We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Leg 3 of my SA tour, following the world cup around.If you want to get away from the dirty city which is most of durban, this hotel is a good place to be . Its like the original frech settlements in cape town.Trust me there is nothing to do in durban unless you gamble. so get a good hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2010

We just arrived in South Africa from the US on New Year's Eve. This was a very nice, quiet, comfortable place. Our room was quiet - even on New Year's Eve. The restaurant was very nice. The people were pleasent and helpful. There is very nice African arts and craft shop across the street and we regret not buying stuff there.

One note - there seems to be a new, much bigger Quarters Hotel about a block away - not to be confused with this one....

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Had lunch and breakfast and both were superb.
No Durban City guide, hotel information, phone guide or yellow pages in room.
No sound attenuation between our room 23 and the one next door or above.
Loudest plumbing ever experienced and you can hear the neighbour doing everything and I mean everything.
The room doors on our floor all closed with a bang and wake you up each time.
Staff use the area outside the room as a smoking area.
Close to the main road so further disturbing noise day and night.
Very noisy bed every time you turn or move.
Our room had a great shower and was generally very well appointed
Internet costs a $1 for ten minutes. When will hotels realise that their customers hate paying for something that should be inclusive in the rate
Reception staff very good
Otherwise staff very smilie and helpful however could not get lunchtime staff to give me a bill. Six staff all looking away or talking to each other. Took ten minutes to attract their attention without shouting or going to them.
Difficult to judge as the food was good and the general service also good but the noise in the room meant disturbed sleep so on balance its not a recommendation other than for dining

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Stayed in Quarters, Florida Rd (there's a sister hotel a few blocks away). Nice clean rooms, in a lovely old colonial house. Staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Situation is convenient - 5-10 mins drive from downturn, BUT as opposed to downtown Florida Rd is completely safe to walk along deciding which restaurant/bar you want to visit (I recommend Simply Fish). In fact the biggest danger is likely to be some brainless Durban rich kid showing off how fast his Porsche can go up and down the street - the numerous police don't seem interested in doing anything about that. V close to the new football stadium for next year's World Cup - HOWEVER the global sports agencies have already taken options every hotel room the city, inc here. Durban couldn't even cope with the crowd for the Lions game and that was only 40,000 !!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
Thank Bluftut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We visited South Africa recently for a wedding, and after reading previous reviews on trip advisor decided to book with The Quarters. There was a warm welcome from staff when we arrived, they were very helpful and were able to call us taxi's to wherever we needed to go and advised us of where we could go safely, on foot, from the hotel. The breakfast each morning was perfect, and prepared to a far higher standard than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. We had one evening meal in the hotel, which was very good, and as with breakfast, the serving staff were friendly and attentive.

While we were staying, there were some upgrades to the television service, which caused some disruption to the signal, but did improve the service once completed.

All in all an excellent hotel and I would recommend to any-one!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth_2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Have stayed at the Quarters at least a dozen times and keep coming back. Wonderful property in the heart of the night life area on Florida Road. Just walk out of the door and there are dozens of restaurants, bars and nightspots. The four Victorian buildings are lovingly restored, comfortable and spacious. What makes the difference though is the (overwhelmingly female) staff. It really makes you feel welcome every time. It is a great place to stay if you are on business in Durban and prefer some atmosphere as opposed to the large international chain hotels.

The one issue I have had several times is that the restaurant and bar is booked for functions nearly every weekend. So when staying at the hotel over a weekend you can not make use of these facilities. There is plenty of choice nearby so its not a trainsmash.

Lack of a pool makes it a 4 star for me.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank Africa_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

My secretary made the reservation for me at the hotel after my usual hotel was fully booked. Initially i had reservations as i had never heard of Quarters! On arrival and check in, i was pleasantly surprise. The front desk agent immediately acknowledge my name and reservation details, did an express check-in, gave me a quick brief about the facilities at the hotel and directed me to my room.
The rooms was clean, cosy and comfortable, airconditioning perfect. A welcome note from the manager was placed on the dressing table, I was welcome here! Bath room was clean, guest supplies generous including a facial scrub!
When i went down for dinner the service in the restaurant was excellent, the young waitress polite and food great. Its been a while since i last cleaned my plate in a restaurant! I must say that i thoroughly enjoyed my meal experience. Breakfast was fairly elaborate but generous.
Check-out was hassle free. Next time i'm in Durban, this cosy little hotel has my business. Pity that i could stay for long.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
4.8 mi away
Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hotel Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hotel Florida Road

Address: 101 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#12 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £87 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hotel Florida Road 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1999, Durban businessman and entrepreneur Robert Maingard had an inspiration to convert four Victorian homes on Durban’s Florida Road in the suburb of Morningside into a luxury boutique hotel. Restored to their former glory, these beautiful buildings were transformed into “Quarters Hotel Florida Road.” Since opening its doors in 1997, Quarters Hotel Florida Road has become the hotel of choice for many guests who regularly return to stay at Quarters. In 2008 an ideal property became available on Avondale Road, a short (walking) distance from the original Quarters and the decision was taken to convert the property into “Quarters Hotel Avondale Road.” Again meticulous restoration was done to its original Edwardian architecture. All the luxury and outstanding service synonymous with the Quarters Brand is apparent in Quarters Hotel Avondale Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quarters Hotel Florida Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing