We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, however service levels need to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Durban
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good location, however service levels need to improve”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel and found it to be an average overall experience. The check-in process was hassle free although the staff seemed more interested in chatting with each other than in assisting me with the check-in process. I was initially given a room on the lower level, but requested to have this changed to a room above ground level which had a better flow of air. The rooms were generally neat however I did encounter a few pests running around the room which was alarming. Perhaps the hotel needs to focus a bit more on cleanliness and proper housekeeping. The room service experience leaves much to be desired and is really not suitable for this type of establishment. Cold food with exorbitant delivery fees. The check-out process was hassle free Essentially, this hotel is unspectacular, but sufficient as base for conducting business in Durban for the business traveler.

Room Tip: Request a room above ground level as these seem to be in better overall condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    68
    25
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
18
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed there on a business trip and all I needed was present.

Rooms and bathroom were spacious and the hotel was fairly new. Breakfast was very nice.
The hotel is located in a safe area and on walking distance from a huge shopping mall and lots of restaurants.

I will stay there for sure on my next visit to Durban

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huguesheylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I would tell EVERYONE to stay at this hotel, It is beautiful.
The room was massive with a gorgeous bathroom and a lovely balcony overlooking a pretty church.
The staff were lovely always wanting to help and offer great advice.
The food was very special, my friends fell in love with the eggs annaise and still misses it!!!
We stayed in December 2010 and it was very hot, I was worried at how safe I would be there, Florida Road felt safe but I would not of walked elsewhere.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anju138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have recently stayed at this hotel for the 5th or 6th year running during the annual Indaba Tourism Expo. As usual the hotel goes beyond all expectations, offering efficient and friendly service during what is an exceptionally busy time for them. Okkie the GM is very hands on and leads a great team. The hotel was in need of a refurb and am pleased to see this has now been done, making one's stay even more pleasant. Whether on business or pleasure I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Stayed here in march for 2 nights. Friendly staff..clean,comfortable rooms.. Good job city lodge durban.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This is a very nice and beautifull lodge at the center of Durban and it is situated at one of the best location of Durban, near to beach, very good transport and connected very well to city. Many entertainment places are there close to this, You can go to watch movies , casino, shopping centers, beaches, and cricket and soccer stadium.
Evening view from this lodge is a great experience

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VijayKumawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILANO
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Functional business hotel with general good services. Nice,clean and enough spacious rooms. Breafast really good with a lot of choices. Perfect for business. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FERDY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Durban

Property: City Lodge Hotel Durban
Address: Sylvester Ntuli Road | Cnr K.E. Masinga Rd, Durban 4056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Durban 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush gardens, palm trees and a pool with a gazebo lend a relaxed, summer feel to this hotel, as well as being only 2 blocks away from the main beach and 2 minutes from Durban’s CBD. It also has a fitness room and small meeting room for guest use. Close to many different restaurants, within walking distance of the International Conference and Exhibition Centre, a 30 minute drive to Durban’s international airport and close to the N3 motorway ensures a very convenient location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Durban Hotel Durban
City Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing