We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

With the Protea group of hotels you always know that the standard of room & staff attention will be good. We only stayed one night at the end of our holiday & had a little room overlooking the sea. We opted that night for a buffet at the hotel & would suggest you go early as extremely popular.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    132
    80
    30
    17
See reviews for
55
107
35
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were really pleased with this hotel as our overnight stay in Durban before beginning the self-drive Battlefields route in South Africa. The hotel is spacious with excellent rooms, very clean and well serviced. We enjoyed a sea-view room which overlooked the magnificent front and promenade of Durban and could not have been more pleased with this hotel as an overnight stop. The breakfast, which was excellent, was located in a very elegant dining room.

Room Tip: Well,worth choosing a sea-view room on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
157 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed there for 1 night only on Valentine night! Wanted to stay for another day but the hotel was fully booked! It's totally worth the money paid! Excellent location! Very good staff! Liked a lot the unique water bottle they had in the room.
Room was clean. Good size.
Nothing to complain about.
Would definitely stay again whenever I'm in Durban!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flesherton, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is from an era of the past with its grand dining room & bar, dark wood & chandeliers. The rooms are comfortable (bit small) with AC, very much needed on our arrival but no AC in the hallways or stairwells. This was a great hotel for one night. The buffet dinner & buffet breakfast were delicious with lots of variety. It took however, over 30 min. to get a cup of coffee & a second one was something only to hope for. As we arrived early evening from Port Elizabeth, we were advised not to walk the beach area right across the street but we did early morning & it is lovely. Great location for that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I always stay here when I am in Durban on business. I love the location right on the beach. The rooms are spotless, the linens are good quality. I like the breakfast. The hotel feels like home away from home.
A mini bar would have been great. there is a fridge but it is empty. A chocolate or chips craving could be easily solved with a mini bar. I always thought the margin on these justified the odd person who doesn't come clean but with a credit card on file I am at a loss to understand why. I bring my own coffee plunger because instant coffee is not my cup of tea but a minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room with a balcony and sit and watch the world go by on the busy promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaniaPortShepstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

First, let me commend Freddy the concierge: knowledgeable, articulate, and very helpful: he went to great lengths to make sure that our transfers to the railway were properly booked and timed. The other good things about the hotel are its location, right on top of the North Beach attractions (great to see so many people enjoying themselves so thoroughly); its public rooms (the dining room in particular retains its grand beauty); and the views from the rooms (I was lucky enough to have a top-floor room whose balcony looked out over the ocean).

But oh, the service. Willing enough, but woefully under-trained. Check in seemed exceptionally slow and complicated (why did I have to fill in the registration form twice, just hours apart? why did they need to photocopy our passports on two separate occasions?), and service on the veranda during the day (though not, it must be said, at night) was slapdash.

I should speak of the dining room: as I say, beautiful to look at, and serving a perfectly decent breakfast; but whatever you do, avoid dinner on Saturday night. We left after an hour and a half, having managed to get a bowl of soup and a plate of beetroot. It's extremely badly arranged and inadequately staffed; combine this with diners -- the place was packed -- who have no idea of queuing, very sharp elbows for pushing into line, and gargantuan appetites, and the result is a cross between George Grosz and Gustave Dore.

Well, that's off my chest. As two nights between the Oyster Box and Rovos Rail, it made an interesting contrast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We flew from Port Elizabeth to Durban and this was our overnight hotel. Its an older hotel but well maintained. Check in was fast. The room was a little jaded but had everything we needed for overnight stay. We had a comfortable nights sleep. Also Good shower etc.

Breakfast was the usual which we enjoyed. We did not eat dinner at the hotel on the night of arrival as the group had agreed to eat in a local restaurant.

The public area of the hotel and the Restaurant did look nice. I was sorry I did not eat in the Restaurant as it did look nice. The hotel is right opposite the lovely beach in Durban. We had a lovely balcony and a great view of the sea. We did not have long to explore as we arrived late. We were tired after a day travelling. Hotel was ok for overnight stay. We were booked in under part of a group tour.

Room Tip: perhaps a higher up room. Nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globezila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
592 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#16 of 43 in Durban
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Address: 149 O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward harks back to a time of Victorian elegance. This world-famous hotel in Durban, South Africa has played host to princes and presidents, field marshals, millionaires and movie stars since 1911. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure purposes, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward is ideally situated on the Golden Mile. Take off your shoes and feel the soft, beach sand between your toes. Make sure you have your swimsuit because a dive in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean is hard to resist. Cool off whilst you walk along the promenade, which allows you to walk from uShaka Marine world to Suncoast Casino. For those travelling on business we are situated 5 minutes away from Durban CBD and the ICC (International Convention Centre). We are within easy access to all major highways and King Shaka Airport is a mere 35 minutes away so getting to all those meetings is not a hassle. Return to our graceful and stylish rooms, which are all equipped with LCD TV's, en-suite bathrooms, executive work desks, wireless internet access and over half of the rooms have remarkable sea views. The Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward with its personalised friendly service and extremely comfortable rooms offers a luxurious holiday experience or a professional business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing