We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING VIEW”
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Waters Hotel
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Durban
BLOEMFONTEIN, SOUTH AFRICA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“STUNNING VIEW”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for three nights in June for a conference. Spacious room with a stunning view of the sea. Within walking distance from the beach and shopping centre. Breakfast is divine with a great variety. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors have an even more beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marietjie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueW, General Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Marietjie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am so glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms with panoramic sea views and great balconies.
We are centrally located to all tourist attractions and activities, as well as just across the road from Durban's Golden Mile. Our Full English Breakfast Buffet is superb, offering a great variety of hot and cold dishes to choose from.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Waters Hotel in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Jeandre J v Vuuren
Guest Services Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    221
    147
    64
    61
See reviews for
140
151
36
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here in June for a conference. Durban is dangerous, and you can't walk around at nightfall, this can be an issue for dinner arrangements. Room was excellent, and serviced daily. Staff were fantastic, and generally pretty helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzy369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Marzy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your rooms and the friendly staff during your recent stay with us. We have numerous Food & Beverage outlets within the hotel which offer a great variety for dinner, on your next stay with us be sure to try one of our outlets, you will not be disappointed.


Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Waters Hotel in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Jeandre J v Vuuren
Guest Services Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I spent 2 nights at the hotel on business and was very impressed. Location is excellent, staff very friendly, room appeared to be recently revamped and very comfortable and the breakfast was very good too which was included in the room rate. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Must have the sea view rooms preferably on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzie6811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Shazzie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We certainly have prime location on Durban's Golden Mile, our rooms have all been recently renovated offering a fresh new look to all our guests. Our full English breakfast buffet offers a great variety with a view to match.

Thank you for your great comments I will be sure to pass this on to all relevant Departments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Waters Hotel in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Jeandre J v Vuuren
Guest Services Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location is great: on the waterfront within walking distance to the beach, close to Golden Mile and casino. Rooms are spacious and modern with great views especially from the higher floors. The breakfast is very good with lots of variety. The rest of the hotel is very "old looking" and rather drab. The reception staff need training on good customer service as they were very unfriendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chalan Africa T... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Chalan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Our views are indeed spectacular offering a panoramic overview of Durban's Golden Mile and the landmark Moses Mabhida Stadium to the North. Our full English breakfast buffet is a firm favourite among all our guests offering a great selection of hot and cold dishes. We are currently in the planning stages for the revamp of Public Areas and Lobby. I am pleased to inform you that our reception staff have all completed Customer Service Training, I am sure that you will note a remarkable difference on your next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Waters Hotel in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Jeandre J v Vuuren
Guest Services Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location with beautiful views and good access to the Durban waterfront. The room was clean and fairly nice but the hotel needs to be upgraded. The wi fi reception was terrible. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet place to stay ! There was loud music that carried on until the early hours of the morning all of the nights that we were there. The porters were very friendly and helpful ! Unfortunately due to the noise we will not be back !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Brigped,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we value your feedback and use it as a tool to constantly improve our service and facilities.

I am pleased to inform you that we are currently in the process of upgrading our Wi-Fi facilities, we have also set the closing time for all entertainment in our Blue Dolphin Bar for 22:00.

I will be sure to pass your great comments on to our Porters, who will be delighted with the positive feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Waters Hotel in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Jeandre J v Vuuren
Guest Services Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have stayed at Blue Waters several times for business/conferences, and that is what I recommend Blue Waters for. The rooms are good, service is nice, but the hotel does not have anything particularly fancy or well done (which is why it is such a good price for ocean-frontage!). Breakfast is great, the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The internet service is terrible and we also had a night or two of loud music! You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The elevators that go from floors 10 - 18 are often broken, so if you have a schedule (like a confer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJewell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Our full English Breakfast is very popular, offering a wide selection of hot and cold dishes daily. We are currently in the process of upgrading our Wi-Fi facilities, I am sure that you will note improvement in this area on your next stay with us. We have changed the closing time for all entertainment at the Blue Dolphin Bar to 22:00, this will most definitely reduce noise levels after 22:00.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Waters Hotel once again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Jeandre J v Vuuren
Guest Services Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Great value and excellent location in the waterfront / Golden Mile. Near to the Casino resort to the left and 5 star hotels, with good dining on the right. Beach literally 50 yards away and great views from the hotel, especially higher floors. North Side of the hotel has great views of the Moses Matiba football stadium. Free car parking outside, large rooms with fridges in the rooms and decent TV.
Breakfast excellent Buffett and different each day and a very good pub on the ground floor.
So why only 3 stars? Wifi was extremely poor (128 or 56kb!) and went off frequently - the cost was 50Rand for 100Mb and it was useless in the rooms. One star lost for this - McDonalds gives free wifi, why do I have to pay in a hotel? And why is it so crap?
2nd star lost for not rectifying this why we complained, not reimbursing us our payment and giving us the excuse that the wifi is being upgraded - by that statement they are admitting that it is crap and are therefore selling a product which is not fit for purpose.
My wife had big argument with receptionist at checkout and caused bad feeling which I didn't need.
It is a great shame as otherwise I would have left a 5 start review.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Peterlee,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We most definitely have one of the best locations on Durban's Golden Mile, close to all tourist attractions and Battery Beach right on our doorstep.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our great Full English Breakfast Buffet as well as the Blue Dolphin Bar on the Ground Floor, our thin based wood fired pizza's with delicious toppings served at the Blue Dolphin Bar are superb.

I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of upgrading our Wi-Fi facilities, I am sure that you will note improvement in this area on your next stay with us. All our receptionists have also completed Customer Service Training since your stay with us, this will certainly improve their ability to provide excellent customer service as well as handling of guest queries and complaints more effectively.

We value your feedback and use it as a tool to constantly improve our service and facilities, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Blue Waters Hotel in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Jeandre J v Vuuren
Guest Services Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Property: Blue Waters Hotel
Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing