We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant stay although a budget hotel”
Review of Pavillion hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavillion hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I needed a weekend out and quite be chance happened to read an advert for the Pavilion Hotel. Glad to say that it was a great choice. we stayed over the Valentines weekend. Our packeage included dinner and breakfast. Our room on the third floor was spacious, comfortable and clean with lovely crisp white linen. the hotel is located just off the Marine parade but had an awesome view of the beach. There is no balcony but large windows make up for it.The staff were friendly and pleasant. The food and beverage manager, Jim, convinced us to stay an extra night.(Glad we did) The weather was perfect for long walks on the promanade and swimming in the surf. the hotel is located within walking distance to many restaurants, pubs and other hotels. For the price, meals were value for money, especially breakfast. For anyone looking to enjoy Durbans beaches, I would recommend this hotel as an option. one can enjoy without having to "break the bank". Take advantage of the warm summer weather and enjoy Durbans beaches. An awesome weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tillie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel over the valentines day weekend as I was in durban for work. It is quite close to the major attractions with the most awesome views from your bedroom of the durban coast. However when I checked in my booking was placed under the lodge and not hotel. I had no idea that there was a lodge attached to the hotel. The website does not indicate that at all. Arrangements had to be made from the reservation desk to ensure that I had the correct room and booking for the duration of my stay. The room was adequate and ideal for my short stay, but it gets very noisy on the third level. I had read reviews about the noise level on the first and second level and so was happy when I got to stay on the third level and highest level. Needless to say I was not impressed with the overall experience of this hotel and may not consider this as an option when I return to durban.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Yoems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here with colleagues for a conference at the ICC in December 2013. The Pavilion is a 5-10 minute walk from the ICC and a good option for the budget conscious and for those not wanting to be trapped at the Hilton. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and secure. It is a budget hotel so some may find the rooms a bit basic. The TV in my room was dated and the Wi-Fi was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was OK, a cooked option and a selection of cereals, and acceptable for the price. My main issue with this hotel was the noise. All the floors are tiled and, particularly at night, the sound of people's shoes clip-clopping around was occasionally disturbing.

Room Tip: top floor is probably the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerringGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Pavilion Hotel is about 100 metres from Durban's beachfront. From my arrival until departure, the staff was friendly and very helpful. Checking in took five minutes.The room was spacious, had an excellent view of the beachfront. At the time mainly delegates to the 2013 Durban Travel Trade Indaba. Breakfast was perfect and by day two the Chef, Lucy, knew exactly what I wanted for breakfast despite the hotel being full. The following staff really went out of their way, Rajesh (porter), Lucy (breakfast chef) and Celi (housekeeping). I will definitely use this hotel again when in Durban and recommend it for the following reasons. Rates were excellent, close proximity to beachfront, restaurants and public transport. I stayed for six nights with my wife. Checking out took less than five minutes.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the beachfront facing rooms on second and third floor. First floor can be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank AladdinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
6
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Delio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 44 in Durban
637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#26 of 44 in Durban
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parade Hotel
Parade Hotel
#25 of 44 in Durban
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 44 in Durban
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#35 of 44 in Durban
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillion hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillion hotel

Address: 15 KE Masinga Road, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: £33 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavillion hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes from King Shaka International Airport, the newly renovated and popular Pavilion Hotel is an upmarket and perfectly situated address for doing business in Durban, Kwa Zulu Natal. The privately owned hotel has been home to several local, domestic and international tourists. The Pavilion Hotel is within walking distance to Durban’s main beachfront and nearby attractions include the Moses Mabhida Stadium, The Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre and Ushaka Marine World. The hotel boasts a dedicated wing comprising of 112 rooms tailored to meet specific business requirements. Rooms are equipped with high Wi-Fi internet access, a writing desk with stationery and a digital safe. The Pavilion Hotel values its corporate traveller however caters for families and leisure tourists alike. Amenities and services include a flat screen LCD TV with selected DSTV channels, tea and coffee facilities, spacious showers, additional linen and individually controlled air-conditioning. The hotel specialises in gala dinners, weddings, corporate breakfasts and cocktail parties in its 240 seater conference venue. The popular Cilantro restaurant offers a la carte and buffet menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Pavillion hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing