We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Durban
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comrades”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at the City lodge for the weekend of the Comrades. We booked this hotel through a package from Pentravel in Capetown.

I loved the City Lodge. For what it was. The 3 stars does not do it justice. The rooms are clean and spacious. The coffee shop in the hotel provides a really good breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They serve until 10.00pm. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is central and served its purpose for comrades.

The Expo and the finish line was a quick walk. No fussing over parking and crowds.

I would recommend this hotel for business and to anyone who wants a hassle free Comrades.

Thank you City Lodge for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    69
    26
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
18
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

It is a standard hotle but I have one complaint that is reallyimportant for them to hear (they seem to be oblivious to this. please don't have smokiing rooms. it is tacky and it smells. otherwise stay here as the staff is better than most places in durban. I am here right now

Room Tip: ask for non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Spoiled by poor eating facilities in the evening and miserable bar facility. Also disappointed with Wi Fi service (chargeable!)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have stayed in many City Lodges since inception in 1985 and have never been disappointed. City Lodge Durban carries on the fine tradition as far as I am concerned. I was on business in KwaZulu Natal recently and had to give presentations in Durban, Richards Bay and Pietrmaritzburg. This hotel was beautifully situated for all three areas. Security is good with ample parking and the rooms are very functional, especially for the business traveller. Lots of plug points and a decent sized desk for working. The airport if only about 30 minutes away by car. Unfortunately I had very early starts each morning and wasn't able to enjoy the excellent City Lodge breakfast. Next time......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The location is really fabulous, however, for the price they charge for the establishment, I felt that it was overpriced. Service is non-existent, they do leave you alone, which can be very nice but Iack of room service, no lifts, you have to drag your suitcase up the stairs. The decor, especially the carpets are really dated, they remind you of your late grandma's place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I decided to stay at the City Lodge largely based on tripadvisor reviews. Even with that, I was very pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and service at City Lodge Durban. This is not a hotel for people who need their every need catered to - there are no porters, for example, and they encourage advance payment. Also, dinner service is limited, and while room service is available for food, alcohol is only available at the bar. However, if you don't mind doing a few things for yourself, this place might be for you.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, with quality flat-screen TVs and comfortable beds. Room safes are large enough for most laptops. Wireless internet is available for a fee, and worked very well for the duration of my stay (nearly a week). The desk staff were consistently helpful in providing information and advice on Durban. All in all, I was very satisfied with the City Lodge and would stay at one of their hotels again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modibo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Unfamiliar with this chain of hotels, I really didn't know what to expect. The hotel is in an ok location - a few blocks away from the beach - extremely safe (security staff very visible), the hotel staff were very friendly and always looking to assist. This is certainly not a 5-star hotel, however, a very good, clean, comfortable and flawless 3.5 to 4 star hotel.

Restaurant and bar prices are not too bad which helps. Well done to all the team at City Lodge Durban.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARealistic_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Durban

Property: City Lodge Hotel Durban
Address: Sylvester Ntuli Road | Cnr K.E. Masinga Rd, Durban 4056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Durban 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush gardens, palm trees and a pool with a gazebo lend a relaxed, summer feel to this hotel, as well as being only 2 blocks away from the main beach and 2 minutes from Durban’s CBD. It also has a fitness room and small meeting room for guest use. Close to many different restaurants, within walking distance of the International Conference and Exhibition Centre, a 30 minute drive to Durban’s international airport and close to the N3 motorway ensures a very convenient location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Durban Hotel Durban
City Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing