We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Colonial Decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have stayed at the Quarters for many years. Service is excellent from young interns who ensure you are always looked after and make every effort to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast and lunch are superb at La Brasserie. Try the home made granola. The best chicken and prawn curry in Durban! Beds are comfortable albeit on the smaller size and bathrooms luxurious. An excellent location for work being close to the city but also for fun with stadiums close by. Being on Florida Road which is Durban's party central can be a double edged sword.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Donnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

Spent just one night in this beautiful space , well apointed rooms and very attentive staff .
Had a great meal at the restaurant Jam , only gripe was some very noisy neighbours in the room next door but once they settled I slept real well.
Great stay and can highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Quarters in Florida Rd presents a reasonable value for money option, close to the CBD, stadium and the centre of Durban's nightlife - Florida Rd - with bars restaurants and clubs
The room was large, clean and bed comfortable, although the room was a little "tired" - stains on carpets and cupboard doors falling off.
Internet access is paid for (at v expensive prices).
Staff are very friendly.
Restaurant is reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GhoulDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Very friendly staff, excellent service, large stylish rooms and bathroom. Nothing really to complain about - except for the traffic noise on the busy main road that one side of the hotel is facing. Some restaurants are in walking distance but there's actually no need to go anywhere because the in-house restaurant is excellent and seems to be popular with locals, too. The environment around Florida Road is more appealing than that of the large hotels on the beachfront where you are very likely to be harassed by all sorts of dubious characters.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Chef Denbeigh and sous-chef Kelly have created a culinary menu with many unconventional and tasty dishes; such as Peking Duck Wrap for starters, and Lamb Loin served in an innovative style. The Ginger Pecan Pudding was a dream.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed here when I visited Durban for the world cup 2 years ago. The room was very comfortable, clean and big. The breakfast was ok. The neighbourhood is safe. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. The downside was that my buddy and I had booked a room for two beds but they said they did not have such rooms for us!

Stayed: June 2011
Thank TeflonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed with this property a few times over the years, pre and post their soft-refurb. Whilst it is suggested as the Masculine of their two places, i prefer Florida anytime i have to pop into Durban. The eggs bennie is to die for and the staff, excellent. in so many ways i feel its the "sisters doing it for themselves" attitude that makes this the place to stay. Should be #1

Room Tip: Always stay in the 3rd house or ask for room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseComCarver1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 45 in Durban
1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
0.7 mi away
Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 45 in Durban
661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Edward
0.1 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#5 of 45 in Durban
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hotel Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Address: 101 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#12 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £88 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hotel Florida Road 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1999, Durban businessman and entrepreneur Robert Maingard had an inspiration to convert four Victorian homes on Durban’s Florida Road in the suburb of Morningside into a luxury boutique hotel. Restored to their former glory, these beautiful buildings were transformed into “Quarters Hotel Florida Road.” Since opening its doors in 1997, Quarters Hotel Florida Road has become the hotel of choice for many guests who regularly return to stay at Quarters. In 2008 an ideal property became available on Avondale Road, a short (walking) distance from the original Quarters and the decision was taken to convert the property into “Quarters Hotel Avondale Road.” Again meticulous restoration was done to its original Edwardian architecture. All the luxury and outstanding service synonymous with the Quarters Brand is apparent in Quarters Hotel Avondale Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quarters Hotel Florida Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing