We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romance & cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“romance & cozy”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We flew to Durban to see family and heard of a awesome special running at Quarters, we had beautiful room. Huge breakfast and close to all the nicest places to eat...great for an evening walk!

The only issue is the selection of TV chaneels but who goes to a hotel for TV. missed a Rugby game but that's okay.

Room Tip: Try choose a room furtherest from the road as the drunkedness does often get a bit too loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarters_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Quarters Hotel Florida Road, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you Andrew, please say hi to your girlfriend for us!

Visit again soon!? Maybe next time Avondale?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    37
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
27
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Was in Durban for business and this elegant yet casual hotel is ideal. Situated in Florida road - the hub area of Dbn - a road that is also full of restaurants and near all the lovely living areas of odl Durban. The staff are extremeyl helpfull and the restaurant is very good. Quaint English style .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreigner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is on a very busy and noisy road we had a room on the road side but they did move us when we asked It is not a place you can relax in they only had the bar area where you could sit and have a drink which would be ok if you didn't mind the smoking it also lacks a pool it was in the mid thirtys when we were there no where to cool off I think it was mostly business men that stayed there. The staff very nice

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarters_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Quarters Hotel Florida Road, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we have ensured that the next time you stay with us you will be in a quieter room away from the busking night life in Durban. Perhaps when you visit again we may have a swimming pool, if not there's always the beach.

See you soon!

The Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Location is ideal for business travellor or party goers in Florida Road. Perhaps a swimming pool would compensate for position away from the sea.

Room was spacious and homely but no fridge in room. Bathroom drain had strange odor at times and attention to detail in cleanliness especially in bathroom is required for 4 star rating.

Overall, I would stay here again and recommend it, provided I got a good deal.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazing place - SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

location & convenience: CHECK (walking distance to a bunch of cool restaurants & bars)
friendlieness of ALL staff: CHECK (from security, through to the front desk, house keeping as
well as the restaurant)
clean, comfortable, spacious room: CHECK (AMAZING bathroom - think old school New York apartment decor)
breakfast: CHECK (amazing 'Weekender' prepared by Chef Debbie - outstanding)

BONUS: the turn-down service was a nice surprise, especially the nougart!

Room Tip: request a room that does not face Florida Road - away from the noise of the restaurants/bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad_capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarters_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Quarters Hotel Florida Road, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for the gushing review Brad, we hope you manage to leave your mountain for a weekend to come visit us soon!

Hope Cape Town is treating you well!

The Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It was always going to be a success – taking a vintage building, in a convenient part of fabulous Durban, restoring it expertly and decorating it with understated elegance. Quarters Hotel on Florida is located in the restaurant-rich area of Morningside, with easy access to Berea, the city centre or Durban North.

Catering mainly for business clients, the hotel has all the modern conveniences, such as 24 hour reception service, good security, wifi, a desk in each room as well as a large, flat-screen television. Attentive and well trained staff are efficient and helpful. A conservatory-style popular local restaurant serves delicious meals, while a garden bar lends a holiday feel and is a cool place in which to enjoy an icy drink.

But what draws me to the hotel is the pretty Victorian buildings, with covered verandahs, high sash windows, spacious air-conditioned rooms, and modern yet traditional décor. My suite has a sleigh bed with restrained, finessed fittings and up-to-date fabrics. There is a marble-tiled bathroom with a large clear-glass shower and bath.

Accommodation experience:
If this hotel was a person I would describe it as a successful professional with soul. I notice that there are many fellow business travelers staying at the hotel, many of whom are also female. The hotel subtly caters for a wide range of executive needs, and the restaurant offers a diverse menu, from the rich and fanciful to the homely and healthy. Travelling alone on business can be a lonely experience, and I am grateful to be in this space which seems to understand my needs and offers a gentle comradery in a pretty and inspiring setting.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a one night stay at this hotel just after Christmas. From the pictures on their website and some reviews online, we were quite excited and thought that it would be a nice luxury night out. Unfortunately the reality was far from luxury.

When we checked in, the lady at the front desk directed us to our room in the following manner : "your room is in the last house , upstairs" and gave us the room key. No one told us about breakfast arrangements or the hotel facilities (restaurant, bar etc)

The room was small and the décor was ok, however the bedding was dirty. On further inspection the curtains had stains on them and the ceiling had some damage. In addition to this, the cupboard doors did not open correctly.

All in all, not a good experience, especially for the hefty price tag. Definitely not deserving of the high rating. Will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarters_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Quarters Hotel Florida Road, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Our apologies for this state of room as this is not the standard we hope to achieve nor wish our guests to experience, I hope you enjoyed your second stay with us and that the revisit changed your mind about our property. As you saw the rooms are all renovated and repainted due to the previous leak.


Have a beautiful week,

The Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
429 reviews
0.7 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#5 of 43 in Durban
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hotel Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Property: Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Address: 101 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#13 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hotel Florida Road 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1999, Durban businessman and entrepreneur Robert Maingard had an inspiration to convert four Victorian homes on Durban’s Florida Road in the suburb of Morningside into a luxury boutique hotel. Restored to their former glory, these beautiful buildings were transformed into “Quarters Hotel Florida Road.” Since opening its doors in 1997, Quarters Hotel Florida Road has become the hotel of choice for many guests who regularly return to stay at Quarters. In 2008 an ideal property became available on Avondale Road, a short (walking) distance from the original Quarters and the decision was taken to convert the property into “Quarters Hotel Avondale Road.” Again meticulous restoration was done to its original Edwardian architecture. All the luxury and outstanding service synonymous with the Quarters Brand is apparent in Quarters Hotel Avondale Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quarters Hotel Florida Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing