We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fifth stay at this homely B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essenwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Essenwood House
Ranked #5 of 254 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fifth stay at this homely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We visit Durban about once a year and always stay at Essenwood House. It is a secure home from home where we can come and go as we please, the staff are really nice and the excellent breakfast lasts us the whole day.
The house/rooms are looking a little tired these days but this is more than made up by the homely feel that we get during our one week stay.
We have stayed in nearly all the rooms and of course the upstairs ones with a veranda and view are the best. The satellite TV picks up all the stations you could want and the air conditioning is really efficient.
Really enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. Obviously we are disturbed that you found some things looking a bit "tired', often when you see things every day one does not notice what needs re-vamping, but hopefully you will let m know what it was and we will definitely have it renewed before your next visit with us.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Durban and will try and ensure that everything will be sparkling!
With best wishes,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    38
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
96
27
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed two nights with three friends at Essenwood House in January 2014 and we would very gladly go back anytime when we are in the Durban area. This is an all colonial house with a wonderfully warm and personal decoration. One feels immediately at home. The rooms are quite large, perfectly appointed with all the amenities one can expect. Comfortable and nicely decorated as well. We had beautiful balconies overlooking the grounds, the large and elegant swimming pool, and the whole city in the background with the ocean. Of particular interest is the well kept and magnificent garden with hundreds of plant species and flowers. Essewood road is an elegant address in Brerea, quite close to the center and minutes away from the lively Florida road area. The steepled drive-in is a bit narrow to negotiate (at least, the first time). But there is ample parking space at the bottom. The host, John Chance, was very helpful in all possible ways, restaurants, things to do, etc. Breakfasts are generous and very good. This address is a gem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean-michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
How nice to receive such a lovely review of your stay. It is always a pleasure when our guests have enjoyed our hospitality and makes all the hard work worthwhile. Thank you so much, I do hope we might see you again sometime, it was great to meet with you ,
best wishes
John Chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife, 1 1/2 year-old daughter and I stayed at Essenwood House in late November over two days. John played the part of host extremely well, welcoming us upon our entry and providing recommendations as well as planning for sightseeing. The rooms and grounds are indeed beautiful and were somewhat of a sanctuary for our family. Breakfast was fantastic. Fantastic value for your money. Overall rating of property is excellent.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of your stay with us. It is always very heartening for us when guests have enjoyed their stay here and makes all the hard work worthwhile,
We hope to see you here again, so much to see, so little time!!
best wishe,
John chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a wonderful guest house, with large rooms, stunning landscaping, charming owners and staff, and a safe location. The rooms are large, and mine included a nice large tub in the bathroom as well. The free wifi in the rooms was also quite convenient, as was the in room mini-bar with snacks, water, drinks, etc. The landscaping around the house is absolutely stunning (see pictures), and makes for a wonderful view when waking in the morning. My only regret is that the weather was not warm enough to permit a dip in the pool. John and Paddy were also extremely lovely and helpful throughout our stay, and were quick to act on any requests we had. They helped us arrange taxis, dinner reservations, and transfers with no problem at all. The guest house is behind a large gate from the street, and so you definitely feel safe and secluded from the city when there. The breakfasts were quit nice, and the staff made some of the best coffee we had while in Durban. Also, two small old dogs live at the house (long haired dachshunds perhaps?), and they were absolutely adorable. If you are an animal lover, it is always nice to be able to pet an animal when traveling away from home. They were quiet and a bit lazy, though, so shouldn't be a problem for anyone who does not like dogs. I would highly recommend Essenwood House to any planning to stay in Durban.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilius77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for the very kind things you had to say about your stay here. It is always good for us when our guests have had a pleasant stay and makes all the hard work worthwhile.
So glad that you enjoyed the garden and the dogs, getting old like you said but totally friendly to everyone!
best wishes,
John and paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I always enjoy my stays at Essenwood House. It is a well run, lovely establishment that is centrally located and accessible to the main routes into and out of Durban. Very good value for money. If you find a shortcoming, just tell John or his able team and it will be taken care of.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a gem all by itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for yor very kind remarks about your stay with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and we hope to see you again sometime if you are in this part of the world, many thanks,
once again,. best wishes
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Beautiful old house and gardens with stunning views across Durban. Room size enormous with very good room facilities! Lovely helpful staff. Cleanliness acceptable, but room for improvement. Noise unfortunately travels up the stairs and around the property a fair amount. Good value for money all-in-all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank carpevacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We always appreciate honesty in these reviews, but appreciate it even more if the guests tell us exactly what was not up to their expectation.
We try and keep the place immaculate and look after our guests to the best of our ability, but unfortunately we are not perfect and occasionally things don't work out as we would expect and strive for perfection in everything, We do hope to see you again some time when next visiting these parts.
Best wishs,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I and my husband were there in Essenwood house last summer and it was wonderful! the house is very beautiful, the room big and plenty of charme .
The owner, Sir George, is very kind and friendly!!!.
We were like at home!
We would like to come back and stay longer.
Simona and Mario from Italy

Room Tip: ask for honey moon room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
So glad to get your review, thank you so much. We hope that all your travels were enjoyable and of course hope to see you again sometime here at Essenwood,
All best wishes,
John and paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.9 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.2 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
2.0 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenwood House

Property: Essenwood House
Address: 630 Stephen Dlamini Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 254 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Essenwood House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essenwood House offers both the corporate or leisure guest all the comforts of a magnificent Edwardian private home in true 5 star affordable accommodation. Set in a tropical garden, peace and quiet yet minutes away from the city centre of Durban, shopping malls, restaurants, Durban Convention centre and the well-known Durban beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Essenwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing