We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value friendly service”
Review of Essenwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Essenwood House
Ranked #6 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Good value friendly service”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My family of 5 spend 9 days in this clean,friendly establishment, at the beginning we were apprehensive as we have never stayed at a B&B ,but the high quality of service and friendliness quickly allayed our fears and we had a great holiday in this value for money relax place

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vico111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    38
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
96
29
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2010

My wife and I travelled to S. Africa for the World Cup and sight-seeing and this was our first stop. John was masterful - he knew exactly what we'd enjoy, directed us to wonderful restaurants, and organized a private tour of the city. He was also great at giving us directions, and weather reports for our trip Cape Town. The house is located in a very nice neighborhood, but unfortunately there aren't a lot of restaurants within walking distance. Other than that, everything about Essenwood was great - we'd love to stay again when we make it back to S. Africa.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouderkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Essenwood is an elegantly furnished Guest House run by an energetic host, John, the ever-helpful ex-chairman of the South African Sugar Association whose air of colonial authority suits the place well. We had a lovely large room on the top floor of the [near-seamless] extension to the main building - a well-maintained Edwardian townhouse on the Berea Ridge with views across Durban to the Indian Ocean. It was easy to find following John's excellent directions, and his subsequent directions were equally competent. The entrance drive is tight and steep, a bit nerve-wracking the first time, but the secure gate remote control worked every time.

The garden is beautifully planted tho a bit smaller than appears in the photos, and frequent rainstorms meant the swimming pool was not always usable - it was that time of year. But the lightning show that burst over Durban one evening was unbeatable - sheet lightning with fork flashes and massive thunder rumbles for a couple of hours, with torrential rain of amazing intensity, watched from the rainproof balcony of our room - you really knew you were in the tropics.

Excellent breakfasts, good advice, large comfortable air-conditioned en-suite rooms. Temps 27-31C. Plenty of restaurants nearby - everyone has huge platters of deliscious grilled butterflied prawns. Essenwood lives up to its web-site promise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyhands99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I did not get the privlidge of staying here since the rooms were all booked for FIFA, but let me tell you something. John Chance went above and beyond by asking his local association to help me find rooms during the busy time. There was not a single lodge/hotel/guesthouse that was full that offered to help me by doing the same thing. Not only do I really appreciate what he did but this shows me his true character and intent as an owner. Not just making money. It's all about the customer service. Thanks John.

Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank simcity17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We have just returned from 11 nights at Essenwood House. I cannot recommend this accomodation highly enough. John, the 4th generation owner and his excellent staff could not do enough for us. Fabulous huge rooms with a bathroom larger than many hotel rooms we have stayed in. Fresh cotton sheets daily and a view of Durban to the Indian Ocean. Paradise.
The breakfast is to die for. Fresh fruit salads, yogurts, evertthing cooked frest to order, delicious warm croisants and fresh squeezed orange juice, Yum ! We ate outside when we were able to listening to the exotic birds and watching for cheeky wild monkeys who raided our fruit bowl one day when we left the window ajar.
Essenwood House is a safe haven only 10 minutes to the beaches and night life by hire car or taxi. Totally recommended.
Durban is wonderful city and South Africa a destination we shall return to again and again.
Do take time to do a proper Safari. We took 3 days with a personal guide who treated us like royalty. Do hire a car. Driving is safe, easy and on the left. Restaurents are half the price of the UK and service is great.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Lovely old property with large, well furnished rooms and elegant dining room and lounge. We were served breakfast out on the terrace each day, and the kids loved the pool. Recommended. In Australia this would be marketed as a boutique hotel rather than a Guest House!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FileyBrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

Lovely colonial house converted into guest house. Generous size rooms, beautiful garden, friendly and effecient staff

  • Liked — Relaxing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcspeirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,432 reviews
1.9 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
459 reviews
0.8 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenwood House

Property: Essenwood House
Address: 630 Stephen Dlamini Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Essenwood House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essenwood House offers both the corporate or leisure guest all the comforts of a magnificent Edwardian private home in true 5 star affordable accommodation. Set in a tropical garden, peace and quiet yet minutes away from the city centre of Durban, shopping malls, restaurants, Durban Convention centre and the well-known Durban beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Essenwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing