We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel!”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 30 November 2013

i had a guest from North Africa come to visit and put him in the Royal Hotel! The Price for his four day stay was very good! compared to the other hotels in durban! service was good, with a great welcome. Suite was great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kickbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Having stayed at the Royal many years ago, I had wonderful memories of this special landmark of Durban. We were impressed with the friendly staff and our room had great beds and pillows and a lovely view too. Breakfast was adequate but the hotel lacks atmosphere.... perhaps this is due to the fact that it was a Saturday night..Some of the public rooms have been refurbished and they look great, others are waiting their turn. Overall it was a good experience down memory lane.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monique002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had to attend a function in the heart of Durban so naturally chose a Hotel closest to the venue, I booked a room with 2 single beds, we arrived and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room on the 18th floor had a double bed. So I phoned Reception was told that we would be moved and not to touch anything. we waited for about 10 minutes when the phone went and we were told we were moving to the 16th floor and security would bring the key. There only seems to be 1 menu which runs through out the hotel, which now caterers for more ethnic cuisine.
All the windows are dirty so your view of beautiful Durban is non existent. Failing that the staff was good, they even managed to control a very drunk man at breakfast the following morning.

Room Tip: Ask for one with clean windows,
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 128leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I am a reasonably regular business visitor. This hotel is a Durban landmark, and used to be an icon. Over time, it lost its reputation as one of the top hotels in South Africa, but it still oozes atmosphere and history. It is under new ownership and is being refurbished. Still offers a great city center location, excellent harbour views and comfortable rooms. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

This must have been a jewel in its hey day, but time and low maintenance has got the better of this stately old lady. The food however was very nice and I eould recommend the lamb and pap. A nice traditional meal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I recently sent a week at he Royal while on business in Durban and have left with mixed feelings.
The hotel, once the pride of Durban establishments now appears to be struggling to compete with some of the other hotels belonging to large hotel chains.
The room was large, very clean and appears to have been given a recent make over. The bed was very comfortable but two of the lights did not work. The mini bar is not stocked and the TV needs to be re tuned as some of the channels appear very fuzzy.
There is no service directory in the room ( they say services services are listed on one of the TV channels but this channel was blank).
The plugs on both basins in my bathroom didn't work and there appeared to be some sorth of electrical fitting without a cover plate on one of the bathroom walls. The toilet paper was so thin one could almost see through it.
Although the room has been been given a make over, the bathroom has simply received some new wallpaper and the shower could do with a re-vamp.
In general, housekeeping needs a bit of a wake up. I noticed brasswork in the elevator that had brass polish applied but not rubbed off. Six hours later it was still the same! I handed in some laundry for same day service and by 21h00 it still had not been returned. I inquired and 40 minutes later it was delivered to my room stuffed into a small cardboard box together with someone else's shirt. For the price they charged I would have expected the items to have been pressed as well.
It appears that a large portion of the hotel is not being used. (I was told that almost half of the rooms are not available) A number of the restaurants are also no longer in use.
Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining hall, giving one a glimpse of the grace and beauty the hotel offered in it's heyday. This is one area I could not fault. The selection on offer is huge and caters for all tastes.
AS far as the staff is concerned , there were one or two genuinely friendly individuals, especially in the dining hall and on the front office desk but in general I missed the warm hospitality usually found in South African Hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glennkasner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The Royal Hotel has undoubted quality, style and charm and is still a very good hotel. The prices, food, staff and service are all excellent as are the rooms and the standards they are kept at.
Times have changed in Durban and of course the rest of South Africa. This has changed the whole dynamics of the city and of course the Hotel has had to change.
If you book expecting a place fit for The Queen (as in 1999 ) then think again. It's still a grand place to stay but it's likely the Queen wouldn't go there now. Sadly, this is "progress"

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenejohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
609 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#35 of 43 in Durban
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 267 Anton Lembede Street, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £41 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing