We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful Place”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Sussex England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Dreadful Place”
Reviewed 14 November 2006

If you like 1970 furnishings...dismal decor...staff who haven't a clue what they are doing...filthy bedroom windows...useless air conditioning...badly lit bathrooms...and dreadful food served in a massive dining room with no other customers in it, then this is the hotel for you. I didn't think you could eat badly in South Africa.
The Royal changed that. The hotel boasts 'a number of heads of state have visited the hotel' I just hope they didn't have to spend a night there. The kindest thing would be to put it out of it's misery and turn the building into an apartment block.
Don't stay there!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — poor decor, bad lighting
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    55
    48
    23
    29
See reviews for
25
56
15
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2006

Stayed at the Royal in early September. While it is obvious the hotel (as is true of much of South Africa) is past it's prime, I found the place clean and well kept, and the staff helpful and courteous. There is an ongoing effort to upgrade the location, including the downstairs grill. I would gladly stay at the hotel again, and plan on doing so when next my business takes me to Durban.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NVTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2006

Advertised as recently refurbished, but in reality more like 20 years ago, they were dirty - the bathroom had not been cleaned before we checked in , dust everywhere. Staff not helpful or friendly and management seemed disinterested . Phone in room did not work and took ages for it to be replaced /repaired.
Avoid at all costs!

  • Liked — VIEWS
  • Disliked — STANDARD AND CLEANLINESS
  • Tips/Secrets — IN NEED OF COMPLETE REFURB /STAFF TRAINING
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank KYLE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Hillsborough, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2006

We stayed at the Royal for 2 nights during a 2 week stay in South Africa, and the service here was the worst of all the hotels we stayed at. Not to mention that their AC vent pumps air from the first floor all the way to the top, so those of us on the 12th floor were very uncomfortable in the humid Durban weather. They had no still water as there was a problem with their suppliers, and their internet access did not work. The staff was not very knowledgeable on sights around Durban and could not offer much advice on what to do around the city. Comparatively speaking, we were dissatisfied and disappointed with The Royal, as Frommer's had touted this as the only 5-star hotel in Durban.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NJLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 November 2005

I stayed at the Royal for 3 nights in this Sep because I attended a international congress at famous ICC (also went to uShaka, a good place). At first I was happy and had expectation because the introduction on their website attracted me and the congress report us a cheaper price than usual. When I arrived, maybe I was spoiled by the truely 5 star hotels in Captown(the same price as the Royal), I felt very disappointed. The hotel lobby and elevator, room were very old, out-dated. The light and furnitures had some brokened. I call to communicate with the manager. He responded quickly and compensated with changing a bigger room for me - I think some of the best rooms in their hotel. It was a corner suite, with large living room and a standard bedroom with bathroom, a very big shoecase. The housekeeping and facility in bathroom were not good. But the resturant on the top floor was very good, with good views and traditional SA foods. In conclusion, I regret that I didn't choose Hilton (modern and very near to ICC) although they gave me room upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 October 2005

I was not impressed by The Royal Hotel in Durban. I think the over-expectation and sales pitch gave me an over estimated impression of the hotel. We were put on an executive floor and rooms were large in size but the bathrooms had open sockets and needed an upgrade to this century. To market a grand old lady such as The Royal as a 5* property (which the grade it was given itself) it would need a lot more work. The location is not ideal either and in Durban you must be careful where you stay. The only thing going for it was its extremely good service.

  • Stayed May 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#35 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#28 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 267 Anton Lembede Street, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing