We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant stay on always busy Florida rd” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay on always busy Florida rd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I Was there for 5 nights and i had no major complaint. Rooms are big and comfortable,service is good, i got a very helpful receptionist when i arrived Who helped me out with a couple of small issues promptly and effectively .location is perfect for the night life and the hotel is Also in front of the tourism office, ideal to get yr escursions planned.if back in Durban i'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spazzo20054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    36
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
27
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The hotel failed to impress me on my first visit and I will not be back,

There is confusion between this hotel and the Avondale one across the road. I went to the Avondale one first as that was recorded on my voucher. There I was met by a charming receptionist who directed me to Florida Road. There the receptionists made me feel that I had interrupted their conversation.

The room was pokey and smelly. I was too tired to argue so flopped down as soon as possible - normally I would have insisted on a better room. The mattrass was old and lumpy, the TV had no radio channels and limited DSTV channels, the aircon was noisy and had to be turned off, the street noise was quite loud and there was no view - wall of next door building. There were too many scatter cushions on the bed making the floor cluttered when chucked off.

On the plus side was the coffee and bathroom. Big bathroom, hot water, good pressure.

The breakfast was ok. They cannot do poached eggs without vinigar - so all the food had a vinigar flavour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the outside - it is likely to be less pokey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

unless your planning a night out on Florida road, i don't recommend this hotel. I stayed on a Saturday night and it was like a racetrack outside with the main road, and then people walking home noisy drunk from the bars. I had a shower, only to get out and find no towels and had to ring reception dripping wet to bring me some. although if your having a night out in Durban this is a good place as its about 20 steps to 'cabana nightclub'.

Room Tip: ask for one away from road and upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We travelled to Durban for a weekend to attend a wedding. I found The Quaters on Trip Advisor and I wasn’t looking for anything over the top. Also, it is located in Florida road which is supposed to be the young and hip area of Durban. The hotel itself is quite pretty with a colonial flair.

The service is not anything to write home about; very bland and impersonal. The management were preoccupied with themselves in the office opposite the reception desk to even introduce themselves.

There was no orientation given and the porter showed us to the room, which was closed up tight and quite stuffy. I did not even know that there is a communal guest area at the reception area. It is also important to note that I did not see anyone from the hotel until we checked out on the Sunday except for the breakfast waiters. The room was also small, but the bed was amazing! Housekeeping was poor, they did not service our room on Friday at all. There was also no turndown, we returned late in the evening so I did not think to report it. We had to use wet towels that evening.

The value is average. If you want to spend more than one night at the hotel, I would not recommend it. They are NOT service orientated at all. On the Saturday, we received a note late in the afternoon that there will be a wedding happening in the restaurant and that we will not be able to dine there that evening. It was a bit late notice and we did invite our friends over to join us that evening; this is another example of the poor service.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that face Florida Road, its noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DirkCJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Quarters for many years. Service is excellent from young interns who ensure you are always looked after and make every effort to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast and lunch are superb at La Brasserie. Try the home made granola. The best chicken and prawn curry in Durban! Beds are comfortable albeit on the smaller size and bathrooms luxurious. An excellent location for work being close to the city but also for fun with stadiums close by. Being on Florida Road which is Durban's party central can be a double edged sword.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Donnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Spent just one night in this beautiful space , well apointed rooms and very attentive staff .
Had a great meal at the restaurant Jam , only gripe was some very noisy neighbours in the room next door but once they settled I slept real well.
Great stay and can highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Quarters in Florida Rd presents a reasonable value for money option, close to the CBD, stadium and the centre of Durban's nightlife - Florida Rd - with bars restaurants and clubs
The room was large, clean and bed comfortable, although the room was a little "tired" - stains on carpets and cupboard doors falling off.
Internet access is paid for (at v expensive prices).
Staff are very friendly.
Restaurant is reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GhoulDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.7 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hotel Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Property: Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Address: 101 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#13 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hotel Florida Road 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1999, Durban businessman and entrepreneur Robert Maingard had an inspiration to convert four Victorian homes on Durban’s Florida Road in the suburb of Morningside into a luxury boutique hotel. Restored to their former glory, these beautiful buildings were transformed into “Quarters Hotel Florida Road.” Since opening its doors in 1997, Quarters Hotel Florida Road has become the hotel of choice for many guests who regularly return to stay at Quarters. In 2008 an ideal property became available on Avondale Road, a short (walking) distance from the original Quarters and the decision was taken to convert the property into “Quarters Hotel Avondale Road.” Again meticulous restoration was done to its original Edwardian architecture. All the luxury and outstanding service synonymous with the Quarters Brand is apparent in Quarters Hotel Avondale Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quarters Hotel Florida Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing