We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil escape in Durban”

Durban Botanic Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.38*
and up
Durban City Sightseeing Tour
More Info
US$117.35*
and up
Durban City Highlights Tour Including Valley of a 1000 Hills from Durban
More Info
US$39.38*
and up
Durban City Tour
Ranked #3 of 122 things to do in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rare plants, exquisite orchids and charity tea parties draw visitors to this botanical garden.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tranquil escape in Durban”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Durban Botanical gardens are still one of our favorite places to visit in the city. The gardens are well maintained with a visitors exhibition center and small tea garden, winding paths that take you around and through the gardens to the various parts, each with its own special area like a herb garden, orchid house and open lake.
The gardens often play host to musical events, particularly on a Sunday during the summer months where you can relax on the lovely green lawns and enjoy the concerts on offer.
Worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dbnguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    351
    72
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful meal at the botanical gardens with a friendly atmosphere. Our waiter was very good and we never went without a drink on our table.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban - South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A FAVORITE PLACE TO GO”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am blessed to live in Durban and to be able to visit the gardens whenever i can - a favorite place of mine and my children - they loved it when they where toddlers and still as teenagers love going there. Peace, tranquility, beautiful gardens and plants; always something new to see and learn about. Go there for a picnic...or just stroll around the gardens to refresh the soul, always great displays to see...something there for everyone, from avid botanists to taking the kiddies there to feed the ducks :) Oh and the tea kiosk/restaurant - is always a winner!! You have to have a scone with "the works" - best part of all you will be supporting a charity in the process.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Durban Botanical Gardens”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Durban Botanical Gardens is a wonderful and peaceful place in which to spend a lazy afternoon. There is so much to see and do. The music in the park is an awesome idea. The restaurant too is amazing and the prices very reasonable. Now that I have become a grandmother for the first time, I shall be spending more and more time there in the future.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have been to the botanical gardens 3 times over a 6 year period and I still hope to go back again. There are lots of interesting plants and information boards as well as friendly staff. Most importantly though it is a great place to go and relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lanarkgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durban Botanic Gardens also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Durban Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing