We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blue waters is a disgrace”
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Durban
johannesburg
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“blue waters is a disgrace”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Apparently staying at this hotel for 9 nights makes no difference to blue waters staff. A 12 noon check out was confirmed by the duty manager on sunday and on Monday , the receptionist insisted that I should checkout at 11 the latest. Do u lie to all your customers ? I could have stayed for 20 nights and it wouldn't have made a difference. Also a 14th floor room was supposedly "reserved " on the day of checkin when phoning to confirm but 10th floor given on checkin. Why should I continue to support a hotel that treats regular returining guests like dirt? never again. I blame the staff, duty manager and general manager for this. Do not trust this hotel.

Room Tip: check in at garden court
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    222
    147
    64
    61
See reviews for
140
152
36
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have stayed at the Blue Waters recently on my educational trip and it was on point. Got the best deal for three day with Breakfast. Rooms have been refurbished with LCD TV, nice work table and a chair, coffee making facility and a big bath room (shower).

The breakfast is huge, for a "South African restaurant", with nice big sausages (another not so South African feature). I pity myself for my tight schedule which deprived me the chance to enjoy breakfast.

Well located for travelling Durban city with public transport next door at R4. When travelling back you just say North Beach and you in the Hotel in a flash.

The view from the room is breath-taking. If you are from a landlocked country like myself you really have to stay in room 813 - perfect.

Internet was an issue from my room and its the only thing that management must work on!!!

From Hotelier to Hotelier = The bar staff at the ground floor were tops in terms of friendliness and openness. The Host in the breakfast room -male dark is also good with people. Lausanne Naidoo at reception can not be left out - she connects well and is very good.

You can choose a 5 star hotel if you have money and willing to spend unnecessarily, otherwise use Blue waters. The Hotel is very good and I will be returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingSuthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My family and I have been booking @ bluewaters for the last 5 years but this was my last year I stay there. Rooms we clean but service @ the breakfast was terrible. I understand they are busy but at least put a smile on your face and be pleasent.my reson for not booking ere again is due to the lack of friendlyness from all staff.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haseenaxO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What an excellent service you guys offer! from the reservations, dealing with Nicky to checking in and checking out with the receptionist (forgot her name, but I think it was Lungi of not mistaken)...the rooms are very clean, we received more than we expected. Being in the same industry, you guys exceeded my expectations....we really had fun and will definately recomment your hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boitumelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The major pro to the hotel is... You guessed. .. the location. Right on the esplanade and within 150m of the sea and surf.
●Average rooms
●Full breakfast, plenty of food, nothing exotic but you and your kids will have a good start to the day.
●Parking can be tricky. Limited underground space - no room for cars with roof racks/boxes or vehicle with boot carriers, we found the descent angle of the driveway too steep.
●Access to rest of the touristy stuff is very good, e.g. Moses M. Stadium is within walking/cycling distance

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Clyde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The reservation process was a nightmare and the reservation clerk, named Nikki, was sullen and very unhelpful. When we finally arrived, the receptionist was quite friendly and we were placed in a room on the sixth floor. Room was being cleaned when we arrived, but smelled fresh and were neat and tidy. However, due to a problem with the door, we were moved to the 14th floor. This room however, was dirty. Under the beds, I saw thick dust and the toilet was dirty, even though it had a seal on to show it was cleaned. I had to clean the loo myself as the dirt was clearly visible. The shower was filled with sand and I found the previous visitors' hair lying on the floor. The shower was grimy and the dirt can be clearly seen on the glass panel. The windows were so dirty you could not see through it and the curtains had mould at the bottom.
Regardless, the breakfast was good and the location excellent and within walking distance to Moses Mabhida Stadium and the restaurants at the casino. Taxis are found in front of the hotel, and if for example you want to go to Ushaka, it will cost you R60 per trip. If you do choose this hotel, it is best to ask for a room below the tenth floor, as not all the lifts go up the the higher floors.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaysten100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Blue Waters hotel for three nights. While the facade of the building is looking rather tired, the interior has been recently renovated and our room (twin on the 7th floor) was very well appointed and neat. The service was average, however I would attribute this to the fact that the hotel was at or near capacity. The breakfast buffet was nice and the pizzas downstairs are fantastic. The only downside was that the wifi was unreliable and extremely slow. Other than that an good hotel at a very moderate price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
449 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Property: Blue Waters Hotel
Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing