We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Waters Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
117
256
161
74
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
256
161
74
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue dolphinsea viewgolden milesuncoast casinomoses mabhida stadiumbuffet breakfastsun coast casinodurban beachfronttv channelsindian oceanrooms are spaciousreception areamarine paradebalconypromenadeporterestablishment
Filter
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just spent a week at this hotel. It was ideally located with the most breathtaking views. Rooms were very comfortable; plenty of hot water to go around and wonderful staff. The breakfast, as expressed by other reviewers, were excellent. Just having the beach and other attraction a few feet away was wonderful and tremendously convenient. The wifi didn't work at all and I suppose this is something the hotel can improve on. The service offered was certainly of 5 star quality!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have a very small balcony. We took the rooms on the other side and still had an excellent view with the benefit of a bigger balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Blue Waters is one of very few - I think only two - beachfront hotels where the rooms have balconies, and in this case, at affordable prices. They face east, so you can watch the moon rise over the Indian Ocean, fall asleep to the sound of the sea, and wake up to the rising sun. For the best panoramic view of the promenade, beachfront and sea, choose rooms on the 6th floor and up. Probably safer too if you want to sleep with the balcony door open. The rooms are large, airy, clean and comfortable. A sumptuous, breakfast is served in the beautiful dining room. There's ample street parking and, within easy reach, a supermarket, safe swimming areas and a zillion miles of sandy beach. Like any big hotel, it's slightly impersonal, but the service is good. Batteries missing from the tv remote control were replaced within minutes. My only suggestion: the balcony chairs in my room were starting to look shabby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dododog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Loved my room on the 9th floor. Apart from an old aircon unit the entire room as been refurbished, including the very comfortable and modern bathroom. Linen and bed of high quality. The building is old, and remains a marvelous example of modernist architecture (although I hope the facade gets spruced up at one stage). Breakfast was a big surprise, especially considering that this is a 'budget' hotel. Waffles, omelets, fruit, pastries... lots of choices. I love the location on North Beach.

All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all rooms are of same standard? Inquire about the rooms that were most recently renovated.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Hotel is clean,food nice,staff friendly,room's up to standard stayed there for 6 nights right on the Beach front of durban,down stairs nice plce to relax Blue Dolphin they play nice music if you need a drink,theres buses on site it you wanna see Shaka Marine or wanna see more on Durbans Beaches or town.

Room Tip: Room see facing are nice and big none smoking,they have A/C and LCD TV with DSTV,bar fridge coffee,tea making facilities.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladstone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, right on Durban's Golden Mile. Spent a fantastic week with the family here. We walked across to the beach and all along the Mile. The breakfast buffet was more than ample and good value for money. The kids loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews