We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place at the beachfront”
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Blue waters is well located at the beachfront in Durban, where you can wander around, swim and jog without safety issues. It is a five minute walk to the sun coast casino, a gambling and family entertainment place. Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets are excellent. There is a nice bar at street level where you can sit indoors as well as outdoors in a small garden. During my stay the hotel was under renovation, therefore rooms were rather cheap, but a bit of a chaos around elevators.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gueckedou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Waters Hotel. There was noise starting at 7am due to renovations but it did not disrupt our vacation. Breakfast had an extensive choice of excellent food. Staff friendly, efficient and helpful. Good location on waterfront with kilometers of beautiful beaches. Walking distance to many restaurants. Felt very safe during the day, took taxi at night.Only negative is Wifi not free and not always up to par.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 7th floor with no fridge. Upon return had a room on 15th floor with fridge, much a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

we had a wonderful time at the blue waters hotel, staff was extremely friendly and efficient. The breakfast was to die for, everything one could need for breakfast is available and staff was very helpful.

There is a problem with housekeeping as we were left without towels after our room had been serviced but we called and they were brought up.

The Sunday morning we had no hot water but it was up and running within half an hour.

overall the service was great, I definetely would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalaveigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I could have said the experience I had at the Blue Waters Hotel was average, but with the commotion and disrespect from the Dining Room Manager on 24 October 2013, I was so dissapointed and will never recommend the hotel to anyone.

There were different groups at the dining hall for lunch, howver I noticed different, especially racial discriminatory treatment. Apparently there is a standing hotel policy stipulating that drinks served to the hotel patrons must be be opened.

However as I observed the waiters, including the manager on duty that day did not observe this policy when it came to a certain group either on perceived status or colour. Others were served drinks that are sealed and others even when humble requesting were informed the policy states you cannot have such an exception to the rule.

My comment is made to recommend that if rules or policies are made they are made to apply to all and be implemented properly without reference to either colour, status or any form differentiating criteria. I was dissapointed and due to the dissapointment note as well the few floors that are dusty and a health hazard because in one way or another they are used despite the state they are in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maphumi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

quite an old hotel with renovation works going on at the moment with lots of noise and dust. otherwise rooms are spacious and breakfast is good. hotel is almost on the beach and less than 1km to the suncoast casino and some food court and some 10 minutes drive to the Ushaka marine park. however wifi is not to the standard with router being placed far from rooms where sometimes you lose connectivity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rishy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

though there were some issues with being picked from the airport the stay was very good. the full buffets were amazing with excellent deserts, but on the days it was a half buffet, or English buffet, the variety was a little lacking.
as a vegetarian I would have liked more variety in the salad dressings offered.
aside from these issues, it was definitely worth every penny! the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were awesome, the reception was warm.
I would definitely go back there if I go to Durban again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A very comfortable hotel...It meets all the basic need..
Its right on the beachfront which makes it a plus...with all the renovations it has improved vastly...Staff extremely friendly and most helpful....
Breakfast offered a variety of treats..it was very good...
The rooms were large and beds comfortable.

Will definately stay there again..

Room Tip: Ask for a front sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatima786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#12 of 44 in Durban
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 44 in Durban
102 reviews
1 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Edward
2.3 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £47 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing