We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Essenwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Essenwood House
Ranked #7 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Lovely, beautiful guesthouse. Very nice people. It was our first night of holidays and John organized everything for us. Breakfast was wonderful, too. Excellent service. We got the "Honeymoon" Suite with a brilliant view over Durban.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

So glad that you enjoyed your first night in S.Africa with us and of course would have hoped for you to stay longer, but so much to do and never enough time!
It is alwayts veryt good to hear nice things about ourselves as it makes all the hard work worth while, so once again many thanks,
Best wishes
from John and paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

We only had one night at Essenwood but would have been very happy to have stayed longer. Super hosts, a lovely house with great views. The rooms are a bit old but well equipped and clean with everything that you could really ask for. Lovely breakfast too. Would we go again? definately.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you so much for youyr very kind review. We did enjoy having you with us and of course it is always a pleasure for us when guests write to tell of their stay. Very much appreciated, and of course hope to see you again in the future,
Regards,
John and Paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Essenwood House is beautiful and peaceful with a wonderful ambience and location . The rooms are stunning and immaculate . The breakfast delicious and the owners and staff charming ...what more could one wish for ! We will most definitely stay there again !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It makes all the hard work worthwhile when we have happy guests and of course would welcome another visit sometime!
Once again, many thanks, much appreciated
John and Paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Warm welcome, excellent service, spacious and very comfortable rooms and the best croissants (and breakfast) in Durban! They are always ready to go the extra mile for you. Well situated, quiet and peaceful, safe parking and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyRooJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you so much for yor very kind review. It is always good to hear something nice about us as it makes all the hard work worth while, so we hope to see you again sometime in the future when the weather will have warmed up a bit more!
With best wishes,
John and paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The Essenwood house if filled with love, sunshine and excellent service, I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay for a few days. Its private, there is lovely facilities and the staff and owners are warm and welcoming. Thanks to the Essenwood house for accommodatig me and my friends, we had a blast!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Thank you so much fo your very kind posting, which is of course very much appreciated. We were so pleased that you enjoyed yoor stay with us and glad that the weather stayed fine!
Hope to see you again,
With best wishes,
John and Paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Recently stayed at Essenwood House and found it to be a great place to stay whilst in Durban, particularly if you need to be close Kings Park and/or Moses Mabhida Stadiums, UShaka Marine World, Greyville Race Course and other attractions in Durban. We were there to watch a rugby match at Kings Parks and found it to be the perfect location, so close to the stadium and everything else on our itinerary. The home has that wonderful "olde World Charm", being a beautiful stately home, whilst at the same time, being comfortable and a "home away from home". Superb gardens and scenery, stunning views. Peaceful and tranquil. The breakfasts were delightful, and both owners and staff very helpful and friendly. We would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you so much for your very kingd review, which is much appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course hope to see you here again sometime!
With best wishes,
John and paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

What a wonderful find in a fanstatic location . We stayed with 2 young children , and stayed in the room at the back . Great room , fantastic service and breakfast and lovely views . We will be back . Thank you John and Paddie .

Room Tip: We stayed in the room over the garage , with our 2 children on camp beds . Very spacious , and a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind message, which is much appreciated. We were so glad that you liked that room, as do a number of people who want extra privacy to come and go without coming into the house. Also it is very large so perfect for familes, so it all worked out very well. We of course hope to see you here again in the future.
With best wishes, from John and Paddy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,481 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.9 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#5 of 43 in Durban
233 reviews
1.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenwood House

Address: 630 Stephen Dlamini Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £61 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Essenwood House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essenwood House offers both the corporate or leisure guest all the comforts of a magnificent Edwardian private home in true 5 star affordable accommodation. Set in a tropical garden, peace and quiet yet minutes away from the city centre of Durban, shopping malls, restaurants, Durban Convention centre and the well-known Durban beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Essenwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing