We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for Business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Centrally located in Durban, good friendly staff, basic rooms which well appointed. Ideal for short term business visits to Durban. Convenient restaurant including good breakfasts. Free, and now good internet

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    37
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
27
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is a hotel of two faces. One night your room gets a turn down, the next night not. The staff are extremely helpful. The door mats needs changing as they are rather offensive. The breakfast is REALLY good. The road noise is bit of a bother.

It

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We love visiting Quarters, the team are always so friendly and remember us and our kids by name. The new menu is incredible and the rooms a good relaxing space away from home.

Its a pity about the noise in some of the rooms but if you are looking for a good location, and night life there is no place better.

Thanks Fahana & Team!

Room Tip: If you are on business perhaps it's best to ask for a room away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseComCarver1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarters_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Quarters Hotel Florida Road, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We were alarmed to read this review and have since had a meeting with our contracted Pest Control company. We would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. Should you stay with us in future please be sure to let us know you would prefer a superior room and if available we will upgrade you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Rosa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is one of the hotels you can accept for one night no more - location very good but the standard on a scale 1 to 5 - 2+. Room quite small and if you are unlucky you can find pets as cochroaches. Food are something they really now's to prepare in Durban and that of course way takes up the grading for the rest - For one night okey

Room Tip: Avoid if you plan for longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caproy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Was here only for a night. Arrived late in the evening after a 21 hour long flight to Durban from India. As soon as I entered, the staff was very warm and welcoming. Recognising the fact I had traveled so far, quickly led me to my room and offered drinks and a hot meal.

The Experience: As mentioned very warm and welcoming. Comfortable stay.

The Room: I got a room on the ground floor overlooking Florida Road. The bed was comfortable and cozy. The room was of average size with a desk and a couple of lounge chairs and tea coffee machine. A nice touch was the home made cookies and chocolates. The bath was large with tub, shower and WC. All done in the typical colonial style of the yester years.

The Food: Only had breakfast which was massive bot in terms of choice and quantity. Cold breakfast on the buffet and hot breakfast on order.

Had a great stay. Thank you Farhana and the gang.

Room Tip: I had the ground floor road facing room and was apprehensive of the road noises…fortunately I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarters_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Quarters Hotel Florida Road, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Greetings from a rather chilly South Africa since your stay.

Thank you for the great words and we really look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We flew to Durban to see family and heard of a awesome special running at Quarters, we had beautiful room. Huge breakfast and close to all the nicest places to eat...great for an evening walk!

The only issue is the selection of TV chaneels but who goes to a hotel for TV. missed a Rugby game but that's okay.

Room Tip: Try choose a room furtherest from the road as the drunkedness does often get a bit too loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quarters_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Quarters Hotel Florida Road, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you Andrew, please say hi to your girlfriend for us!

Visit again soon!? Maybe next time Avondale?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Was in Durban for business and this elegant yet casual hotel is ideal. Situated in Florida road - the hub area of Dbn - a road that is also full of restaurants and near all the lovely living areas of odl Durban. The staff are extremeyl helpfull and the restaurant is very good. Quaint English style .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foreigner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#6 of 41 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hotel Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Property: Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Address: 101 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#13 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hotel Florida Road 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1999, Durban businessman and entrepreneur Robert Maingard had an inspiration to convert four Victorian homes on Durban’s Florida Road in the suburb of Morningside into a luxury boutique hotel. Restored to their former glory, these beautiful buildings were transformed into “Quarters Hotel Florida Road.” Since opening its doors in 1997, Quarters Hotel Florida Road has become the hotel of choice for many guests who regularly return to stay at Quarters. In 2008 an ideal property became available on Avondale Road, a short (walking) distance from the original Quarters and the decision was taken to convert the property into “Quarters Hotel Avondale Road.” Again meticulous restoration was done to its original Edwardian architecture. All the luxury and outstanding service synonymous with the Quarters Brand is apparent in Quarters Hotel Avondale Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quarters Hotel Florida Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing