We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Durban Edward
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
106
140
97
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
140
97
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprokard membergolden mileprotea groupfun parkamusement parksea viewbeachfront locationgrand old ladybreakfast and dinnernight staymarine paradeindian oceanshort stayrooms are spaciouscape towndurban beachfrontconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

If you are thinking of booking this hotel, think again. It looks a pretty good hotel on the website belonging to a reputed hotel chain. However our experience was totally different. As soon as we arrived we faced a not very co-operative receptionist. We had requested a sea facing room, whereas we were given the room (417) at the far end of corridor. The room looked as if a verandah has been converted in a room. TV on one end and cupboard on the other end of corridor type room. The noise from the AC machine was intolerable. We went back to reception and they sent a technician, who fortunately reported in my favor. Room was changed to 314. Now the AC was not working at all. After an hour and half the AC started functioning. Again the thermostat was not working. We decided to stop complaining. The room was clean. Restaurant did not offer any vegetarian menu, so we decided to eat outside. It was displayed that 100MB of internet was free per day, but we could not connect to the internet at all. The receptionist of course offered the business room. On the whole our experience was not very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nareshkolkata30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhard W, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durban Edward, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Edward. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong!
Please accept our sincere apologies with regards to the faulty air conditioner, lack of attention to detail from my TEAM and vegetarian dishes variety in our restaurant. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve service. We have given the issues that you raised urgent remedial action
Your interest and concerns are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you as our GUEST to Protea Hotel Edward again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Reinhard Walzl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Great service from the minute we checked in. Room was clean and neat with a million dollar view of the beach and promenade. Super dinner ... And both my kids ate free at the R200 per head dinner buffet. The shuttle arranged by hotel, for airport, was however far too expensive at R800 return!!!!! I could have rented 3 cars.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianbredenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This hotel is right on the beach and the rooms are very nice. Regarding check-in, I arrived at 1230pm after an overnight flight and asked to check in early. I was told check in was 2pm but I could wait in the lobby and I would be given the first available clean room. At exactly 2pm, I was given a room. The room faced the sea, which was nice, though it was also quite noisy - due to a large pool and an amusement park ride - even with windows closed. The area behind the hotel, through which you walk if you want to go to the city centre, seemed pretty dodgy. There is a supermarket about a 3-minute walk away, which was very convenient, plus you can walk to the convention centre in about 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stacey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Protea Edward is a nice hotel, with good rooms and great views over the beach.
Having said that, the service is slow even allowing for the fact that service is slower anywhere in Africa, and the main beach area is not the place to be after dark. Take care walking about in Durban, you can very quickly find yourself in an area that feels a little uncomfortable and ideally try and stay outside of Durban itself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DivechickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Durban Edward, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear DivechickLondon

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Edward.

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient, friendly and personalised service. Your feedback will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and exceed, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

It is truly sad to hear the lack of service in the restaurant and I can assure you that not only corrective action is required but on-going training as well.

The Durban beach forum together with the local authorities are working closely together to ensure the safety, maintenance and cleanliness of the surrounding areas are maintained. Purely from an awareness point of view, the authorities are patrolling the entire area on a 24 hour basis however your feedback will be forwarded to the necessary parties as well.

Once again, your feedback is much appreciated, and we trust you had a safe trip back to the United Kingdom.

Kind regards
Reinhard Walzl
General Manager
Protea Hotel Edward Durban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed for three nights and had no issues , friendly concierge staff and Manny in the bar were all helpful
Food was good and lots to choose from
The hotel is in a great location right on the sea so try get a room on the front
Free 100mb wifi daily

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhard W, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durban Edward, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Edward. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong!
Please accept our sincere apologies with regards to the faulty air conditioner, lack of attention to detail from my TEAM and vegetarian dishes variety in our restaurant. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve service. We have given the issues that you raised urgent remedial action
Your interest and concerns are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you as our GUEST to Protea Hotel Edward again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Reinhard Walzl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews