida,Southcoast casino,the beach is by the door of the hotel,ushaka marine not far . Best baffer breakfast and competative prices but there are two things they have to improve the Dinner it must accomodate everyone not sea food only and the Dstv service must improve I must feel the best out of the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond and Phophi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Property: Blue Waters Hotel
Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing