We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, disappointing indoor pool”
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed on business, but also on a budget. Ideal on the beach, so I went for a run most mornings along the sand. The indoor pool was pathetic, but the ocean was warm enough as a replacement!
Breakfast was great, as were evening meals, plenty of choice and good quality food.
Rooms were okay - clean and presentable, but acceptable for a budget trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Everything was perfect, well except for the internet which was a bit slow but I didn't really need it that much.

The rooms were exactly as promised, wonderful views (sea-view), satellite TV with all sports channels. Overall, I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants an affordable family accommodation.

Room Tip: Arrive a bit early to secure a private parking. Book a room with a sea view and on the higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thembile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We arrived to check in and found that our rooms were not ready. We decided , after waiting for well over 2 hours to book into another hotel. They assured us that they would refund the deposit .IT HAS NOT BEEN DONE 2 MONTHS LATER

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We attended the INDABA travel show this year and were very impressed with the price and the location of this hotel. Not the most attractive building on the beachfront and a face lift would do wonders. We did not pay much and I did not expect too much from a 3 star hotel, but was impressed, rooms were spotless and clean, bathrooms spacious and clean (I would suggest an extractor fan in the bathroom), a nice view from the balcony and a desk to do some office work. I think we got one of the new refurbished rooms. Our rooms was also serviced every day and we found it as clean as the day we checked in when we returned in the evenings.

Breakfast was good, a wide choice for all in a lovely setting overlooking the beachfront. A well stocked and lively hotel bar is also a bonus after a long day of meetings and business.

The thing I liked the most was the location! Close to Durban Convention Center, but mainly because it is right on the beach and has awesome views and is so convenient for a morning run and swim on Durban beachfront.

Will stay here again for business travel, but I think this hotel should be avoided for a holiday or romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earthstompers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel was around in the early 80's when I lived in Durban, things have changed since then - the beachfront immediately opposite the hotel was allowed to degenerate and has now been transformed into the pleasant clean "boardwalk" it is today, enjoyed by locals and visitors alike. The exterior of the hotel looks like it did in the 80's but its obvious that much work has gone into upgrading the rooms recently.

The pros:

- The room (certainly the one I stayed in) was clean and bright, the bathroom with its massive shower was great.
- the buffet selection at breakfast was extensive and tasty and was great to enjoy views of the beach and Moses Mabida Stadium while munching on muesli.
- the vibey pub on the ground floor was a great place to unwind after a busy day.

The cons:

- it was clear that there is little or no supervision of housekeeping staff and absolutely no room checks by management - if there had been, someone would have noticed the label still stuck to the glass of the fancy new bathroom door.
- We had to call reception to get towels and a TV remote.
- Turndown (no big deal as far as I am concerned, but clearly something the hotel was trying to do) was a haphazard affair, during our 4 night stay, twice one bed was turned down, once both beds were turned down and on one night no turndown occurred.
- I understand that the hotel is used for training of hospitality students; the restaurant was full of young waiters who were more eager to fold napkins than serve coffee to the guests and one had to practically drag them to your table to get service. I overheard a guest requesting something from a waiter - his response was it was on the buffet and that they should get in themselves - great service!
- security in a hotel is always a sensitive issue but it was concerning that a drunken idiot was allowed to run around on the upper floors of the hotel looking for his "cousin" in a non existent room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

internet was a rip off,staff enters room without knocking
some staff very rude.
No ice cube tray in fridge.
internet goes off often.
stayed over 20 days and dit not get enought towels
operator not helpful.
will not go back after 3rd visit other visit was good

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My stay at The Blue Waters Hotel, Durban, was a good experience. I liked the size of their rooms, which are large, and the cleanliness is impressive. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast, which was more than generous. My disappointment was with the lack of Internet. Their phone answering was also a problem because when I'd call reception from the room I could not get a response!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
2.3 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#9 of 43 in Durban
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £41 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing