We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Myself, my husband, and our two small boys (aged 5 and 2) stayed 2 nights in a family room. The room was more than big enough, and so was the bathroom. Well above what we expected. We had an excellent sea view, and the windows are child proofed with the latches high up so we didn't have to worry about the kids opening the windows, which was a big plus. Everything was spotlessly clean inside the room.
The service from staff was excellent. The room service and restaurant staff, as well as housekeeping and the porter were very friendly. And the ladies in the parking garage were so accommodating and went above and beyond, as they actually blocked our parking when we went out during the day, so that we could get the same parking when we came back.
We had the buffet breakfast and it was very plentiful, with lots of choice. We also over the 2 days had Nacho's and the platter for 1 as room service. These were both very delicious. I would definitely recommend these from the menu.
All in all, we had an excellent trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLizB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

I Spent two nights here with friends who were visiting from Joburg. Rooms are clean with sea view and service is friendly and helpful . Bar is well stocked with live sports . Food comes in two choices buffet or al carte menu, both are good. Would recommend to anyone on a short visit

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amber2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights while in Durban and I have to say it was a very nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, steps from the beach, within walking distance to Ushaka Marine World. I wouldn't stray too far from the beach front though, pretty seedy if you ask me but I think all of Durban is kind of like that in this area. If you aren't into the English breakfast, skip it, not worth the price, although you can order a la cart which is considerably cheaper. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The little veranda with table and chairs was perfect, beautiful views of the ocean. The bathrooms, yes, they need some TLC, but ours was not so bad. It would have been nice to know that the pool was "out of order" but everyone else there seemed to think it was the frozen tundra (it was not cold at all) so perhaps it was just closed for the winter season. It is also much smaller than you think it is going to be but who care, you have the ocean right there, who needs a pool? Use their hotel airport transfer service... The company they use has a very friendly driver who acts as a tour guide along the way. It is worth the cost, which isn't that much anyway. One funny thing that kept happening, no matter where we were one of the employees would wave frantically smiling and saying "Hello Mrs. Cl...!" I don't think I even met the guy. It was more funny than creepy... The staff was excellent. My husband and I kept remarking at how it felt like we were in an Agatha Christie Poirot novel. (The atmosphere...there were no dead bodies turning up I promise!) All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marbacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

had a two night stay on our trip to Africa and we entered the lobby to find grandeur and luxury as was the restaurant and bar. Unfortunately that's where it ended. Our room was clean but dated and the bathroom was woeful. Greasy floor, the sealant round the bath was coming away and black. We washed a few smalls and tried in vain to pull the washing line out. There seemed to be a piece of the door to the balcony cut away which let in the wind and noise from outside. and the hairdryer worked intermittingly, (loose wire) ? Again we found a U.K. socket in the room.
Food was very nice, there is an a la carte menu but we chose the buffet. Lots of choice and as much as you wanted.
later we sat at the bar and I saw a waitress with a clean tray of cutlery drop a few knives and forks onto the floor. She promptly picked them up and put them back on the tray???
The concierge desk were very helpful and told us to go left out of the building rather than right as it is safer if we wanted a stroll.
Views from the hotel are very nice as it is on the seafront. Bar is nice and relaxing with sport on the TV's and the bartender Mannie is most helpful. If you want a steak get a cab to Butcher Boys restaurant, I had a T-bone, must have been 40mm thick, delicious.
Breakfast is again buffet style and plenty of it but let down by the service. My partner asked for tea and got coffee so I asked for it to be replaced by tea and she poured another coffee.! ask for breakfast tea and you should get what you want.
There seemed to be a lot of business people there but I would have thought there were better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TamworthSpidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is very well located and the sea view rooms offer an amazing view. We could just walk down to the beach or the Theron point of interest on the golden mile.

The rooms are nicely sized but the bathroom need a clear refurbishment: the shower curtains was very dirty and moldy, the towels where not very clean and old and cleaning was bad.

The swimming pool was in refurbishment but we were not informed about it before the booking.

The staff was very friendly and tried their best to help but when we asked to the concierge to book a restaurant for us he told us that the he could not use the phone ...

Nice breakfast and great bar !

If you get a great deal go there but do not expect a spotless experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinhard W, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Freddie P
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to sincerely apologise for not meeting all your expectations. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence. The STAFF aim to create our warm and friendly environment for all GUESTS and they will be pleased to hear of your positive comments

We certainly look forward to hosting you again soon and trust that you'll have a more enjoyable stay on your return trip

Kind regards
Reinhard Walzl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I last stayed in the Edward Hotel on the 26th June 1982 on our honeymoon. We stayed there again on the 18th July 2013. The staff were fantastic, our greeting upon arrival was just awesome. the hotel is still in fantastic condition right down to the hotel emblems in the sand ashtrays. Our dinner was really value for money we had the buffet. Having drinks in the bar certainly brought back memories for us. WELL DONE THE EDWARD TEAM and thank you for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This Protea is housed in a building over 100 years old. The lobby, bar and restaurants retain much of the original architectural details. The rooms are modern, spacious and comfy. The food at the hotel was good and there was a very friendly bartender who helped us plan the next stage of our road trip.
Durban was a disappointment. This was the only city on our 2500 mile SA road trip where we did not feel safe nor did any of the "attractions" in the guide book meet their descriptions. Hire a reputable cabbie to help you get around town.

Room Tip: Skip Durban and stay somewhere on the Wild Coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeroMan356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 44 in Durban
638 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 44 in Durban
480 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#9 of 44 in Durban
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward

Address: 149 O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: £68 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward harks back to a time of Victorian elegance. This world-famous hotel in Durban, South Africa has played host to princes and presidents, field marshals, millionaires and movie stars since 1911. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure purposes, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward is ideally situated on the Golden Mile. Take off your shoes and feel the soft, beach sand between your toes. Make sure you have your swimsuit because a dive in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean is hard to resist. Cool off whilst you walk along the promenade, which allows you to walk from uShaka Marine world to Suncoast Casino. For those travelling on business we are situated 5 minutes away from Durban CBD and the ICC (International Convention Centre). We are within easy access to all major highways and King Shaka Airport is a mere 35 minutes away so getting to all those meetings is not a hassle. Return to our graceful and stylish rooms, which are all equipped with LCD TV's, en-suite bathrooms, executive work desks, wireless internet access and over half of the rooms have remarkable sea views. The Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward with its personalised friendly service and extremely comfortable rooms offers a luxurious holiday experience or a professional business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing