We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend”
Review of Essenwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Essenwood House
Ranked #7 of 261 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

One of the best places to stay. This guesthouse is equipped with everything you need for a perfect time in or around Durban. In addition the great service completed the wonderful visit in South Africa.

Many thanks for that

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron Sq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all went well, Obviously we hope to see you or your friends here sometime in the future,
With best wishes
John and paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is this best place ever to stay if you're in Durban. So close to town and all the lovely restaurants and yet so secluded and quiet you could be in the middle of the country. Our room was a beautiful , cool , large colonial room, with amazing views over the town. I spent a lovely morning relaxing by the pool in the garden , I felt like I was at home . John is a wonderful host and even carried my very heavy suitcase upstairs for me, but of course ladies do like to take outfits for all occasions! I wish we could have stayed longer but am sure we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Annie, Thank you so much for your very kind review, which is of course much appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again soon after your stay at the beach, hope it has been as nice!
best wishes and again many thanks
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Spent 3 nights at Essenwood House but wish we could have stayed longer. John is a wonderful host and is more than happy to help with reservations for onward journeys. Our room was delightful, very spacious and very comfortable. Good location and no trouble getting taxis for trips to restaurants in the evening. Would have no hesitation in recommending Essenwood House, it is perfect in every way. Sandra & Ian

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure when we have guests who are appreciative of what we try to do for them and you were obviously two of them!
Many thanks and hope to se you again,
Best wishes
John Chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was our second stay at Essenwood House. We stayed here a few years back and enjoyed it so much we returned for our 10 day holiday this year. Our beautiful room felt spacious and included its own private balcony overlooking the gorgeous garden and pool. The view from our room and balcony was simply stunning due to Essenwood Road's commanding location high up on the Berea - you can see right across the city centre, all the way to the durban beachfront with its breathtaking ocean.

Every morning was a treat as we sat down for a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit salad (consisting of only the most delicious fruits), a selection of cereals, yoghurt, egg & toast, fresh orange juice, croissants, filter coffee and a selection of cheeses. What more could you ask for !

All the staff were fantastic and so gracious. We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you so much for your very generous review of your stay with us, We were very sorry to see you leave and obviously so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and everything worked out fine for you,
We hope to see you again sometime before too long
best wishes
John chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Comfortable, well equipped, excellent and friendly staff, lovely garden and pool.
The house is very well located. I would definitely stay here again. Suitable for families or people staying on their own.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank srifLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you so much for writing about your stay with us. We are of course very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and wish it could have been longer. I only hope that the "sleep" was not caused by our beds, which all our guests usually say are so comfortable. maybe the birds waking you early, hope it was not the staff.
Once again many thanks,
Regards,
John Chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I fell in love with the house the moment I saw it, and what I saw is what we got. A very beautiful room with a lovely view over Durban and the sea. John was very helpful in advising restaurants and a tour guide. He also promised to pay our diner if we didn't like the restaurant. Well, that was not necessary, his advise was perfect. Very good and fine restaurants and tour guide. I love the house it feels warm (and that was not the temperature) and I felt good here. A really lovely place to stay would certainly go there again.
We got a personal letter when we left, we travelled a lot but I have never had and seen this before, very special.
Thank you John!
George and Francie

Room Tip: We saw two rooms they look both perfect, but our room, the one with the long balcony, was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frajonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

What a pleasure to receive such a lovely review. It makes all the hard work worthwhile, particularly when we have such charming guests which it is a pleasure to help organise their stay. We do of course hope to see them again sometime, in the meantime, makes me feel very good today!
Best wishes
John chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We visit Durban about once a year and always stay at Essenwood House. It is a secure home from home where we can come and go as we please, the staff are really nice and the excellent breakfast lasts us the whole day.
The house/rooms are looking a little tired these days but this is more than made up by the homely feel that we get during our one week stay.
We have stayed in nearly all the rooms and of course the upstairs ones with a veranda and view are the best. The satellite TV picks up all the stations you could want and the air conditioning is really efficient.
Really enjoyable stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review. Obviously we are disturbed that you found some things looking a bit "tired', often when you see things every day one does not notice what needs re-vamping, but hopefully you will let m know what it was and we will definitely have it renewed before your next visit with us.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Durban and will try and ensure that everything will be sparkling!
With best wishes,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,558 reviews
2.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#35 of 44 in Durban
104 reviews
1.7 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 44 in Durban
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#21 of 44 in Durban
139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#99 of 261 in Durban
35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenwood House

Address: 630 Stephen Dlamini Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £65 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Essenwood House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essenwood House offers both the corporate or leisure guest all the comforts of a magnificent Edwardian private home in true 5 star affordable accommodation. Set in a tropical garden, peace and quiet yet minutes away from the city centre of Durban, shopping malls, restaurants, Durban Convention centre and the well-known Durban beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Essenwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing