We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Quarters in Florida Rd presents a reasonable value for money option, close to the CBD, stadium and the centre of Durban's nightlife - Florida Rd - with bars restaurants and clubs
The room was large, clean and bed comfortable, although the room was a little "tired" - stains on carpets and cupboard doors falling off.
Internet access is paid for (at v expensive prices).
Staff are very friendly.
Restaurant is reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GhoulDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    37
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
27
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Very friendly staff, excellent service, large stylish rooms and bathroom. Nothing really to complain about - except for the traffic noise on the busy main road that one side of the hotel is facing. Some restaurants are in walking distance but there's actually no need to go anywhere because the in-house restaurant is excellent and seems to be popular with locals, too. The environment around Florida Road is more appealing than that of the large hotels on the beachfront where you are very likely to be harassed by all sorts of dubious characters.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltsjobaden, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Chef Denbeigh and sous-chef Kelly have created a culinary menu with many unconventional and tasty dishes; such as Peking Duck Wrap for starters, and Lamb Loin served in an innovative style. The Ginger Pecan Pudding was a dream.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here when I visited Durban for the world cup 2 years ago. The room was very comfortable, clean and big. The breakfast was ok. The neighbourhood is safe. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. The downside was that my buddy and I had booked a room for two beds but they said they did not have such rooms for us!

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
Thank TeflonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed with this property a few times over the years, pre and post their soft-refurb. Whilst it is suggested as the Masculine of their two places, i prefer Florida anytime i have to pop into Durban. The eggs bennie is to die for and the staff, excellent. in so many ways i feel its the "sisters doing it for themselves" attitude that makes this the place to stay. Should be #1

Room Tip: Always stay in the 3rd house or ask for room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseComCarver1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

I love the quaintness of this hotel. Which is why I've come back. But each time I've stayed here I've been dissapointed by the size of the rooms which are very small by South African standards. The noise from Florida road is not one that a slight sleeper can endure and the continental breakfast leaves much to be desired. This morning, not only was the spread below average, but the chairs and table clothes were dirty. Add to that the cramped parking space, the inconsistent service and I'm left wondering each time: why did I come back here.? The answer is that it's position is unbeatable, if you want to be close to the Durban CBD and if you like smaller hotels. But that's the only reason I had come back.
The cost of the wireless Internet might ensure that I stay away. I can't believe that there are still establishments that charge so much for the Internet!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NQKhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester,UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of March. As others have mentioned, it is on the very busy Florida Road and there is traffic noise all the time. We were at the hotel over a weekend and the noise did not stop us from having a reasonable nights rest.
We initially had a room upstairs but the air con did not work and the safe was unscrewed from the wall and as the hotel takes no responsibility for your belongings we asked to be moved. There was no hair drier in the room either.
I unfortunately unpacked all our stuff and had to cart it to our replacement room down stair at the front of the building. This room was much more spacious and the air con was blissfully cold in the sweltering heat. The safe was attached and there was a hair drier.
The bathroom was adequate and we had plenty towels. Note that there are no fridges in the rooms. The bed linen and pillows were nice but the bed was a bit creaky as it had a solid board base.
The staff at the hotel was helpful and friendly. Charl in the bar served many cold beers! We were advised by one of the staff that it would be saver to drink and drive than walk to a restaurant, at might, in Avondale Road (which is just around the corner)!
We used the WiFi briefly. It worked well but should be free.
There are many restaurants on Florida Road and though we were accosted by toddlers sent to beg we felt as comfortable as you can in Durban (which does not say much). We did not eat in the restaurant but had breakfast every morning. The continental buffet was not great. Considering the lovely fruit available they could have done so much better. The cheese looked pretty manky. The meat was not too bad and I had a nice blue berry muffin one morning. The cooked breakfasts were better but I try and avoid these on holiday otherwise you just eat far too much. This did not stop hubby having Eggs Benedict a few times.
All in all this hotel was OK, but rather expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#6 of 41 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hotel Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Property: Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Address: 101 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#13 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hotel Florida Road 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1999, Durban businessman and entrepreneur Robert Maingard had an inspiration to convert four Victorian homes on Durban’s Florida Road in the suburb of Morningside into a luxury boutique hotel. Restored to their former glory, these beautiful buildings were transformed into “Quarters Hotel Florida Road.” Since opening its doors in 1997, Quarters Hotel Florida Road has become the hotel of choice for many guests who regularly return to stay at Quarters. In 2008 an ideal property became available on Avondale Road, a short (walking) distance from the original Quarters and the decision was taken to convert the property into “Quarters Hotel Avondale Road.” Again meticulous restoration was done to its original Edwardian architecture. All the luxury and outstanding service synonymous with the Quarters Brand is apparent in Quarters Hotel Avondale Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quarters Hotel Florida Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing