We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Durban
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Decided to extend our Dec holiday by 1 more night and got accommodation at the City Lodge in Durban. While I was apprehensive about staying in budget accommodation, the City Lodge was a pleasant surprise. The hotel reception area was clean and neat and I was impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of the receptionist Natasha. The rooms were very comfortable, flat screen TV's, 2 three quarter beds, bathroom with a shower and bath. Overall the hotel was well worth the money spent. Unfortunately after check in, my son's mobile phone was stolen and we inquired at reception if it was seen there. Natasha, the efficient receptionist quickly alerted the manager who called in the security experts to review the CCTV footage. The footage revealed that the mobile phone was lifted by one of the City Lodge employees. We were contacted shortly thereafter, and the mobile was returned, but the response from the manager on duty was not apologetic or sympathetic. Instead she explained how crime riddled the country is and how this is a way of life in South Africa, I was extremely disappointed in her reaction to us as she is ultimately responsible for the well being of the guests at the hotel. Only later when we bumped into her again did she apologize about the incident. My son was extremely traumatized as the mobile was a Xmas gift, and given the apathetic attitude of the management towards us I am not too sure if this is really a safe hotel to stay in. We also found a pair of ladies underwear in our room when we got in, this had to be from a previous guest as my son and I shared the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked our hotel and its facilities. However, we apologize sincerely about the inconvenience and the unfortunate experience regarding the cell phone. We will look into this matter further as we do with all such incidents. We’re glad to hear about the efficiency and friendliness of our reception staff. Apologies once again for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have always been prejudiced about what I believed to be a budget hotel but am a convert. Whilst no means cheap (ZAR 1500 pn) the rooms were clean and functional. Ok the TV is small but the bathroom had a shower and a bath! Huge drawback is no lift! So if you have loads of luggage or a bit older this is not the place for you! No luggage service either so you are on your own! The biggest surprise was the food. Was fantastic and balanced out the absence of a lift. Internet access of 15 min free is a bit mean in this day and age. More and more travellers are expecting this as a given. Pool was an added bonus so overall a good experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank KarlBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Happy New Year - thanks for your comments - by the way, we have just quadrupled our free wifi internet access at this hotel to an hour per day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotel is there for business travellers - the reception staff, though friendly, have no real knowledge of "touristy" Durban, i.e. where to go, where to eat, what to do. Rooms were fine but a bit smelly. Food and drink service was slow, and the menu was quite uninspiring. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_Unlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thanks for your review - we will look into the points you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a small hotel that had very comfortable rooms and good bed. Breakfast buffet was good and food and service efficient. However the Café was well below par, very restricted menu and more like snacks than meals. Then the poor woman cooking the meals seemed to on her own and when there were a lot of orders the system crumbled. One meal took over 1.5 hours to come and that was only a baguette!!
This was the only fly in the ointment as staff were lovely and price to stay reasonable. If you want to eat you have to get a taxi, get the hotel staff to get Eagle cabs, go to Florida road area where there are lots of restaurants. Take security VERY seriously, I was at a conference at ICC and felt very nervous on the 10 min walk to the centre, several delegates were mugged and robbed en route!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool rather than the road, it is much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VES11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our hotel - we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at City Lodge Durban. The hotel itself is well maintained as are the grounds, additionally all the staff were very professional and provided great service. I was here for a week and booked a room including breakfast which was quite extensive and the ladies who poured coffee and tea and took plates away were extremely efficient. At night the bar provides a light snack menu which for me was more than enough although if you wanted a "meatier" dinner as did another guest, they have menus in the room with an external delivery service (from the Spur restaurant, I think). Finally at the end of the day when coming back to the hotel there was always some sort of drink (juice or water with lemon/orange) at the door to which you can help yourself.

My only compaints would be that, as other guests have mentioned, the internet connection was not good. Not only do you have to pay (only 15 minutes per day are free) the access is very slow and if you need to work in the evenings it is not dependable, especially when the hotel is full as it was when I stayed. Additionally, this is not the fault of the hotel, but the area surrounding the hotel is not very nice. We were attending a conference at the ICC which is only 3 blocks away though I was cautioned by guards both at the hotel and the ICC against walking by myself. I felt a bit trapped in the area.

If I have to go back to Durban I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Try not to get a ground floor/basement room (number start with 0 like 061) which are a bit dark and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trvl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thanks for your kind comments. We're in the process of upgrading our wifi offering - so watch this space, as they say. Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

An absolute pleasurecto stay at the Durban City Lodge.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff are warm and friendly, and
the location is good for getting to meetings quickly.
Good value for money too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngaH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thanks for your review of our hotel - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The staff at this establishment go out of their way to make the guests feel welcome. All are very friendly, courteous and most helpful. Check in an check out were handled very efficiently. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The welcome note and gift are a nice touch. All facilities in the well equipped room worked perfectly. A nice bathroom with a great shower.

The coffee shop experience is a bit bland. However they did serve the best carrot cake ever tasted! Breakfast was City Lodge's usual excellent version.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thanks so much for your kind comments - hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 44 in Durban
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 44 in Durban
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Durban

Address: Sylvester Ntuli Road | Cnr K.E. Masinga Rd, Durban 4056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: £66 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Durban 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush gardens, palm trees and a pool with a gazebo lend a relaxed, summer feel to this hotel, as well as being only 2 blocks away from the main beach and 2 minutes from Durban’s CBD. It also has a fitness room and small meeting room for guest use. Close to many different restaurants, within walking distance of the International Conference and Exhibition Centre, a 30 minute drive to Durban’s international airport and close to the N3 motorway ensures a very convenient location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Durban Hotel Durban
City Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing