We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service and room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Seoul, Korea
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good service and room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel is at the center of popular seafront of city. The hotel looks old in terms of building and facilities. But it was comfortable to stay. The room was clean and well preserved. Its staffs were kind and helpful. Particularly the concierge staff gave me good information on restaurant and place to go. When I looked for the ATM machine to withdraw cash, the staff took me to the nearest bank! I did not expect such a service! I had a good impression on this hotel for three days where I stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_Creator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    121
    76
    27
    17
See reviews for
54
99
33
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Thé personnel was courteous and very helpfull, great food, super comfortable beds. Great location by thé ocean. Rather expensive but you really get something for what you pay. It's worth it and i would go There again.

Room Tip: Rooms on thé 7th floor have thé best views. Make sure to take ocean side
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MAP871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Right in the center of Durban's Golden Mile (seafront), 15 minutes walking from Downtown, you'll get asleep in a very comfortable and recently refurbished room with the sound of Indian Ocean's waves crashing on those fabulous city beaches. Great bathroom, mucho comfortable bed and usefull furniture. I could definitely rate this hotel, as a university professor, an A (93 points strong)! Got a pretty good rate from expedia.ca. Breakfasts are pretty good, too. Excellent choix si vous passez par Durban, sincèrement! Attention toutefois, en soirée, aux putes sur la rue / at night, beware of the hookers, pimps and dealers... but you'll surely not be interested, so!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-François B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

While the hotel itself was grand and incredibly comfortable to stay in, the staff were generally rude and unhelpful, especially the evening receptionists. They even managed to confuse our room with somebody elses and left an incorrect guest card on the dressing table. The food, however, was superb, but like everything else in the hotel, incredibly expensive. I doubt I will go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJPSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Lovely place to stay, a touch on the expensive side. Convenience and location-wise ideal if you are spending time in Durban for business.

Room Tip: Rooms are good size and have good views to the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ketan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend break.I booked the junior suite which was very nice with a lovely bedroom and a seperate lounge area each with their own balconies..The bathroom is big and spacious with a bath and shower..This is one of Durbans older /leading hotels and is superbly decorated and very well maintained..Its a lot quiter than the bigger hotels around it which adds a lot to its character..The general staff(especially the porter) are very helpful and really go to a lot of trouble to make sure you are a satisfied guest.The hotel is very close to just about all the attractions and the location is right on the main beach.......The breakfast was good however the bar service outside on the patio is a bit slow and one needs to keep pushing the waiters for service.I have stayed at this hotel before and once again we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Book a junior or a delux suite...Its not that much more expensive yet you get a lot more value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at Edward Protea Hotel on 5 July 2012 and whilst the hotel was clean, comfortable and there were no issues, it has lost its charm and does not (in my view) live up to some of the Protea Hotels I stay in on the African continent (Ryalls Protea Hotel in Blantyre and Proteam Hotel Kampala for example). Dinner buffet was limited and lacking attention to detail (no apple sauce for roast pork for example) that makes you look at the hotel differently.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Address: 149 O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Durban Edward harks back to a time of Victorian elegance. This world-famous hotel has played host to princes and presidents, field marshals, millionaires and movie stars since 1911. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure purposes, the Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Durban Edward is ideally situated on the Golden Mile. Take off your shoes and feel the soft, beach sand between your toes. Make sure you have your swimsuit because a dive in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean is hard to resist. Cool off whilst you walk along the promenade, which allows you to walk from uShaka Marine world to Suncoast Casino. For those travelling on business we are situated 5 minutes away from Durban CBD and the ICC (International Convention Centre). We are within easy access to all major highways and King Shaka Airport is a mere 35 minutes away so getting to all those meetings is not a hassle. Return to our graceful and stylish rooms, which are all equipped with LCD TV's, en-suite bathrooms, executive work desks, wireless internet access and over half of the rooms have remarkable sea views. The Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Durban Edward with its personalised friendly service and extremely comfortable rooms offers a luxurious holiday experience or a professional business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing